We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Nearby Hotels
$482
$330
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$543
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silver Creek Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$100
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franklyn D. Resort & Spa(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardiff Hotel & Spa(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piper's Cove Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Ambiance(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salem Resorts(Runaway Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (11,919)
Filter reviews
11,919 results
Traveler rating
4,404
3,765
2,002
973
775
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,404
3,765
2,002
973
775
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjerk chickengold clubdon pablothe grilla la carte restaurantstime sharedolce vitakaraoke barbeach snack barmain buffetnude beachair transatjapanese restaurantorchid buffetface clothsair canadatowel hut
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7,606 - 7,611 of 11,919 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

So much to say about this place. It has its ups and down. This compound is huge! I love the construction of the place and the beach is big! The view is breath taking whether you are standing on the balcony of the lobby area or of your room.
Now the biggest problem with this place is the construction. I don't know if it's because of such reason why there are roaches or if it's because people are leaving food in the hallways (whenever they order room service. No one is allowed to bring back food to their room from the restaurants), but this was my dilemma. I was moved from one room with roaches to another room where the bathroom needed to be fixed. The best thing about the room was the view.
I like the fact that there is a "shopping mall" on site. Most hotels have the most 2 on location.
The hot tub/jacuzzi is not for everyone. You have to sign up for a spa treatment in order to use it. Even thou it is shown on the websites, YOU CANNOT USE IT! So, that was very disappointing.
The lighting in the rooms, hallway and buffet are not great. I felt as if I was straining my eyes just to see at night. It's even worst when you cannot see what's in your food, and this is a must especially when roaches are roaming around.

ROOMS: BIG and spacious. No flat screens. make sure you check the sheets whenever they are changed! I saw spots of blood when another cleaning lady came in since our original one was off that day. The walls are thin...I was able to hear the man snoring next door.

FOOD: Buffet food could be better. Same thing everyday. Fruits were ripe and sweet. Need more options of Jamaican food and other type of food. The Japanese restaurant food is great and the service was great also. There are a lot of restaurants to choose from.

DAYTIME ENTERTAINMENT: Friendly staff and they actually participate in a lot of activities with the visitors.

NIGHT ENTERTAINMENT: Not much of a Jamaican experience but somewhat entertaining. There's alot to do after the show thou (nightclub, karaoke, sports bar).

STAFF: Friendly but it shouldn't take hours or days for them to assist or take care of problems.
It's a little annoying when they want you to sign up for your "free gift". So be prepared
for that.

GYM: I could only workout in this place for 2 days. The mold would just burn my nose. You can just see the mold on the column and ceiling and they still have it open. They need to stop worrying about adding new sections and fix the existing problems first!

LOCATION: it took about an hour from the airport. I think it's in a great location and it's not too far from Ocho Rios.

Whenever there was a bad thing, something good comes along. We made the best out of it regardless. I would probably go back but after they are done with the construction.
My "poor" rating for the food is for the buffet. The chefs arer nice and I thank them for taking care of us after our little incident.

Room Tip: Building 1 is the older section. Building 2 & 3 is closer to the construction so you will hear noise until 8pm. Corner rooms have bigger balconies.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you so much for taking your time to share your comments and recommendations with us, we really appreciate this kind of communications and we will give the matters the proper attention in order to improve our level of quality in our facilities and services.

Thank you so much once again and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in the near future.

Best regards,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the GB from Jan 1-8 and had an amazing time. The resort is fabulous and the staff continually impressed us with their professionalism, efficiency and overall friendly demeanour. The staff is fun and engaging which made for a calm and laid back environment. Food was as good as buffet food can be but the restaurants were great. We experienced the Spanish restaurant and Garden Grill which were both delicious. The snack bar was by far the best-the jerk chicken is a MUST!! The resort is massive and there is always something to do or try. The grounds are extremely well kept and are constantly being manicured. My husband and I came to this resort to relax and enjoy the sun and it definitely delivered on both. Beaches were gorgeous and relatively quiet. I would suggest bringing water shoes as the ocean is quite rocky/coraly. The only issue we really had was that the shower in our room leaked a bit. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend this resort to anyone. We <3 JAMAICA!!!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
10  Thank Beck I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We are glad that we succeeded with you. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

this place was the worst resort i have ever been to.many problems with the room .the patio doors dont close properly.they whistle.poor ac.tv staticy.door keys dont always work.the drain for the shower doesnt drain .the toilet doesnt flush properly.the hot water smells very bad.the safe doesnt lock properly.the maids dont clean properly .lots of mould around the tub.room to room doors not insulated .you can hear everything your neighbour is saying and doing .mini bar supposed to be stocked and all it has is two beer and four pop.the alarm clock ddoesnt work.properly when you pull your door key out for the lights it resets the clock so you always have to reset it.most of staff not very friendly.selection of food very low and not much taste..very big and lots of walking.very windy.not alot of activity.not impressed at all.never again

Room Tip: maintance of building and rooms need to improve bed springs noisy
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank t k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear guest,

First, you agardecemos the time they spend with us by sharing your experience. We deeply regret not being able to meet your expectations and of course we would like to let you know that we have reported all incidents to the department responsible to take appropriate measures.

We look forward to welcoming you again in one of our hotels to make your stay more enjoyable.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed Dec 24-31 - I certainly expected some hiccups because it was full occupancy, but some occurrences were disappointing. Having said that, we didn't let that bother our otherwise wonderful vacation. Furthermore, we got a great deal through Air Transat/iTravel2000 - so you get what you pay for.

THE GOOD:
- Great curb appeal, exterior is beautiful, grounds kept very clean
- Great central location to Ochos Rios and many major Jamaican attractions. 1+ hr from Montego Bay airport.
- Food was actually decent. Great variety of Jamaican delicacies at the Buffet restaurant (Orchid). We enjoyed our meals at The Grill, Don Pablo (Gourmet) and the Japanese restaurant. (We heard from others to pass on the Italian).
- For breakfast, going to the smaller Buffett restaurant made mornings more enjoyable (vs. facing the huge crowds at the Orchid)
- Nice gazebos by the pool with padded cushion lounges (wake up early to reserve one!)
- Pool bar lounge with live music from 6-8 pm was a nice surprise (poorly advertised though, we stumbled upon it late in our trip)
- Kudos to the Entertainment team; they worked hard to liven up the crowd with fun activities during the day (by the pool) and at night. Although not everyone's cup of tea, the live shows were done pretty well.
- The Karaoke bar surprisingly was a fun spot at night, and a great way to meet other guests
- The main pool bar made the best pina colada's on the resort
- The jerk chicken is OK (best if you leave the resort and go to Scotchies. Actually Sweetwood in Kingston was even better).


THE DISAPPOINTMENTS:
- Unfortunately our room was not ready upon arrival (we arrived at the hotel 12 noon, check-in is 3 pm, room was only ready at 5 pm-ish). We never got a straight answer, but just kept being told to return to the Front Desk every half an hour.
- When we got into our room, the toilet had the "I've been sanitized" label on it, but the toilet seat was covered with brown water. And the floor in front of the toilet was filthy.
- Blood stain on our sheets our first night
- We tipped the front desk person and asked her to schedule a wake-up call. The call never came.
- The beach to the right of the resort is very rocky and I was worried that the entire beach was like that; thankfully the one to the left is much more pleasant (but still not great). The beach bar wasn't as convenient as I had hoped.
- The towel hut was very busy; needless to say, we had issues obtaining towels our first day, and often could not exchange for a clean towel during our stay as they had run out

SUMMARY
Resort is 3.5 stars at best (vs. the published 5 stars). Still we had a wonderful time in Jamaica.

TIP
- If you're comfortable with your waiter, ask him if has a connection for a local driver. Their prices may be more competitive than what is offered at the Taxi desk.
- If you love wine, think about bringing your own (or pay more at the restaurant). Their house wine was crap.
- If you enjoy hot sauce, best to bring your own bottle. For some reason, whenever I asked for some, it often was a big nuisance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank fabavg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of our General Manager and all team members we would like to extend our apologies if we were not able to reach all your expectations during your stay with us and we really appreciate your recommendations and suggestions made to our operation. We sincerelly hope your could give us the opportunity to host you again in your next visit to Jamaica.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I visited this resort last Summer and overall it was OK, but my complaint is that depending on what building you might be in, you can end up doing a lot of walking which is not good for some people. I traveled with family and we had to switch rooms twice, because they were doing construction on one of the corner buildings. After we were given 1 key to the safe which did not work, had to walk all the way to the lobby for a second key, and had to walk all the way back and told them that the keys did not work. Turns out they were copies of the original key which were not made correctly. In one day that was a lot of walking but they tried to be friendly.

The Gold Club (Gold or Diamond) is a scam, an air conditioned room in the lobby. As if there was not already already one with for normal people which was air conditioned (also had a bar). The beach for their VIP guests was really small with some rocks and seaweed. Nothing worth paying extra for. The regular beach is a lot longer but not comparable with some other beaches. The nude beach was sometimes empty, and the water on that side had some sharp rocks which cut my foot. Only good for tanning.

Although the food was excellent, and room service was generally OK, I would not return. Maybe it depends on luck, but the hotel was not very good in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123Alex123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear guest,

Receive cordial greetings from Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica.

we are very sorry to learn that we could not impress you with all our services and facilities, of course we have taken very good note regarding these situations mentioned which will be addressed to our relevant department heads.

We would like also to thank you for vacationing with us and we are at your disposal for any further assistance or requests for next visits to our Resort or any other from our Bahia chain.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews