We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Jamaica Paul and Bobbie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I could be called an elderly couple. We were visiting Jamaica for the fist time, and we had a fine holiday. The resort is indeed very big, but with the Don Pablo Collection upgrade, we had the best of everything.
Our balcony had a lot of shade. The ocean view was interesting: there weren't too many large boats sailing by but we could watch local fishermen in the mornings.
All the staff was friendly: Carmen our day maid, Candy, the night maid. Kim, the hostess at the Palmyra Restaurant, made us feel at home; in fact, everyone went out of his or her way to be pleasant, but the pace was a bit slower at the Palmyra, and we liked that. . The food was great; the presentation was amazing. So much work went into carving melons etc.!!
All the restaurants were fine. We like sushi and went to the Mikado more than once.
The beach was nice too, but we prefered the pool: it was closer, friendlier.
Time share sales people were about all the time; we just said "no thank you", and went on our way, no problem.

Room Tip: We were in section 23 and had a good view of the gazebo where the weddings took place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you, for letting us know your impressions about your recent vacation in our resort. We are delighted to know your expectations were fulfilled. Thank you, for your kind words about our staff friendliness and hospitality, about the food, restaurants, the beach and the pool.

Thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, we will be more than happy to host you again on your upcoming trip to Jamaica.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,625 - 6,631 of 11,372 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Well for starters 2 weeks at any large all inclusive resort is a bit much.. Ok well the food gets a bit repetitive after a few days although definitely plentiful during dinning hours. in between meal times the "snack bar" is available but barely edible and filthy.
Rooms are clean but in need of some maintenance on arrival as to be expected in Jamaica.
Found the staff pretty friendly for the most part but persistence of the sales crew were hard to handle and frankly quite annoying...
Tips: Take care of your maid and she'll take care of you. if your able to definitely upgrade to the Don Pablo section in order to get the best of what's offered at the resort

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your note and for your words about the staff helpfulness. It is with regret that we learnt that we were not able to fulfill your expectations and we apologize for the inconveniences you have pointed out. However, it is through our guests’ questionnaires that we have learnt our food quality and variety is highly rated, in addition It is important to inform you that our Bahia Principe Resorts has a consultant with an international and well-known company named Cristal Americas, which on a frequent basis audits our hotels in all Hygiene and Sanitary procedures, besides, we have a Quality Control Coordinator in each property to ensure the proper follow up on Food & Beverage procedures. Although, we appreciate your observations and we will transmit your comments to related departments, to take them into consideration.

Thank you again for your collaboration; we do hope you could give us an opportunity to host you again in the future.

Yours faithfully

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had a wonderful vacation in spite of the resort. It was wonderful to spend a week with my girlfriends as we celebrated our 60th birthdays. I have stayed at 3 other All-Inclusive resorts in Jamaica and one in the Dominican Republic. I am comparing Grand Bahia to those other resorts.

I read many reviews before our trip and went with the attitude that I would have a good time. I have never written a poor review of a resort before. However, my friends and I did have several issues with this resort. The resort is huge and it is beautiful, but most of the staff are not aware of the words "customer service" or maybe they just don't care. Three of us stayed in a triple seaview suite. Some days we had wash clothes, some days we had hand towels, but we didn't have both. No problem. That was just a minor inconvenience. The gal who cleaned our room each day was pleasant and made nice designs with our beach towels and laid them out on our beds.

We had no trouble with the room until our last day when we awoke around 5:45 am to find water all over the floor, and it kept spreading. I called down to the main lobby and within 10 minutes they sent up a man with a mop & pail. Apparently they were already aware of a problem. The water was coming from the adjoining room. After about an hour I called back down to the lobby to ask if there might be another room where we could go get dressed. I was told that the resort was full but if I called back after 7am there would be a manager on duty and maybe he could do something. We could have gone to the other end of the resort where our 4th friend was staying, but we didn't want to make the trip from our room in Bldg 18 to her room in the Don Pablo Collection. We would have had a long walk and wheelchair push in our pajamas.

We checked out around 9:30 am and asked that they waive the fee for safe ($ 6 per day) because of the flood inconvenience. They said they could not do that. One of my friends went to speak to a manager who gave her 3 t-shirts, 2 mini bags of coffee and one mini bottle of rum. I wanted to speak to someone and ask how we were supposed to share those items when we live in 3 different states, but at the time I was waiting for a wheelchair.

The night before our departure we asked about using the luggage rack or getting a bellman. Normally we would not need help but with me in a wheelchair and one friend pushing the wheelchair, it was going to be difficult to get our luggage down to the lobby. We were told that they couldn't promise us bellman or a luggage rack because it might be busy. Our friend in the Don Pablo Collection received a call confirming her departure & telling her what time the bellman and luggage rack would be at her room.

There is a special section at the pool and at the beach for the Don Pablo Collection but our friend wanted to be with us so she didn't get to take advantage of that.

Fri night we had a reservation at the Japanese Steakhouse. There were a total of 11 at the table. Our reservation was for 5:30. They led us to the table around 5:45. The chef could not get the grill started so he left and came back in about 15 minutes. If you've ever eaten at a Japanese restaurant, you know part of the experience is watching the cooking, the jokes they make, the presentation as well as the food. Our cook rushed through everything. When we were finished & it was time for dessert, we were told to go in the other room (the main dining room) because they were running late and needed to seat the next group at the grill.

I injured my foot on a catamaran trip and needed to rent a wheelchair at the resort. It seemed that the nurse was more interested in getting a deposit (she wanted $ 200 cash).The chair had to be returned to the nurse’s office the morning of our departure so I needed to borrow the wheelchair from the lobby to get from the lobby to the transfer bus. That also became an issue.

Another negative: there are gals in the lobby asking you every time you walk through there to take a tour & win prizes. My friends arrived a few hours before me. When they were approached, they said ok & scheduled it for the next morning at 8am. When we arrived in the lobby at 8am for our tour the following morning, we were asked where our husbands were. We said they were in the US. The lady said that we could not take the tour without them. I wasn't there when my friends were originally approached, but they said that they made it clear that we were traveling without our spouses.

The nightly entertainment was really poor.

I’m basing this review on the opinion of the three of us who stayed in the triple room. We hate to complain, but none of us will recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to acknowledge that we have received your review published on Trip Advisor. We sincerely regret the fact that you left our property unhappy and we apologize for the inconveniences. We are in the business to bring an enjoyable, unforgettable experience to all of our guests. We accomplish this most of the time. The few times that we do encounter an unhappy guest we address the issue immediately and turn the challenge into an opportunity.

We would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort and we hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to once again host you in the near future.

Yours respectfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

From early on day #2, we were constantly hustled. The hotel hustles you to upgrade your room, everyone hustles for tips (they're supposed to be included in your all-inclusive package.), and in the city the hustle is everywhere. Our excursions were ridiculously overpriced. Whole experience cost us an arm and a leg!
The beach was small and rocky, no free wifi in the rooms (what kind of 5 star hotel doesn't have free wifi?!?!), no laundry service on weekends, and the "free mini bar" is 4 bottles of pop and 2 beers. Just seemed like they'd do anything to cut corners. Not my idea of a 5-star resort!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kittykitty128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having shared your note. We are sorry to know that our performance did not meet your expectations. We deeply sorry we couldn’t impress you with our facilities or services.

On behalf of our all team members, we apologize for the situations you found inadequate; we would appreciate the opportunity to host you in the future and modify your perception of our hotel.

Yours respectfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you want to have a pleasant and good time pick another resort. The staff was very unfriendly, they never spoke to you even if you passed 2 feet by them. They just stared at you while you walked by, even if you greeted them. The only staff that spoke to you were the ones trying to get you to sit through a timeshare presentation , by asking you if you received your free gift.

My first room was an adjoining suite with a family with kids, and I asked to be moved. They placed me in another room that was right by construction that went on from 7am through 8pm even on the weekend. It rained a couple days, so being indoors this is what I got to listen to all day.

The resort is very spread out, and if you want a good spot on the beach be prepared for a long trek back to get any food or drink.

I will never visit this resort ever again! I did mention to the front desk staff when they asked what was the best part of my trip and I said going home. Usually I hate packing to go home, but I was packed and ready to go before dinner.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank islandsuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to acknowledge that we have received your note published on Trip Advisor and we regret the situations you have brought to our attention. The management and staff would like to extend our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences. However, your point of view about the staff attitude has overwhelmed us, as it is not common that we receive those kind of remarks; but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness. Kindly note, that we constantly train our Staff members through our Human Resources Department as well as the Bahia Principe Quality Department in order to ensure that we provide our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Jamaican people.

We sincerely hope that this issues does not tarnish your perception of us and we will be more than happy if you re-consider to give us the opportunity to host you in our resort in the future.

Yours respectfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The trip was great if you make the upgrade to Don Pablo to your room,we were in 22411 which was quiet,there were some calls to make concerning the DP upgrade but no big deal,the resort was really great but BIG, if that is no big deal then go for it, swimming in the pool was good,exclusive DP area for the pool,other areas of the pool were a little full,snorkelling was alright from the beach or the areas closer to the resort,jerk chicken hut was really good but you have to watch the sauces,beach swimming was great the couple of times we went,nothing like floating around in the water,great service from Juan in the Palmyra resturant DP exclusive area, and Grant our concierge to our room 22411,and fun times and service from Alain and Aneika at the DP exclusive pool area.This resort is large so it requires soom walking to get around.The alacartes were really good if you did the upgrade to the Don Pablo service then you do your booking from the DP lounge which was really good,The Grill,The Don Pablo,and the Japanese (the show) were awesome.All in all a great trip,went shopping to Ohco Rios,and went to Nine Mile,where Bob Marley is,awesome trip there!!!.Watch out for the Privelge Club people,just keep walking past them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SidV57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your remarks in regards with your recent stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their vacation including room, food, pool and the beach. We also are taking note of your observations and we will make sure to inform the related department to take them into consideration.

Thank you again for sharing your review with us and we look forward to host you again in the nearest future.

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The staff here were great! Everyone was so kind. If you had a question or needed anything, just ask and they would help you out right away. They always want to make sure you are relaxed and enjoying your stay. We went with a large group for a wedding. It was a beautiful ceremony. The photographer (Chris) was great!!! He took so many great shots and knew what he was doing. The steel band at the wedding was beautiful!

The market in Ocho Rios isn't that great. Too many people trying to sell you things and yelling at you to come over. I much preferred the shopping on resort rather than Ocho. Prices were very similar anyways.

It was absolutely beautiful there. I would go again tomorrow if I could!

Special thanks to Antonia - she made us feel very welcome! Excellent staff all around.

Room Tip: Top floor had beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your note in regards of your recent vacation in our hotel. Thank you, for inform us you have enjoyed the beauty of resort, the wedding, the music and all the services provided by our staff have met your expectations. Thank you for your compliments to the professionalism of our coworkers Chris and Antonia.

Looking forward to host you again on your next Jamaican vacation,

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
1.4 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
12.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
52.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
35.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $158 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing