We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at Jewel Paradise Cove. The staff was outstanding, the grounds and accommodations were top notch. I know that others have complained about the food, but I found it very good and I consider myself a foodie. You are in another country and american's idea of excellent food I am sure is different from other countries. We enjoyed all our meals. It was nice to have some trips and activities included in the all inclusive. The beach staff (Dennis and Afro) was excellent and my daughter and I took advantage of the snorkeling and the scuba diving. Both were held to high standards. The only negative was that we could not stay another week!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank hanson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Althea G, Executive Administrative Assistant at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you and it was our pleasureto have hosted you and delighted that yo had a great time, and your vacation was excellent. Looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,733
    814
    247
    69
    30
See reviews for
263
1,993
63
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (881)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a six day stay at Paradise Cove in early March and our only regret was we couldn't stay longer! Despite being hard core "beach people" and knowing the resort had a small beach, we booked anyway when a travel deal surfaced. We were not disappointed! The included water activities are second to none- my husband even got to try water skiing, which was included! Sign up for a snorkel trip, the coral formations are beautiful. Even the water slide was fun. One note of caution- have people in your group watch to make sure others don't come down too quickly. One man who was drunk followed my friend too quickly and hit her at the bottom. Not cool. Perhaps the hotel needs to put a staff member at the top of the slide.

Our room was small, but clean and well appointed. Wifi does not work in building 3, but worked in the lobby area and on the beach. The front desk team worked to get us a room near our friends- much appreciated! The food was good overall. Like others, we waited 1.5 hours for pizza at lunch. It was very good, just go on a day when you are not in a rush. Overall we found the staff and service to be very good- much better than other all inclusives! Our only disappointment was trying to sign up for the sunset cruise, literally five minutes after we got there, to be told it was already booked solid. Errol followed up with us but there was not much he could do. In hindsight we should have gone to the dock and waited, taking spots from someone who didn't show up.

All in all it was a great vacation and we would gladly return again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank ALM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Althea G, Executive Administrative Assistant at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure to have hosted you and delighted that you had a great stay here at Jewel Paradise Cove, and thanks for bringing to our attention your observation, with regards to the incident at the waterslide, and extend our apologise. I am happy that overall you had a great vacation and looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at the resort Feb 10-18. It was a wonderful, relaxing, quaint, clean resort.
The room: was a little smaller than other resorts we have been to. It was very clean - always. The bed was comfortable and it had a nice walk-in closet and large bathroom. The bathroom was really nice but there was a window with no covering in the shower, which was odd.
The employees: were the best! From meeting George at the entrance, to Lady Barbie in the evening, Claudia at the buffet, everyone was SO friendly!
The entertainment: we enjoyed greatly and we usually don't. It had a nice mix of music and shows so you didn't get bored. The band was very enjoyable.
The food: was excellent. The buffet had a different theme every night and never got boring. The Italian was really good and the pizza was great, although it was not quick. We loved getting fries or chips any time we were looking for a snack. The Jade Samurai was good, but a little salty. Platinum was incredible! The portion sizes were small but over the course of the evening, you were full. Best food we have had at a resort.
The pools: were incredible. All three were so large with nice whirlpools - they were never full!
The beaches: were the downfall. I read they were small but assumed (wrong) that they were connected to other beaches. The main beach was crowded and hard to find a lounge chair as most had towels on them at all times. There was a small second beach that we called "the quiet beach" which we spent more time at. It was more shaded but we didn't mind.
We loved the hammocks and how clean everything was. Also, they provided so many opportunities for water sports and excursions! Calling it a health resort is a stretch - hardly ever saw someone actually exercising. The smoothies weren't very good. We do not drink alcohol and there were not a lot of choices for us. We did love being at an adults only resort! The resort is small, which we liked and we could easily find each other in minutes. We would go back again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Althea G, Executive Adminstrative Assistant at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mellisa

It's great to know that you had a taste of paradise and thoroughly enjoyed all that we had to offer. It was our esteem pleasure and looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Executive Adminstrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We just returned from a week here (Mar 7-14 2014) and I cannot say enough good things about this resort!! We were a group of 10, and we all agreed it was by far the best all-inclusive vacation we've ever taken! Believe the good reviews!! The resort itself is small but well laid out, everything is well-maintained and very clean. The food is amazing - I usually don't care for resort food, but the food here was simply excellent! The included water activities and excursions put this trip over the top - if you add in all the included extras, this trip is really affordable.
However, like almost everyone else who has posted a review, I found it was the staff who really made this trip as enjoyable as it was. I've never been to a resort where the staff were so friendly and helpful, and provided such excellent service! A special shout out to Casey, as well as Orlando and Brett-Lee - we were certainly never thirsty thanks to you! Marvin, Denyse, and Crazy in water sports - you guys are phenomenal, thanks for all the awesome water activities!! Barbie, Swagg, Dmitri, and Dyce from the entertainment crew, thanks for keeping us entertained and laughing all week! I'm sure I'm forgetting people, my apologies, but I have to say that every interaction we had with anyone working at the resort was friendly and enjoyable. What a pleasure!! This place really is paradise, and I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LLCoolDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Althea G, Executive Adminstrative Assistant at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you and it was our esteem pleasure to have hosted you and delighted that you had a great time, and cannot wait to return in a heart beat, we also are looking forward to hosting you again.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Executive Adminstrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I were there from March 8 through the 15, our arrival coincided with many other peoples' arrival so we had to wait a little while for our room and as we like to get our luggage sorted out and then head to the grounds, that was a little turn off. They did the best they could and Brett-Lee helped push it along a little, thanks!

The resort is very clean, as was our room, you can always find an employee cleaning and doing something on the grounds to make it look nice. If you see a very little lady called Bridget you can joke with her that her cleaning cart is heavier than she is and get quite a smile out of her, great personality she was always around, even joked with her that she never went home. Every time I saw her througout the day I would wave at her from anywhere and always got the biggest smile from her no matter what time of the day or evening it was!

Food in all "a la carte restaurant" is very good. The white glove service at the Platinum is a nice touch, no reservation needed. Chef Roy at the Jade was excellent and made our dinner very entertaining.

The bars as other have mentioned are sometimes a little overwelmed by the number of drinks they have to do but they do the best to accomodate your special requirements.

The gym equipment may not be state of the art but they work perfectly well, no complaints here!

Most days chairs and towels were plentiful, no complaints here either!

In the swimming area near the larger beach, if you had your own snorkling stuff you could see a lot of fish and even a family of squidd (counted 8) in less than 3 feet of what, that was very cool, it was very hard to pull myself out of the water!

They have an extra lock on the door which prevents employees from simply barging in, I had brought a Do Not Disturb sign with me (just in case) but when we got there we found that the rooms were now equipped with one so they do read the comments and try to adjust.

All and all a very nice resort!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Althea G, Executive Adminstrative Assistant at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Johanne

Thank you taking the time to let us know of the great experinence you had and for mentioning the staff that made your vacation the experience what it was. It was our pleasure and hope to host you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson
Executive Adminstrative Assitant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just returned from two weeks at the Jewel. Our first impression of the Jewel was how clean and well maintained it was (could be because it has just undergone a major refurb). The second thing that struck us was the polite, happy, caring and well trained staff. A special mention for Colin on reception and Patrick on the coffee bar (and every where else).
The accomodation is pretty standard but well maintained. A little noisy at times due to the pool volleyball in the centre of the accomodation block (although this does stop at 6pm ish).
We found the food of a very good standard but somewhat repetitive. The buffet is mainly Jamaican food and two other restaurants serve Italian and "Japanese".
The beach is lovely although a bit small. The good thing about it is as it is private beach, you don't get hasseled by the usual "hawkers".
Entertainment in the evening is the usual, steel band, singers, talent contest etc. Although this is great for the first time visitors to Jamaica, we found it a bit too much (we have been to Ja 12 times before and I actually grew up there).
We spent two weeks here (with a 2 day break in the middle to visit relatives) and found that the resort is a little too small for a two week stay. Ideally it is suitable for a 7 day stay (which is ideal for the American and Canadian visitors who only have a 4 hour flight).
Our only real criticism of the place is the lack of "relaxed" seating areas in the evening. Once dinner is over there is a main bar area with minimal seating. Unfortuantely there is a lovely bar above the Italian restaurant (closes at 10pm!!!!) which has the most uncomfortable seating we have ever sat on. This could be turned into a fabulous "quiet" cosy area.
To summarise, this is a good resort made very special by the attentive staff. Well done one and all.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalypso22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaineG, Manager at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to give your feedback, of areas that we could use otherwise. As a management team, we take our guest feedback in a postive manner and use to try and enhance our product. Hoping to host you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I were at the resort for 1 week in Feb. 2014 for our 20th wedding anniversary. We had never been to Jamaica so we did not know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised! The resort was very clean and beautiful. We took walks around the resort path almost every morning. The 2 beaches were nice, one is quite and secluded the other is a bit larger and by the volley court and activities. We never had an issue finding a quite place to relax.
The staff was AMAZING!!!! Shaneil at the front desk made our stay extra special, thank you!!!!
Casey down by the beach made sure we were never thirsty!! :) And Barbie kept the excitement going from morning until late at night! I could go on and on.....
We had a couples massage at the spa while there. The spa was very nice, clean and well worth it!!! The girls were awesome :)
My only recommendation would be to bring along water shoes for going out into the water. there is quit a bit of coral and rocks, my husband stepped on a sea urchin while walking around. The plus side to the coral is if you bring your own mask and snorkel you can see lots of fish right off the beach. If not the snorkel trip was GREAT! A must do and free at the resort.
The piano bar was a cool touch, we had so much fun signing the night away!
This a perfect resort for the people who want a nice relaxing adult vacation. The average age while we were there was close to ours mid 40's which was perfect.
We will be back if we get the opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lta35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaineG, Manager at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Delighted to know that your vacation was indeed a memorable one, and that the staff took care of you. It was our pleasure and happy that you enjoyed all that we had to offer. Hope to host you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
32.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
10.4 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
2.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
41.5 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: Paradise Cove Drive, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Green Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection By Hilton Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing