We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Reviewed January 4, 2013

i read a lot of reviews before we went and so was not surprised by some of the shortcomings. the flight was good. the staff friendly, champagne breakfast and very comfortable. the bus ride to the hotel was about an hour. check in was a bit disorganized. but i have come to expect this at all inclusive resorts. the room was comfortable. noticed a few bugs and we took precautions when we got home (left the bags in the trunk and unpacked one by one in the garage, all clothes straight into washing machine, vacuumed bags thoroughly). booking for the a la carte restaurants was what i expected. we were not gold or diamond club members and so were limited in available times. meh, the buffet was just fine and i especially enjoyed the theme nights. the best was the jerk shack on the beach. we had lunch there everyday. service was hit and miss but the weather was unbeatable. we mainly used the beach closest to the nude beach because it was a bit of a hike and not too many people wanted to go all the way over there. (the usual towels on the deck chairs first thing in the morning, how annoying...) fun snorkeling. i thought it was good value for the money. we travelled with our two sons and when i tried to book 2 roooms for the four of us, it would only give us one room. so i booked myself with one child and my husband with the other child and we got the two rooms. boys are 13 and 17 and i didn't feel llike sharing a room with them so that worked out. (it was the same price to get the two rooms the way we did as if we were all in the same room!!)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

We really appreciate your recomemndations you have made to our operation, please make sure that they will be taken in consideration. We hope that beside those events you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to host you in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,057 - 7,063 of 11,277 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

As per the title the maid left bleach in a drinking water bottle in our room...we have issues with the maid leading up to this (nothing unusal and none she knew of) but this caused us to get management involved. At first we were told this "type of thing" doesnt happen but then management got involved and a new maid was assigned the service was much better agter this...to bad it was our 8th day here out of 10. The room was located where what I would call the highway to the night club/entertainment area, which sucked with a 11 month old. Every night at 11 when the show let out and 2-4 am disco/burger bar let out there was people traffic (4 times i had to go out of the room at 4 to tell people to please talk/yell somewhere else. The room was ground floor and plagued with mosquito (only after a server questioned the health of our son, due to all the bits, did we find out you can ask to have your room sprayed as this is a common problem within rooms at the hotel on the ground floor) oh and the cockroaches were bad in the room too but it is the Caribbean. The food in the buffet was just bad, even breakfast! The staff were great!!! They really made our 10 stay in the end. Geffory from the beach grill/ jerk station is the best!! And so are the amazing girls from the entertainment staff and the beach bar way at the end of the beach!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeraidnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed over the new years holidays at Grand bahia. The food on the gala night was amazing. There was nothing what was missing. We felt like we where in Food paradise. The service staff made every evening to a unforgettable experience and made us feel very special.
Great Hotel, great Food, great Staff. Best Hotel in Jamaica!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your observations regarding our recent visit in our property. We would like also to have the opportunity to host you in our property in the near future.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I went to Runaway Bay and stayed at the Gran Bahia and fully enjoyed the whole experience. The staff were very helpful and friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms were very nice and spacious. The country itself is beautiful and very inviting. We met alot of people from there and still are friends with. If I were to take another to Jamaica ....this is where I would go back to. Lots of families with kids..the resort is that big you don't even know there are kids.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor I like bcause everything is there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

In the name of our General Manager and our Staff Members we would like to thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

What can I say? This is my family's 4th time to a Grand Bahia resort,..this poperty does not hold a candle to Punta Cana or Mayan Riviera properties, on any account.
The rooms were substandard, with leaky ceiling problems, air conditioning problems,mildew, slow tub filling, no facecloths provided and had to keep calling down for new towels as none were left in the room.There was only beer and pop and water left in the room and sometimes I had to call down for that, no shots in minibar,...we were assured of rooms close together on an upper floor,but this only happened for one half of our group of ten - the ones with 2 rooms as opposed to 3-and as well they had fruittrays, complementary bottles of rum, and reservations for the a la cartes, as well as the Air Canada Cocktail party and room service .None of these things were included for half of the group-inquired with the rep and she did not have an answer as to why this happened nor did she offer any assistance in finding out about it. On one occassion I had to return to the front desk 6 times one morning for assistance, they kept saying you will have to come back in 30 minutes, well that was a morning shot...the wi fi did not work well when it worked at all in the lobby..there was a hole in the ceiling at the smaller buffet that dripped something, hopefully water, on my head and then when I reported it to the server, she put a chair under it, which caught a lot of the water in a very short time- got photos of that one- The Christmas Eve Gala was poorly organized with 2 sittings that evening- so when we were allowed in, it was like a herd of cattle, with long lineups and the only real special was the turkey, I think it would have been better if they had left the buffets open at the same hours to avoid the backlog of diners. Also, this is the first Bahia resort that I have visited that did not serve mixed drinks in the dining rooms- only beer and wine,...the beach was rather dirty and the chairs at the beach were in bad shape, lots of cigarette and other butts lying around. The man-made beach was a disappointmet as well. The pool was great but the water was cold and there is no hottub. The staff were constructing a pergola of some type the whole time we were there and the noise went on from daybreak until late at night. The Grill was excellent! The Japanese restaurant was very good but the hostess was nasty both on the phone and at dinner ,...The main buffet was excellent! Loved the omlettes and homemade donutsand coffee and Iced teas!the bartenders were great and personable and were the best part of the whole trip! Went off resort once to Dunn's River Falls and this was a great time, but they almost left two of the guests from the resort behind! The Jerk Chicken at the Snack hut was excellent but the first day we arrived too late for the buffet and we were starving- the snack bar was open but the food was horrible- burgers lying in water and not much fresh ..it did look better as the week went on ... What can I say ? A 5 year old resort that looks like it has seen better days, not sure if the construction was substandard to begin with or if Hurricanes have hit hard at this resort over the last few years but I would most definitely head to Tulum for my next trip to the Carribbean

Room Tip: there is a newer section as of December ..best to ask for them as the resort is only 5 years old bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConLyn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,



It is indeed with great regret that we have leant that your experience in our resort did not reach your expectations and we are very concerned about the situations you reported. Please rest assured that all your comments are being taking serious and have been forwarded to the relevant department’s heads in order to avoid the reoccurrence of such a situation.

Sincerely we regret the fact that you left unhappy. We are in the business to bring an enjoyable, unforgettable experience to all of our guests. We accomplish this most of the time. The few times that we do encounter an unhappy guest we address the issue immediately and turn the challenge into an opportunity.


Once again we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort and we hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to once again host you in the near future.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Bahia Dec 26 - Jan 2 2013. Nice resort, clean, room good. Service is so, so.
Food average,beach resturant dirty. Hard to get a good drink, cheap brands. Most bar servers have no interest in servering you. Ordered a coffee with Baileys from the one bar thats serves Baileys with a charge, was told I had to go to another bar to get the coffee, after serveral attempts the server went and got the coffee and made my drink. Could not beleive they were asking the guest to do thier job? Beach towels hard to get, always told to come back in an hour, had to go to front desk to get a freash towel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

It is indeed with great regret that we have leant that your experience in our resort did not reach all your expectations and we are very concerned about the situations you reported. We further regret that you felt your requests were not attended properly or in a timely manner. Please rest assured that all your comments are being taking serious and have been forwarded to the relevant department’s heads in order to avoid the reoccurrence of such a situation. We can assure you that corrective measure will be taken. we sincerelly hope that beside those events you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you so much for coming and do not hesitate to get in touch with us for futher assistance in your next visits to our Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just got back, and all i have to say is don't waste your money. We ordered room service a number of times throughout our stay, the food NEVER came. We would call about it, when someone WOULD answer the phone, they would always say "Ten minutes", but no food would EVER show. Room service MIGHT make your bed, if your lucky, but getting cleans towels on a daily basis takes ABOUT 4-5 phone calls/day. The drinks at the bar are as numerous as you want, but they are so watered down you don't even know you had anyting to drink. The food has very little flavor, if any, and is so tough, cutting and chewing can be a problem. And if you do need help, have a problem, etc. they always respond, we will get to that tomorrow. They NEVER actually do. I think they figure it's all-inclusive, we have your money, we could give a rat's [--]!! I would definitely NOT RECOMMEND this place, even to my worst enemy!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KW12987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to extend our most sincere apologies. Certainly it is indeed with great regret that we have learnt that we were not able to reach your expectations with our room service. Please take note that we really appreciate your recommendations which we have addressed to our Managers and relevant departments heads to improve this service.

Again thank you so much for your communication and we sincerly hope that this issue does not tarnish your perception of our Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts.

Best Regards,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
52.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
39.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,601 reviews
65.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
35.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $155 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing