We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
east sussex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“what a disappointment”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

From the dirty room to the mosquito's it has and still is a disappointment. The room was dirty on arrival with stale milk in the fridge. The shower head fell off the holder (glued together) and there was no plug in the basin. After three days we moved room. Just as well because when we went back to pack apparently the room had been flooded by the faulty toilet. The only good thing we have found is the Jerk Chicken shack. 5 days in and so only another 9 days before we can come home. Beware of time share touts - they ring your room to ask if everything is okay and then ask you to collect welcome gift. It takes 2 hours to collect your gift apparently.

Redeeming feature for Thomson - Godfrey

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidaymaker35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest,

We really regret that we could not reach your expectations during your stay with us, however we really appreciate your suggestions and your opinion to evaluate our perfomormance and improve our facilities and services. Please kinldy note that all your comments wil be taken in consideration by our department heads.

We sincerelly hope your could give us an opprotunity to can host you in your next visit to Jamaica.

Yours sincerelly,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,074
    3,504
    1,809
    852
    660
See reviews for
3,462
4,455
161
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I have to start by saying it was so great to see a face I knew from last year vacation from another resort when I checked in Alicia!!! My Best friend, and
I stayed from 9/21 to 9/27/ 12. Alicia was so pleasant and helpful during check in. Nice welcome drink on arrival. Room was big, clean, nice view, loved the room. Our housekeeper was great so pleasant. Room 23215. sorry forgot her name sweetheart. Food was great at buffet one complaint mashed potatoes for breakfast? Jerk Hut was Awesome made sure I went every day for lunch. Some cats not as many as I seen from other resort last year. Drinks great all staff service for me were great. You must Gran Bahia do something about roaches we saw about 6 total coming from the room front door. Please dont tell me its Tropical. I have friends there, and they have NO roaches in there home. I made sure we dumped our entire bag shook our things out to make sure we didn't bring them home with us. Overall Great place would come again. The 241 bad reviews those people should be going elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stasweet222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your positive reviews and specially regarding our staff, of course we will pass your good comments to our partner Mrs. Alicia. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciate the profesionalism of our staff.

On behalf of our General Manager and all our staff Members thank you much for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor and we hope to have the pleasure to host you again in then ear future.


Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thamesford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent a week at this resort due to a wedding we were attending. Unfortunately it was not a good time of year (the end of september) in which it rained every single day. The bad weather could have been tolerated if we were staying in a 4+ star resort but in my opinion I would only give this resort a 2 rating at best.
The food was terrible, the staff seemed really unhappy, and the elevator made me so nervous I started taking the stairs.
What surprised me the most that there was no pool service and you had to get your own drink.
Thankfully the wedding was beautiful and the was the reason we were there, but I would never return or recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blubirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Receive cordial greetings from Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor. We deeply regret that you were not satisfied with our services the last year, however it is pleasure for us to inform you that during this time, our Management and Staff Members we have been working very hard since the last year and we have reached already some improvements not only in our services but also in our facilities, like for example our staff kindness and level of service, which receive a lot of good comments and congrats from our guest, and all our elevators have been renovated. However we appreciate your suggestion regarding the bar service in the swimming pool area, that of course we will taken good note of it to be discussed with our department heads.

Please kindly note that raining season starts in Jamaica in September, actually it is very cloudy and it is raining right now, the lovely summer unfortunately is already gone....

In the name of our General Manager and all our staff Members we would like to thank you for vacationing with us and we sincerelly hope your perception of our Hotel does not tarnish with your last experience and you could give us the opportunity to host you again to recover yout trust on us.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This resort was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon. A couple of things to note if you stay here: the buffet lunch and dinner is hit or miss. We ate mostly at the snack bar for lunch (amazing jerk spread there!) and we just crossed our fingers if we had to go to the buffet at dinner. Sometimes it was great and sometimes it was terrible. The a la carte restaurants WERE AMAZING!!!!

The resort is huge and sometimes getting around is annoying because of the sheer vastness of the place, but it's not a deal breaker. For the money, this resort is excellent and the staff were truly wonderful. We loved everyone we met, they were incredible.

The weather was gorgeous and we went in the "off season" absolutely wonderfully hot and sunny.

I don't understand the negative experiences here we had a marvelous time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crinqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thenk you so much for taking your time to let us know your expereince and about all your suggestions regarding our meal services in our Buffet. We are very appreciative of these comments and we have been taken good note of the to address them inmediatlyto our departments heads to discuss this situation and look for the corrective measures. As you know, only through this kind of comunications we have the opportunity to evaluate and improve our facilities.

In the name of our General Manager and all our Staff Members we are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to host you again in the future.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I love this place. Me and my mother had a fantastic relaxing time. I really have no complaints. Plan on taking the kids back next year. Only thing I did not like was that the buffet was not open 24 hours.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verypleasevactioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear guest,

It is trully a pleasure for us to learn that you hada great time with us and you were satisfied with our services and facilities. Of course we will be more than happy and we are looking forward to can host you the next year with all your family.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I visited this hotel in June 2012 with my husband to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We had a great trip! The resort is beautiful, people were friendly and all the food was yummy. My problem with the trip started after I got home when I started having terrible stomach problems and was eventually diagnosed with an intestional parasite. It's terrible. I only ate or drank on the resort (except for one small sandwich at the airport that my husband and I shared--he's ok!). I did brush my teeth with the tap water so that might have been where I got it. I usually don't do this but I was assured by everyone that it was very safe! Anyway, enjoy the resort and have a wonderful trip but don't let the tap or shower water get in your mouth, and avoid things that may have been washed in tap water or look shady. I guess it's hard to know where I picked it up, so it's hard to avoid. Just wanted to let everyone know in case I could help someone avoid getting this (still fighting it three months later)>

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank allison0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Receive cordial greetings from Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica.


It is truly a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay and you wer very satisfied with our services and facilities, we are very appreciative of your comments and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share them with us.

However we deeply regret to learn that you had some stomach problems. Please kindly note that we work with a well establish health and safety company, Cristal, which is managed on a daily basis and ensures the maximum safety of our guests and employees. On all our monthly assessments, excellent results are received. Along with Cristal, we have our own health department which carries out daily assessments.

Our guests’ health and well-being are our top priorities. We work with established hygiene and sanitation standards, which are monitored continuously. Please kindly note that we did not find any record regarding a stomach problems during these days in our property.

According to Jamaican Public Health, it is recommend always keeping daily hands hygiene especially before eating because in our skin there is an organism that if it is ingested or on contact with food produces such stomach disorders.

On behalf of our General Manager and all ours Staff Members we would like to thank you for vacationing with us and we hope that for your next visit to Jamaica you could give us the opportunity to can host you again in our Resort.

Yours faithfully,


Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

my husband and i went to gbh first time for our 40th anniversary we have gone back 4 times since and we are both looking forward to going back for the 5th love love love the staff if u treat them with respect u will get it back 10 fold cant say enough about the buffet and the beautiful people that keep it running Wayne, Lamont to mention a couple both very very beautiful people Marlene at pices u go girl always a smile and a wonderful greeting havent had a bad room yet be back soon a Jacadian

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oldhippieflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear guest,

It is trully a pleasure to learn that you have been always satisfied with our facilities every time you visit us. Thanks you so much for your kind reviews and please do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any further request or information for your next visits.

Looking foward to host you again very soon..

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
39.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,429 reviews
52.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
65.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,437 reviews
35.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
5,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing