We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the last week in November and really enjoyed the resort. It's about a 45 minute drive from the airport. It is a big resort so there is plenty of walking, we had a room on the 5th floor with a direct ocean and pool view gorgeous. The room was large, clean and the bed was comfortable. We upgraded to the gold club for a nominal fee. We received 2 baskets of fruit and a bottle of champagne upon arrival. Our room was cleaned every day and the cleaning staff was always friendly with a big hello each morning. The grounds are well kept, the pool gorgeous,the staff is always working and the beach down by the burger hut was the better of the two. During the time the pool opened until it closed the entertainmetn crew always had the people up and going, lots of fun, if you wanted quieter go to the other end of the pool. I hear people commenting about the drinks, if it is too weak order a double is all. At night we went to the lobby bar before going out and would have a martini or two, this was not part of the all inclusive package however the drinks were only $4.00. I pay $15.00 here in the states for a martini, so the price was well worth it. All the bartenders at any of the bars were friendly and accomodating. I could go on and on but if you're looking for quality and fun this is the place to go. Only negative I could say is that the restaurants require reservations and it's hard to get one at a good time if you don't book before you go, it's either early at 5:00 or 9:00-10:00 so book at the resort before you arrive which we did. The Japanesse restaurant is amazing as well as the Gourmet Restaurant. If the portion size is too small order 2, it is an all inclusive. Night time activites are there is you want, they have a disco, karake, sports bar, ok not the same as the states but nontheless they have it. It's a small little village in itself in the resort. They have nightly shows and after the show the disco and karaoke bars open. We went on the Bob Marley bus tour, amazing amazing amazing, we had such a great time. The Dunns River Falls and Botanical Gardens eh not so much. The tour brings you to their places to shop I'm sure they get some kind of rewards back, same at the Botanical Gardens, the views and garden were beautiful, but all they want to do is take pictures and video you to buy at the end. The lunch they served was delicious. But we loved the resort and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the gold club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deonsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear guest,

Receive cordial greetings from Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica.

On behalf of our General Manager and all our staff Members we would like to thank you for your time to post this review in Trip Advisor sharing your experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,307 - 7,313 of 11,676 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just returned from the Grand Bahia Principe in Jamaica. We stayed from January 24th - January 29th, 2013. I can't say enough good things about this resort. I've traveled to many different all-inclusive resorts around the Caribbean and have been to Jamaica several times. I can honestly say this was the best resort I have stayed at. Please don't listen to the other bad reviews. If they've written something bad, it's not the resort, it's the person writing the review.
From the minute we arrived we were taken care of promptly. We were immediately checked in and were upgraded to an ocean front room. Our room was beautiful with a view to die for. We were two women traveling together, but met family's and people of all ages who would all agree that they had an amazing time. The room had two queen beds, a small sofa area, bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi tub and lastly a small little balcony with chair and tables.
Food: We tended to eat all of our meals in the Buffet. There was never a lack of choice. The one thing we absolutely loved was the choice of Jamaican cuisine at every meal. You're in the country, why not enjoy their food??? It didn't matter what time of day there was always something to eat. There is a fantastic Jerk Chicken place on the beach...not too spicy but the best chicken I've ever eaten. Late at night if you've closed down the disco head over to the burger place...here they will feed you and you can still have some more drinks. They make sure they take care of your every need.
Music: This is something I can say was such a nice change to many of the other resorts I've been to. By the pool you've got music playing (usually some reggae, which is exactly how it should be). But if you want it a little quieter just head down a little further to another section of the enormous pool. In the disco again, great music. Quite a bit of dance music but also will play a lot of reggae (dj made a point of seeing what really interested the crowd).
Grounds: The grounds were beautiful. The pool is incredible and always chairs to be found. The beach is raked every night (no sand flees). You will see security all around the resort who will always make sure you are doing ok. If you are out late and aren't exactly sure how to get back the security will help you find your way back safely.
Special Thanks: We want to send a special thanks to all the staff at the resort who made our vacation. I wish we could list all the names but here are just a few of the people who will take care of you and go beyond: Entertainment crew - make sure you meet Antonia and Latoya, two of the sweetest, most friendly girls. Buffet - Tevon in pastries and Mr. Lewis. Pool Bar - Garrick and Andre, they will whip up any drink you need. Disco - Kereth will always make sure he remembers your drink and keep your glass full. Sports Bar area- Natrice. Burger Principe - make sure you go see Yaya and Oshane who will whip you up something to eat in the middle of the night and have you laughing all night long. Security - Jermaine and Elvis - always making sure we were safe. Maintenance - if you need anything fixed Clayton will be there in a minute to make sure things are put in order.
As you can see everyone there was a huge reason for making our vacation the best ever. Make sure you take the time to get to know that staff or ask them if you need help they are always willing..
If you can't decide where you're going to stay on your next vacation or you don't know where you should stay in Jamaica, look no further...head down to the Grand Bahia Principe.

Room Tip: We were in 23404. Beautiful ocean front room. It's quite a distance from the disco, so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Breezy12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear guest,

Certainly your satisfaction is our best award. We are very happy to learn that once again we achieved our goal.

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know and sharing your experience with our reviewers in Trip Advisor and we hope to see you very soon in our Resort.

Yours sincerely

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a great time while we were there. Very clean and spacious rooms. Great views of the ocean from the balcony. Make sure to check out the jerk chicken at the snack bar from 12:00 - 3:00. It was amazing. All the other food was great, the Buffett and the restaurants served good food and the servers are friendly and fast.

Only negative was the quality of the alcohol being served.

Room Tip: It is worth checking out the price difference to a room with view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel.
Your honest opinion is very important because it allows us to meet the demands of our guests. On behalf of the entire team at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica again we appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Jamaica.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Grand Bahia. We have traveled all over the globe and feel that this was one of the nicest resorts we have stayed at. I did read the reviews that others had written previously and I am glad I chose to see for myself. I honestly do not know what these people had to complain about. The service was exceptional, the property and location was beautiful, the food at the ala carte restaurants was fabulous, especially the jerk chicken. The only thing I can figure is that these negative reviews are from people that complain about everything and everyone. This is the tropics, there are bugs, it does rain, it is a enormous property that needs constant upkeep, the staff are trying to do their best. Do yourself a favor and check this resort out on your own, you may be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: We had our room in the J block on 7th floor. Beautiful view of pool and ocean. Quiet, not too far f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4610minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your feedback. Our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of all our guests. We are happy to see that we have achieved this time with you. We look forward to welcome you back to our Resort.

Best Regards,



Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was a great holiday our first time in Jamaica, the hotel is beautiful and clean, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, we arrived Sunday 8:40pm and they gave us our packages and keyes on the bus - it's a shame all hotels can't do that. 85% Canadian occupancy while there. Ala Carte restaurants were amazing especially the Grill. We felt the only shortfalls were the beach and the buffet which we felt were average. Tips went along way in making our stay awesome.
Try the Grand Bahia Principe it will be well worth it.
We did the Black River tour with Claudine (tour guide) and Peter (bus driver) we learned a lot about Jamaica and saw some beautiful country. At Appleton Rum Norman gave us a great learning experience about the making of rum - the tasting wasn't bad either ;-) Then there was Fabian and his crocodiles on the boat tour of the Black River - Jamaica we will be back - Thank you for a great time.

Room Tip: We were in 18409 beach side - great room, great view - we could hear the evenings entertainment but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your kind comments..

We sincerelly hope that this time wont be the last one and have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a WONDERFUL vacation at the Grand Bahia Principe. The resort was very clean. The food was great. The beach is long and the water is shallow making it easy to walk out. It was also fun splashing in the waves when it was windy.

We took a trip to Dunn's River Falls - A MUST! And went to Dolphin Cover where we swam with Dolphins and Stingrays.

Our favourite restaurant was Don Pablo. The Chateaubriand there was so great.

A special shout out to our maid Jennifer Brambury in the 18 block. She was so friendly and wonderful and did a great job. She's a real example of great customer service.

We will be back!!!

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade for the ocean view. Rooms near the lobby are noisier as they play music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your congratulations especially to our co worker Mrs. Brambury that of course we will extend to her in your name.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any further assistance or requirements for you next visit to our Resort always your home in Jamaica.

Best regards,

Helena Gomez\
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

If anyone has any doubt about this place, let me put your mind at ease?
The staff has been nothing but nice to us, each and everytime. The food is an absolute gastonomic experience and plenty. The dessert well I can't say enough about it. People that have negative reviews for this place need to step back and take a look at how they treat people. Sometimes your attitude is reflected back to yourself.
The fact that we keep returning year after year should be an indication.
Dont hesitate to contact me with any questions.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bpinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear guest,

It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that we were able to provide you a delightful stay. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any futher assistance or request regarding your 6th vsisit to this Resort, your home in Jamica , that we hope could be soon.

Yours sincerely,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
1.4 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
12.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
9,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.3 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.1 mi away
Villa Sonate
Villa Sonate
#2 of 7 in Runaway Bay
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $201 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing