We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Dartmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the week of April 22-29. Our check in went smoothly and we even got into our room earlier than expected. We stayed in room 22512 which was ocean view. Our balcony was extremely small which was a bit of a bummer. The restaurants were great, the beaches are beautiful. Loved snorkeling even though I'm not a very experienced snorkeler. Unfortunately we were sick our second day there. Originally we thought it may have been the food but since we've arrived home, there is a lot of the flu going around so think it may have been that. The nurse at the resort was helpful and called to check on us. The resort was a bit larger than we like but even with the size of the resort you could always find a chair at the pool and at the beach. One area of the pool was a bit more of a party area but you could sit in another area if you weren't into that. Loved the beach restaurant and the a la cartes were wonderful. The resort was very clean and well taken care of. The grounds were beautiful. I didn't find the staff overly friendly ... they would speak if spoken to but didn't go out of their way to speak to us. I have to mention our housekeeper, Nadine Fisher. She was wonderful and very friendly and was very helpful to us when we were sick. She gave us extra bedding and towels and was very sympathetic to our needs. She is a wonderful asset to your business. I would recommend this resort to someone who likes a larger resort.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view in room 22512 but the balcony was very small. Not all are small on that side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is thrilling to know you have enjoyed your stay at our resort. We sincerely hope you are doing well and we appreciate to know that our staff was very attentive with you during your stay. Thank you, for your kind words about our nurse and Ms. Fisher; we will make sure to transmit your compliments to them. We are glad to know as well, that you have enjoyed the restaurants, beaches, snorkeling, cleanliness and the manicured grounds.

Thank you for sharing your remarks on TripAdvisor and for vacationing with us.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,083
    3,510
    1,814
    855
    663
See reviews for
3,474
4,464
161
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,117)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

the good,

resorvation for food were easy and we were a group of 8, they managed to get us all together.
"Ya Ya" was great at night, took time to talk to us unlike most of the staff.
Dive staff was great but I got sick so missed my last few dives.

Now the bad.
No dirty bananas? They said they had no bananas but the guy across the street had no problem getting them. Also no Bob Marley shooters. Later we found out the managment said not to make them cause they take to long.

The pool and beach get reserved at 7am so get there early if you want a spot. We even herd one couple bragging that they got there early enough to reserve chairs at the pool and at the beach because they couldn't decide where they wanted to sit during the day. Another couple said they put their towels out at night before bed so they didn't have to get up early.

Get ready for a $1000 bill if you want the FREE stuff for the club breakfast, don't bother going.

Would I go back? Not a chance, they have much better resorts in Jamaica with real service and people that will spend the time to talk to you about their country.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Real68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know you have appreciated the efforts made to fulfill your request about having dinner together with all of the persons of your group and for your kind words addressed to our coworker Ya ya. On the other hand, we are sorry that you left our property not totally happy and we do apologize for the inconveniences you may have had.

We appreciate your collaboration and we will make sure to forward your observations to the heads of related departments, to be taken into consideration.

Thank you for vacationing

Yours faithfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hard working personable staff, good food many prizes, and nice trustworthy friendly people. Plenty to do, lot's of pools and to relax in. Lots of restaurants with delicious delectable items to order. I was happy with the attention that the staff gave my daughter, for the entire week stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent vacation and for letting us know the attention provided by the staff was up to par and we have achieved your satisfaction in regards with the food, pools and restaurants and overall you have had a great time with us.

On behalf of our general manager and staff, we are already looking forward to host you again on your upcoming vacation.

Yours faithfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We returned a couple of days ago from Gran Bahia and didn't find any problems with the hotel or the staff. I find it difficult to believe that those, who complain about almost everything, stayed in the same hotel? The staff are very friendly and don't expect tips for the service, as it's mentioned in some of the reviews. The buffet restaurant has a lot of variety everyday, and there are also a number of al-la carte restaurants, as well as a Jerk Chicken corner on the beach every afternoon. Our room was cleaned everyday and the drinks were replaced in the mini bar. Don't take any notice of the negative reviews. The fact is some people are never happy and will always find something to complain about, even if it's an act of nature like rain or high winds.

** I would like the management to consider leaving the lobby bar open later than 23:00 hrs , as you don't always want to go to the entertainment area where the drinks are available until the early hours. **

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Asad1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you have shared your review with us. Thank you for your kind words about friendly staff, the food, a la carte restaurants, Jerk chicken at the beach and overall the services provided to you during your stay. We also seriously value your suggestion; you may rest assured your comments will be forwarded to the related Departments of the Hotel and will be taken into account.

Thank you again for letting us know you have had a great holiday; we hope that we will be afforded the opportunity to host you again at our resort on your next trip to Jamaica.

Yours respectfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

There were 14 of us that went to the Grand Bahia in Runaway Bay. Arrived by 11 a.m. and had to wait for our rooms, This was no problem as we had asked to be put in the same building. Not only were we in the same building, but the same floor and the same wing. The hotel was booked solid, so this was well appreciated. The food was great, the drinks were great - the menu is limited, but the bartenders made anything we asked for, even drinks not on the menu. The workers were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. We had a problem with the light in our bathroom and they were there within 5 minutes and fixed it. The rooms were nicer than the Grand Bahia in Mexico and most of us thought the food was also. Would definitely go back here again.

Room Tip: We were in Building 17, which was close to everything. Any building between 13 - 18 would be my cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjt1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is thrilling to know you have had a great vacation at our resort. Thank you for sharing your review with us, advising that your requests were honored and you enjoyed the food, drinks, bar and overall the services; we appreciate your words about the friendliness and warmth of the staff.

Thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica; we will be more than happy to host you again on you next vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013


The "weddingMoon" was amazing great hotel very clean huge the wedding coordinators were great I brought a lot of DIY decorations along with me and they were more than Willing to set them up for me at no extra charge I would definitely recommend this hotel as a destination wedding place for any bride. They hotel check in was not as organized as we are used to a lot of people didn't get rooms for a while after we arrived and they had the hotel way over booked and tried to move some of the wedding party/guests to another hotel for the week which was a no go for us. The resolved the problem but there were a lot of other unhappy travellers that had to go elsewhere.
The food is great here I would recommend people on doing as many al la carte's as possible the food is amazing we did the dolce vita (Italian) great this is a semi al la carte so you only order your entrée which is good because usually you are starving from all day and its nice to be able to get into your starters right away the Grill is also a semi and has fantastic food. Japanese is a MUST!! We did it twice the food show is awesome it's entertainment as you eat!! Jerk chicken at the snack bar is where it's at too omg the man who makes it is always there with a smile to serve you please tip him I don't know how he survives the heat cooking all that chicken! The only negative about the dining experience is the buffet staff! They are not friendly at all especially when you are looking for a large table which we did most days because we had a group of 64 people! Always about 10 of us ate together never once did we receive a drink went we ordered it and once were cussed at when we asked for 8 cokes!

Entertainment staff is amazing super friendly and very good at chugging beer in the contests don't think you can beat them it's not going to happen! I have travelled to a lot of resorts but this one has the best day interaction and really makes you want to be involved in pool side games which I walked away victorious from 3!! Awesome souvenirs to bring back to friends for free as well I won 3 bottles of rum and a package of coffee! Antonia,Kevin and Yasmani you guys rock and keep doing what your doing its awesome!!
The nightly shows are full of culture but we found them to be a little boring! The disco usually always smells but if your drunk enough you get past it then its a great time and karaoke is always a blast especially when Antonia is provoking people to sing even when they can't!

Shopping in the square you can barter to a point but if you give up so will they we went outside into ocho rios to shop and take it from me u will only save a couple dollars if that by going into that market!

The beach is nice but not soft sand it is a man made beach but has some great snorkelling but if you are going strictly to go to a wonderful beach this resort may not be for you!

Dunns river falls is a must do in Jamaica. Do it if you have the time and money. We also did river tubing and It is so relaxing and not to expensive for a half day adventure!

One more thing the elevator in building 23 sucks I got stuck it in so did my brother in law and it has no ac and a mind of its own maybe this will be taken care of but if not its an inconvenience!


If any bride is looking for advice on where to get married I would recommend the grand Bahia you will not be disappointed do a private out door reception at the snack bar it's more expensive but if you have a large group totally worth it we LOVED IT!!

Hope this review was helpful!!
Genna "The newly wed Mon"

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GennaHickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with pleasure that we have learn through your review, you have had a great wedding-moon experience at our resort. We appreciate your kind words about overall the services provided by our staff, cleanliness, entertainment, excursions, food and a la carte restaurants. We appreciate your kind words about some specific members of our staff and we will make sure to transmit them your compliments. We are taking good note of all of your observations as well; we will transmit them to related departments to take them into account.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and our reviewers on TripAdvisor and for choosing our hotel as your wedding destination. We sincerely hope that we will be afforded the opportunity to host again on your next trip to Jamaica.

Yours faithfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I would rate this property as a 3 and a half to 4 stars maximum. Complex is very large, and a ton of walking involved (not that it's a bad thing) unless you're not fit, or mobility challenged. Upgraded to Diamond club; not sure if it was worth it, however, we did get an extra a la carte. Buffet is huge, crowded, noisy, and always a line for certain items (check out the smaller buffet at the back of building for breakfast). Food was okay. Restaurants were better, but nothing to rave about, except Don Pablo. Rooms are a good size, and the views are great. Cleaning was not thorough. Floors were dirty when we arrived, and never washed during the week. Drinks are not of good quality. Had to pay extra at the bar behind the terrace, in order to get consumable vodka or gin. Hubby brought a bottle of crown royal, which was a great idea, as whiskey is not readily available either. Lots of action by main bar at pool. If you're not there to party, it is not the area for you. Beach is lovely, but only 1 washroom for men, and 1 for women. Really? People are drinking most of the day, whether it's water or booze, and more facilities are needed. Also had to request that they be cleaned and restocked. That should be a regular occurrence everyday. We were there for a wedding, and the service and gazebo were lovely. Dinner was pretty hit and miss. Overall, I would not return to this resort, as I prefer a smaller, more intimate property, and do not like to have somebody else make your reservations for you. If you can get a great price, and like to party, then this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RelaxedMom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review. We appreciate your remarks about the wedding service and the gazebo, good room size and view. It is always concerning when a guest is not completely satisfied with our performance. Let us kindly point out, your opinion about the food has overwhelmed us, as it is through surveys that we have learnt our guests highly value the quality and variety of the food in our restaurants and buffets.

Nevertheless, your comments about your experience provide us with the chance to take measures that help avoid similar situations in the future. Thank you, for your collaboration and for helping us to improve.

Thank you for vacationing with us.

Yours faithfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
39.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,440 reviews
52.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
65.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#27 of 80 in Negril
5,446 reviews
35.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
5,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing