We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dickinson, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We celebrated our 25th anniversary here..
We could not recommend a more fabulous place to do this. As for romantic...yes! The food... phenomenal! The Jamaican people are beautiful inside and out and this staff was wonderful! They have the "preciousness of others" down to a "t"! The accommodations were beautiful although the sand was course. We will come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Nancy

It was our pleasure and delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort, and elited that you would highly recommend our resort. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,707
    797
    246
    66
    29
See reviews for
258
1,957
62
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
arlington, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Jamaican Vacation #7 was excellent. We were here at JPC from 7/3 - 7/11. The weather was gorgeous. The Hotel offers friendly staff and beautiful scenery plus tons of ammenities.

Pros -

No Beach Peddlers!! The resort has allowed a few vendors to sell in a designated area and they are all Very Nice and not pushy.

The main beach / cove is very pretty. Calm waters and very nice views of Runaway bay. There's also a private beach / cove at the east end of the resort that many patrons don't find until the end of their stay if ever at all. This is a nice touch because it's very relaxing and peaceful, quiet, etc. The snorkeling in this area is also good. We saw an octopus, puffer fish, eels, various small and large fish, crabs and the occasional barracuda!

The property is well maintained and pretty. This resort offers lush surroundings with the awesome Jamaican vibe. All three pools offer swim up bars and the small pool on the eastern side offers a grill with excellent food. All three pools have a large hot tub and for the most part, they are truly HOT!

The food throughout the property is good. Habachi and Italian were our favs but the buffet never disappointed. The omelets made to order in the mornings were the BEST! Be sure to TIP the cook here -

The A/C in our room was VERY efficient. We found ourselves adjusting it to blow LESS! The housekeeping was also very good. The staff overall was attentive to your needs and are always there for you.

There are ping pong tables, pool tables, too plus a coffee bar. Nice touch.

Cons -

The pool bars close at 6pm. At that point, the ONLY places to get a drink are at the main bar at the center of the resort or in the disco club. This is disappointing because the entire property is so gorgeous that you don't want to be confined to that one area in order to relax with your drink of choice.

There aren't many activities going on throughout the day but this could be either good or bad depending on your personality. If relaxation and peace and quiet is your desire, look no further. Many guests thought there should be more music pumped into the pool areas.

The free WiFi was not working for us at the north end/ beach side of the property.

That's about it!

If you bring your own glasses and buy your own bottle of Rum and your own beer at the gift shop, we've found this place to be the best out of anywhere in Ocho Rios or Runaway Bay.

Cheers!

Room Tip: Ground Floor, Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oahu777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review and letting us know of the pros and cons for your stay. We value our guest feedback and will use to enhance our product.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at the Jewel back in March 2014. We stayed for 6 nights, and it was an amazing time! Drinks were fantastic, never watered down. Food was delicious. We ate all of our breakfasts at the Coral Cafe, which always had a little something different each morning. I loved the omelette station - it went fairly quick considering there was always a line! We had a chance to eat at all of the restaurants. Jade Samurai was our favorite - it was entertaining and the food was delicious! Moonstone and Platinum had really great food as well. The service was a bit slow at Platinum, but it didn't really matter to us. Court Jesters pizza was also great for lunch or a late night snack. The staff were extremely friendly and always looking to help out or find ways to make our stay even better. Our favorite bartender was Oshane - he was great! Very entertaining and personable. The rooms were spacious and always kept clean. I highly recommend visiting Jewel Paradise Cove, we'll hopefully be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Michelle

Thanks for posting your review, of your stay from March, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know of the great time you had with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the resort in June, and overall really enjoyed the people and the property. However, we had 100 dollars cash stolen from the pocket of my purse. We told management and they did a report on it with the police. But we have not received any follow up info, and were told we would be emailed in regards to the issue. The management was also not apologetic or even tried to offer any compensation.

In conclusion, I would not stay at this property again due to the fact I did not feel that my personal items were safe in our own room. I encourage others to take caution in the future and make use of the safe at this property.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Chelsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Chelsey

Let me take this opprotunity to extend our apologies, and sorry about the alleged missing cash. The resort takes the safety and security of our guest and personal effects serious and as such, when the report of the alleged missing cash was filed, the police was called in. We are sorry that you felt that the hotel was not apologetic and did not compensate, but as the matter was in the hands of the police, and under investigation, we would be accepting liability of same and also will be interfering with an investigation. Again, we extend our apologise for the alleged unfortunate mishap as mentioned.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was my 5th trip to Jamaica & the 4th all-inclusive I've been too. We spent 5 days at this resort (July 7-11). It was just what we needed...rest & relaxation. From our experience, here's an honest review:
The bus ride is no issue - a little over an hour & our driver gave us a great tour / information session about all the interesting points along the way. Our group elected not to stop at the rest area on the way to the resort.
The check in process was PAINLESS. We were offered a cool towel & the Gem of the Day. Our room was not ready, so we strolled the resort, grabbed a quick bite to eat & upon our return our room was ready. George, our WONDERFUL bellman, gave us a tour of the resort and showed us to our room. We had a ocean view room. The view was grand. The bathroom was spacious, the bed was comfy, the A/C worked great, huge closet, mini-fridge that was stocked with water & soft drinks, plenty of towels. House-keeping did a wonderful job and our room was always tidy when we returned in the afternoons.
The food was plentiful and tasty. We ate at each of the restaurants except the pizza place. The wait staff was fantastic. Andrea at the Moonstone was top notch. All of the personnel at the buffet were polite & took excellent care of us. Rodney at the Jade was quite entertaining.
We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We returned to our room to find a special anniversary treat waiting for us. That was very special. We decided to have our photos taken by the staff photographer - Gerniel (aka Chinaman). He did a great job and our photos are lovely. Patrice in the photo office was most helpful and extremely sweet. The lovely ladies in the gift shop were so polite. Bishop, the fitness guru, was fun and I enjoyed our aquacise sessions each morning. The lifeguard staff / water sports staff were fun & I enjoyed the snorkeling trips. The entertainment group work so hard & they are a fun group - Dyce & Swagg.
The staff at the Jewel are GEMS!
The beaches are not like the beaches on the other side of the island, they are much smaller & more rocky. However, knowing that ahead of time - we were prepared. I missed strolling the beach but strolling throughout the lovely resort made up for it.
We would return to Jewel Paradise Cove in a HEARTBEAT!
Thank you for a wonderful (and memorable) 25th Anniversary trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Jennifer

It was our pleasure to have hosted you and delighted that you found a true jewel here at Paradise cove. We look forward to your return soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Surprised my husband with a week long vacation here. I can't say anything bad about our stay other than the occasional need to ask for towels. We felt like family at the end of our trip & would love to come back!! Pros: beach, volleyball net in pool, restaurants food, beds, trip to falls, updated rooms and staff. Cons: need for towels, increase in variety of restaurants...

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingcouple149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure and delighted that your surprise trip to your husband was an amazing trip, we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from here after a 2 week holiday. We had the most amazing holiday, and unusually for us, would go back to this place time and time again.
We have fairly high standards and I was a bit nervous of being All Inclusive as although I have never done it myself, friends etc have reported this quite restrictive in some places. We did not find this to be the case at all at Jewel. Quite the opposite. And there is so much covered by the All Inclusive - that was also very impressive. And as a bonus, unlike most other hotels - no stupid wrist band to be worn at all times!!
It is hard to know where to begin, so I will try and keep it brief. The resort itself is beautiful with immaculately kept gardens. The rooms had all we needed and were clean at all times. The choice of pools and beaches, as well as activities was great. The entertainment in the evenings was varied and in the main, great fun. The place was lively at all times, yet it was never hard to find a quiet place to relax. The atmosphere during the World Cup at the bars was also fun! Free wifi also brilliant and appreciated.
Above all else, however, the most important thing was just how friendly all the staff are. I have never been in a hotel or resort where they have always been so lovely. This really impressed us, and definitely contributed to us having such a fantastic time. They honestly could not have been more helpful. (with the exception of the lifeguard at the Emerald Pool - don't know his name, but he never smiled or uttered a word, and bordered on rude - sorry!).
We also appreciated the anniversary cake we had delivered to our room, as well as the cocktail party that was laid on for honeymooners and people celebrating their anniversaries - a lovely thought and really showed how much they want to look after their guests. Excellent customer service!

This was our first visit to Jamaica, but will not be our last (we'll stay at this hotel again too). A truly beautiful island with the most friendly laid back people ever! I love their attitude and outlook to things! We also booked the Port Antonio tour from the JTL people in the hotel at concierge - this was a brilliant trip that we enjoyed so much, and allowed us to see more of this beautiful island. Would definitely recommend it.

Cannot rate this place highly enough, we had one of the best holidays/vacations EVER here. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Lynne

It was our pleasure to have hosted and can't wait to host you again. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review and delighted that it was a brilliant and great stay with us. Thanks again for sharing.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
32.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
10.4 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
2.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
41.5 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: Paradise Cove Drive, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Green Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection By Hilton Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing