We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good and the bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Grand Bahia Principe:

THE GOOD: beautiful resort, great food, they even had a vegetarian section which we loved. Nice pools, great lawn, great staff (though some seem a little shy, but hey, they are human too!  ) One night at around 2:30 am teens right underneath our room, sitting on the balcony, were partying very loudly. After a while, I called (in our room 17508, the buttons on the phone for reception, etc. don’t work, you simply have to dial “0” though nothing indicates that, we had to figure out by trial and error) and the security came to their room. Then I could hear the kids complaining (once the security guard was gone) saying: “Can you believe this? Calling security?” they were obviously not getting it. So their party continued. Could not sleep, so around 3 am I called again. The staff at the reception were great and soon the security knocked on their door. Not sure what was said, but the noise stopped and didn’t reoccur all week). Thank you security!

Also IMPORTANT: Our room was on the fifth floor, with a nice view of the pools, the resort and the ocean. On our second night, we came to our room at around 9:30 pm, went on our balcony and even danced to the music (you can hear the concerts they have daily until 10 pm near the bar, a beautiful area of the resort that is outdoors). We were just happy to be outside and it was such a perfect temperature. Then we wanted to go back in and we had closed the sliding doors to save the air conditioning. But the doors locked themselves! It was already dark, and we had put a sign: Do not disturb on our door! So my husband and I were terrified as we imagined spending the night on the balcony. Strangely enough, I was about to call out from the balcony when one of the staff member yelled: “It’s ok, we will be there shortly!”. It felt like an angel, as we had been struggling with the door for less than 5 minutes. I think that the staff walks around at night and check for this, as they later told us that it does happen from time to time. So, we recommend to keep the doors slightly open when you go on your balcony!

We took a DAY TRIP TO PORT ANTONIO. It is a long trip, from 7:30 am to 7 pm, with a light lunch included and many stops if you wish to buy food or beverage. We loved it. Thank you Kaycee (OUR GUIDE), you are amazing, so smart and knowledgeable, we learned a lot about Jamaica, went to the Somerset Falls, then the Blue Lagoon and the highlight was the raft going down the Riu river. Heavenly. And a peaceful ride with a few and small rapids. Kaycee you were a joy to be with and anyone smart would promote you and keep you aboard!
The bedroom was nice and $1 tip seemed to be enough for our room to be made daily.

THE BAD: the bathroom. (See pictures.) The floors were old and stained, especially where the floor meets the walls. Not 5 star material, some may be quite disgusted by it. Lots of cracks and black mold on the wall and bath. The bathroom was at the most a 3 star quality. There were permanent stains near the sinks, must have been dry wall that dried on the marble a long time ago. (See pictures.) The vents seem to be in need of cleaning. There was a strange cigarette smell coming through, on and off, and it felt like the air was somewhat toxic. Again, not a 5 star quality. My husband noticed too. That lasted during our entire stay.

SUNWING: Changed our flight from a departure time of 6 am (our preference) to 10 am. We are at the airport in time and find out that the plane is delayed for 2 hours. So by 12:30 pm we are leaving Ottawa. Then we find out that we will stop at Puerto Plata for an hour to let people off and pick some people who are leaving Puerto Plata to return to Ottawa (and they too will have to come to Jamaica for an hour wait, let people out, pick people up and then head to Ottawa). So our flight was 6 ½ hours, and plus de delays, so we lost an entire day. The bus that picked us up was old and run down. The drivers forgot to stop at a resort, so we had to go back, delaying our arrival further. It was dark and around 10 pm by the time we reached our room. We spoke with many people at the resort and heard many such stories with Sunwing. So in the future we will definitely avoid them.

So this is still a beautiful resort, with a small but pretty beach, very safe for children, the snorkeling is safe at the beach but they don’t have much fish, though it was still pleasant enough. We won’t return though, we are looking for something smaller and cleaner for our next trip.

Room Tip: A higher room will be quieter. Lots of walking, but we loved that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadiansOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Certainly your satisfaction is our best award. We are very happy to learn that once again we achieved our goal. Thank you very much for your kind words about our security, it is of first priority for our management and staff to provide a safe environment and guarantee the comfort of our guests. We will transmit your compliments to our security department. We thank you for your observations as well and we will take it into consideration.

Looking forward to host you again, in your next vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,982
    3,444
    1,773
    831
    644
See reviews for
3,365
4,395
158
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,051)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

After a long hour long ride to the resort we got our room keys on the bus and was pointed to the direction of our room. We requested 2 beds and got a king instead. It took another hour to get the right room. Not off to a good start as we were tired from traveling and wanted to get cleaned up.
The room had canopy beds, 19inch tube TV safe, coffee maker, fridge, 2 big bottles of water, fridge had 2 cans of beer, 4 bottles of pop, and 2 bags of banana chips.
Bathroom had a jet tub(jets didn't work) toilet ran continuously(wasn't noisy tho) seems lots of the toilets in the resort public washrooms have this problem and they don't bother fixing it. Nice shower always had hot water. Mold on the top of the bathroom ceiling.
Room floor was washed everyday but they don't wash the balcony. Our feet was always black walking around the room from the dirty floor and balcony.
Lots of dust on the ledges in the room. Dirty marks on the light switches. Marks on the walls. Stains on the thin sheets. Minor things they don't bother correcting.
Gardens well trimmed on the grounds but for a resort that is only a few years old it is showing age already.
The food in the buffet was plentiful and lots of selection. Tasted good but ate something that gave us food poisoning for half the week.
The entertainment at night was quite boring. Lots of dancing and lip synching. There is no place you can go off the resort without having to take a cab.
Gift shop is overpriced. The store they call a pharmacy just has over the counter stuff and is way overpriced. 5 US dollars for throat candies that cost 75 cents in Canada.
Bring your own suntan lotion, bug spray, cold medicine and allergy medication just in case.
Weather is great and the beach has nice fine white sand. Overly friendly staff try to sell you something to smoke all the time.
I've had better holidays in Mexico at a lesser price and I wouldn't go back here again. Once was enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YQR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and letting us know you have enjoyed the weather and our beautiful beach during your stay.

It is with regret that we knew your experience did not reach some of your expectations. However allow us to kindly inform that it is through our clients’ surveys, the cleanliness of our facilities reaches the highest rating. It is important to inform that Bahia Principe has a consultant with an international and well-known company named “Cristal Americas”, which on a frequent basis audits our hotels in all hygiene and sanitary procedures. Strict hygienic programs are carried out as our compromise to ensure the maximum safety of our guests and employees.

Thank you for vacationing with us,

Yours faithfully

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just spent an amazing week in Jamaica. The resort is huge, and absolutely beautiful. We had a junior suite with an ocean view to die for. We went via Air Canada Vacations and I must say, they really took care of us. We had all sorts of extras, from slippers and robes in our room, beach towels in our room upon arrival, no charge for our room safe, a cocktail party on our first night, etc, etc. the food at the resort was excellent. The jerk chicken at the beach snack bar was the best in Jamaica. Don't miss out on eating there every chance you can get. The buffet restaurants had excellent food. The only negatives: not enough lounge chairs at the pool makes everyone race down really early in the morning just to save a spot. There were lots of spots on the beach, though. We also did not like the food or service at the Don Pablo Restaurant or the Italian Restaurant. The Picasso Restaurant was excellent. Everyone seems to complain about not having enough towels in their room. We found that all we had to do was ask housekeeping for additional towels and they were provided to us. I would encourage all who visit Jamaica to plan to tip for the service. The minimum wage for service workers - so we were told - is between $50 and $60 USD per week. We gave a dollar to the bar tenders and waiters for our drinks, $5 a day to our maid, and $3-$5 to our drivers. We visited Negril and went to Rick's Cafe where my husband did some cliff jumping. We also took the Cool Runnings Dunns River Falls tour. It was a lot of fun. Beware of the rum! It will knock your socks off. We can't wait to return to Jamaica.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JLP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is our goal, to satisfy our guests’ expectations. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our property, room and in-room amenities, food, specially the jerk chicken at the beach snack bar, as well as our Picasso restaurant. We are happy to know you experienced our staff hospitality and friendliness. We thank you for your observations, which help us to refine our services.

Looking forward to host you soon,

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stay in this resort on march w my wife food and service aaa +++ we have a great time staff is very friendly and room was great the only complaint is directions I was lost at the beginning of our trip is to big and front desk does not give you good directions.

Room Tip: Rooms at 24 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertoA316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review. It is a pleasure to know you have had a great vacation with us, and you have felt happy with the location, staff and the service. We are taking note and we value your observation as well.

Thank you for vacationing with us; we hope to host you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just returned from a two week vacation and it was all excellent.

Staff were amazing, helpful, friendly and lots of fun. Resort was very well kept and very clean.

Restaurant food was very good for an all inclusive. I would reccomendto anyone andwill definately consider returning.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Don Pablo collection. Well worth it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know we have been capable to accomplish your expectations. We appreciate your words about our beautiful property, staff and service.

On behalf of our General Manager and all Team Members at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica we thank you for your remarks and we look forward to host you in our property in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I recently returned from this hotel. I was there with my husband, mother-in-law and kids, we reserved 3 rooms. We got there very early with air transat and were told our check in would not be at the front desk but we had a private room at the golden club. We were greeted by Latoya who was very pleasant and gave us a warm jamaican welcome. We went to the snack bar and had jerk chicken which was very tasty. Overall our trip was fantastic, the ladies at the golden were very pleasant each. We had a little issue but it was resovled very quickly by Marshalyn Dean.
CONS: the privilege club in the lobby are very annoying, they should move them to another part of the hotel. Away from that we had a good time, See you next year

Room Tip: building 18 is the best block, the one in the corners have the largest balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 670susand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivilegeClub, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear 670susand

We at Privilege Club wanted to thank you for taking the time to write this review.

While we are happy ot know you enjoyed your vacations at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica it is always concerning when guests are not satisfied with the approach from the promotions team. Your comments have been forwarded to the corresponding teams in order to take measure that help prevent this situation from occurring in the future.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and should you have any other comments regarding the Privilege Club, please write us at customerservice@bppclub.com

Kind regards,
Stephany Tavarez
Customer Service
Bahia Principe Privilege Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a very nice resort. I travelled with my aunt and my parents for one week! We booked the upgraded package which gave us robes and in room towels (we didnt have to do the towel card thing)... We alternated days between beach and pool... the beach was beautiful!! One of the best ive been to. I travel a lot but I never venture into the ocean much, for fear of the unknown sea creatures that might see me as a snack... no fear in this water... i could see the bottom even when i was in way deeper than my height - spectacular!
The rooms were spacious, and very clean. Fridge always stocked with pop and beer!
The staff are not very friendly and there seems to be a general air of discontentment amongst the staff at this hotel... there were a few times like the wait staff made me feel like they were doing ME a favor - lets just say, I came to the resort with $200 US in ones and fives for the tipping and used all of it and not once did it seem appreciated. Oh well, that had not bearing on the wonderful time I had on this resort! Great for weddings or large groups - there was at least one or two weddings every single day here - they have great facilities and its def. a good venue to get married at!
Also, we went on a shopping trip to Ochos Rios -- the bus driver was hilarious! but beware! dont buy any jewellry (i bought my mom a ring that turned her finger green and silver plate chipped off) and BARTER, you can get whatever price you want - just stick to your guns and as they see you walking out of the store, they change their minds!
Night entertainment was great, the Jerk chicken lunch hut - AMAZING! I would go again just for this!

Room Tip: this is a LARGE hotel, the largest I have ever stayed at... there are 800 rooms - so the resort is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natthecat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time out to communicate the impressions of your holiday. We appreciate your words about the nice location, beautiful resort, the clear waters of our beach, the room amenities.

We are very sorry regarding your experiences related the staff. Allow us to kindly note we are constantly training our Staff members through our Human Resources Department as well as the Bahia Principe Quality Department in order to ensure that we provide our guests with a professional service besides the friendliness and warmth of the Jamaican people. It is through surveys that we have learnt the majority of our guests have felt welcomed, however, we seriously have valued your observations and will transmit it to our management and staff.

Looking forward to host you in our property in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
52.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,850 reviews
27.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
39.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#17 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing