We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Ambiance(Runaway Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silver Creek Resort(Runaway Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardiff Hotel & Spa(Runaway Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piper's Cove Resort(Runaway Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (11,913)
Filter reviews
11,913 results
Traveler rating
4,401
3,763
2,001
973
775
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,401
3,763
2,001
973
775
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjerk chickengold clubdon pablothe grilla la carte restaurantstime sharedolce vitakaraoke barbeach snack barmain buffetnude beachair transatjapanese restaurantorchid buffetface clothsair canadatowel hut
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,440 - 6,445 of 11,913 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 9 nights October 4-13 2013. Overall we had a wonderful holiday with the resort meeting our expectations. That being said when we booked this resort based on other reviews we read we lowered what our typically expectations would be - opting to go with the deal and leave us with lots of room for tours in our holiday budget.
We were delightfully amazed by how quickly the check in process went, we were in our room within 15 minutes of arriving at the resort with a busload of others.


rooms: our room was spacious comfortable and clean. There was a pot light dangling from the ceiling in the bathroom, one of the closet doors did not stay shut and the bathtub plug was not functioning. My husband called the front desk and the bath plug was fixed almost immediately the other items never were - this didn't affect our enjoyment of the trip but the lack of concern seemed odd. The housekeeping was only okay often not being completed until after 3in the afternoon(even though we had left our room before 9) and the towel situation was odd often fresh towels would not be delivered until early evening. I suspect they have a shortage of towels, which to my mind could be easily remedied by not doing a complete towel change everyday; we have become accustomed to only putting the towels we want changed into the tub each day no need for a full change most days.

restaurants We were blown away by the buffet: there was almost too much to choose from! Food quality was reasonable - lobster night was amazing as were the breakfast choices. We also took full advantage of the A La Carte options: The Grill, quite enjoyable beef was excellent, not a true a la carte as you served yourself from a buffet for appies and dessert. Picasso - we didn't enjoy this at all. Again not a true a la carte and food was just so so as was the service .Mikado- we were really looking forward to this as it was so well reviewed..the show was fun but seemed awfully like you could see the same thing at the food court in the mall, it tasted like that too. The sushi was okay again nothing special (we may be slightly spoiled being from Vancouver where sushi stores are as plentiful as McDonalds), Don Pabol - definitely the best of the a la cartes some nice touches to make you feel like you were in a fine dining restaurant.

pool and beaches We spent little time at the pool, which is amazing. Preferring instead the glorious beach - no complaints or concerns here at all. Plenty of bars and washrooms.

All in all we had a great trip and enjoyed our resort. Would we return?...if the price was right.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sol2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful holiday with us and we have been able to meet your expectations regarding the check-in, the food quality, beach, bars, and cleanliness of the room. We do apologize for the issues you have found upon arrival; however it is good to learn that it have been resolved in a timely manner, which has allowed the full enjoyment of your time with us.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your Jamaican vacation. We will be certainly looking forward to your return to provide you with another wonderful vacation.

Yours faithfully,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Ok here's our experience, we went there for our honeymoon. I am a nervous traveller and wasn't sure what to expect:
1- Rooms: Ours was ok. It smelled like mould and we were told that they all smell like that. However, it was clean, centrally located (building 17) and everything worked in the room. We did not pay for the safe, and nobody touched our stuff. The housekeeping staff can be annoying, they come in even if you put the do not disturb sign on, because our maid told us she is mandated to clean every room and she had us sign something declining cleaning. Also she knocked at 8am one morning, very annoying.

2- Food: it was much better than anywhere else I've been in the carribean. The jerk chicken buffet on the beach was great, although it gets tiring after a few days when they serve the same food every single day. The evening buffet was usually excellent, the breakfast not so much but its ok. A la cartes- we tried the Garden grill, I'd give it 3/5. The Dolce Vita was disappointing because the service was slow and the food was cold. By far the best was the Tapanyaki at the Japanese restaurant. Lots of food and good entertainment.

3- Entertainment- This was the most disappointing of all the things. It was dreadful.
4- BEACH!! AHHHMAZING!! crystal clear water, great snorkeling and the non-motorized sparts were a blast

5- Service: I feel they could improve. Its not that the service was bad, it just seemed like nobody cared to go that extra mile. We only tipped a select few servers because some of them were bordering on rude. The bartending staff was excellent, especially the swim up bars.

6- Pool: its great, reserve chairs early. The towel service was annoying because they always seemed to be out of towels.

7- excursions- we took the Bob Marley tour, it was disappointing, they basically just tried to sell us drugs all day. We wanted to see more of the Rasta culture, the tour guide was good but he started selling marijuana on the bus, so that kind of killed it for us. I'm a huge Marley fan and I was disappointed at how the trip focused more on selling dope and souveniers than on Marley.

Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves. I would go back in a heartbeat. The Golden and Preferred clubs did not seem worth the money, I am glad we didn't buy into it, there weren't really many perks. The tap water is drinkable which is a plus, and its a beautiful country for sightseeing.

Room Tip: the 16-17-18 blocks are centrally located, not too far from everything.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittsy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review. We very much appreciate your words about the quality and variety of our food options, and for letting us know that you have considered ours as the best food you have experienced so far in the Caribbean. We also value all the aspects you highlighted as the beach, cleanliness, and pools.

However, allow us to inform our guests that the excursions are coordinated by the tour-operators and we can’t take liability on the specific issues you have brought to our attention. Nevertheless, we are taking good note of your observations on the aspects of our performance that you found must be improved, and will make sure to inform the persons in charge of these areas, so that they can take it into consideration.

It is rewarding to learn that you would return to us in a heart bit; we will be more than happy to host you again on upcoming trips to Jamaica.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Anyone who says this hotel is not 5 star has obviously lived a better life than me, as this place is fantastic, has everything you could expect from a 5 star hotel. Great staff really friendly and genuine, lovely clean sandy beach great for kids as fairly shallow close to shore. Nice pool area plenty of sun beds round pool and on beach, there was the odd local selling plants on the beach but they were no bother, they must have been really good value as everyone who bought them seamed very happy afterwards and could not stop laughing.

Very popular wedding venue as seamed to be wedding every day never heard any problems with them.
Rooms were spotless, clean towels and cleaned every day nice balcony all with sea view, did not use safe but be carefully as your roof key can open other rooms as some friends of ours found out when some guy walked into there room during the night by mistake.

Most nights there is a show on for a couple of hours and they were really good quality and entertaining, and if you want to make a fool of yourself you can do your own bit of entertaining and get up on the stage like I did and somehow won a bag of local coffee for my Michael Jackson dance.

Lots of different restaurants to use but we preferred the main one as more food choices, nice to bring a few extra dollars with you for tipping as the guys who work there do so with very low pay and are on a 3 month contract only, then they have to apply again for there jobs, and we think we have it hard in this country.

So if you are thinking of coming here get your lap tops out and book it you will not regret it.

Doug and Val

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doughunter224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We have the commitment to provide quality service beyond of our guest’s expectations and it is a real pleasure for us learning that we have achieved this goal with you. Thank you for letting us know your satisfaction regarding the accommodating staff, pool, room cleanliness and view and the beach location, which you have considered is an ideal place for the kids.

We also have noted your observation; thank you for your collaboration. Your comments have been already forwarded to the persons in charge, to avoid it from recurrence.

Thank you for choosing our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Jamaica. We hope to see you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have just returned from our first family vacation in Jamaica. We have 2 kids. 2 and 4 years old. The resort was full of friendly, nice people. Rooms were nice, food was good, beach was nice.
It was no more or less than I expected. If anything I was pleasantly surprised! Don't let the October forecast scare you. It was beautiful, HOT and sunny most of the time. We only had two times that it rained during the day, it mostly rained at night.
The beach is quite a long walk, but you need the exercise after all the food and booze!
I would reccommed this resort to families. People who complain are used to a higher quality resort like Sandals. We have been to Sandals, and there is no comparison, but this place is perfect for families.
Great time, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: select a higher floor and ocean view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Lindsay,

We thank you for your kind note regarding your stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you and your family had a great time with us and that you have appreciated the staff warmth and hospitality, also the consistent good weather enjoying the beach, as well as the room and food variety and quality.

Thank you for your recommendation to other potential guests and for telling us that you will be coming back; we look forward to welcome you again on your upcoming trip to Jamaica.

Yours faithfully,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

we just returned from your vacation to the Grand Bahia. I read a lot of the reviews before we left.
First its a beautiful hotel. we asked for a ocean view but they could not accommodate us it was full. I was not disappointed with our room we stayed in 18215 and it was perfect close to everything. My husband has a hard time walking. We were close to the pool, beach, and food.
The rooms are clean. Nice bathrooms, we had problems with our toilet and was fixed right away. Also we tipped the staff which helps. Breakfast is the usual, lunch jerk chicken was the best, the cook is funny and likes to sing, the staff is friendly. For dinner we did make reservation for one restaurant little food but excellent food. At night we would go to the bar or outside bar, if you go to into the bar and ask for Antonio ask for his special drink. The night entertainment was ok we enjoyed it. Would like to say a Hello to Stretch and the girls by the pool area if you want to do excursions it is cheaper then the hotel. Overall the best!!! Also the coffee better then Dunkin Donuts!!!! Miss my Jamaican coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: We pick the standard room it was perfect great location choose 18300_+ you will get ocean view and close to everything
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank port-boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We deeply value your comments and appreciate to learn that, even we were not able to fulfill your request of an ocean view room, the accommodation provided to you and its location have met your total satisfaction as well as the cleanliness, drinks, food variety and quality and our friendly staff; it is rewarding to see that you have left our property happy with our performance.

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Jamaica; it was our pleasure to serve you and we cannot wait to serve you again in our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Jamaica.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews