We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,059)
Filter reviews
4,059 results
Traveler rating
2,073
1,055
478
254
199
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,073
1,055
478
254
199
Show reviews that mention
All reviews don pablo las olas jazmin buffet room service lobby bar brazilian restaurant jerk chicken butler service a la carte restaurants garden grill premium drinks adults only section dinner reservations dolce vita ocean view turn down service pool side
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 4,059 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our 4th stay at a Gran Bahai and we were surprised by the lack of service for luxury resort.

We had a good time. Its not what we would have expected for a luxury resort. Our last visit was completely different. I would not recommend it. The Bahai in Dominican is much better than this one in Jamaica. 

We were given rooms that overlooked people's homes and a garbage/dump area. They couldn't accommodate a move until 3rd day when they offered ground level rooms which I didn't want because of bugs. They told us the upper floors were for higher paying customers and not available to us. So we stayed where we were on 4th floor overlooking the mess with ocean view in distance to the side. Also we had hardly any air conditioning in our room and it never got cool the whole time we were there. 

They provided a flask of rum and flask of vodka in our room when we checked in and we were told it would not be replaced because we only get it once on check in. Thought that was weird. If we wanted a drink in our room it wasn't an option. 

The staff were not very friendly and seemed disgruntled. We spoke to a customer service rep by the pool and she explained to us that the resort was under new ownership for about a year and employees are not happy anymore. Even around the pool it took forever to get a drink and we were tipping but they didn't even care. It really showed how unhappy they are. 

Our room was not cleaned for 2 days and I had to call. Another day we had no toilet paper. Had to call. Another day no coffee when we woke up. Just things you would expect for luxury. 

The buffett restaurant in our area - Los Olas was undergoing renovations to make it bigger and they had a green screen separating customers from workers and as soon as breakfast and dinner would start, the guys doing renovations would start jack hammering. We left each time. We spoke to manager and said they really should close it or jack hammer between meals or when meals are finished. 

The pool on our side had so many tiles missing that you were stepping on loose tiles constantly and people would lay them on side of pool.

The elevator in our end of building did not work the whole time and we had to walk up and down 4 flights of stairs each time or walk to other end of complex to find elevator. 

So overall we made it a good holiday and tried to ignore the little things but I certainly would not go back to this one. 

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
4  Thank valster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to improve the quality service at our hotel.

I am happy to know that you chose us for your stay, while on vacation at our beautiful resort. However, it is a pity that we have not exceeded your expectations; please accept our sincere apologies, as it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years.

Please rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the head of the relevant departments, so they can take the necessary corrective and preventive actions. We appreciate the comments and suggestions of each and everyone of our guests, we see them as opportunities to continue working towards improving our product, quality and services.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future to experience our new services.

Best Regards,

Sabrina Walters
Online Reputation Coordinator
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent a week here on vacation with a longtime friend of mine. This ii my second trip to the Bahia Principe Runaway Bay. Last year I stayed on the Grand side and this year decided to try the Luxury side. This is the first time in all my travels, and I travel a lot, that I went back to the same resort twice.

The only issue we had when we arrived is we were given a room with a king bed rather than 2 doubles. As this is considered a "couple's" resort there are only a small selection of rooms with double beds, and there was a huge conference going on the exact same week. However, the staff at the reception were fantastic and were able to give us a room with 2 beds on day 2.

The staff at this resort are amazing. It was one of my main reason for coming back again this year. Calvin, Carlyle and Ruth, who were at the swim up bar all week, were the best! Owen the omelette man, was great.

We tried several of the restaurants, and they were good. The salmon is really good at all of them. I highly recommend it. I don;t eat steak myself but my friend had it at a few of the restaurants and loved it.

If you are looking for long white sandy beaches to walk endlessly on, this is not the place. The beach is small (man-made), and the water shallow, but it is still a great place to relax in the sun. Although we spent much of our time at the pool.We didn't want to miss out on the fun and laughs there.

Date of stay: April 2019
2  Thank MelonyBoutilier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to improve the quality service at our hotel.

I am happy to know that you chose us for your stay, while on vacation at our beautiful resort. However, it is a pity that we have not exceeded your expectations; please accept our sincere apologies, as it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years.

Please rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the head of the relevant departments, so they can take the necessary corrective and preventive actions. We appreciate the comments and suggestions of each and everyone of our guests, we see them as opportunities to continue working towards improving our product, quality and services.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future to experience our new services.

Best Regards,

Sabrina Walters
Online Reputation Coordinator
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great vacation! we really loved it. Scuba - Diving 6 dives very nice; great Masterdivers (Ghandi and Hydro) - Horse back riding on the beach and in the sea!
We loved there food, great service, nice pools, lots of activities. Very good restaurants, excellent service, and great and tasty food. Great room service. Nice and clean rooms. The cleaning lady was very prudently.

Recommend this place to everybody!

Room tip: book 4,5 or 6 floor. ocean view - all there rooms are great, lot's of space!
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests.

May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island.


Kind Regards,

Sabrina Walters
Online Reputation Coordinator
Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to try a big box type vacation spot, just too see if we where missing anything...

I can only compare it to the smaller resorts I have been too

So here goes.
Over all feel.. it was huge!
Food and restaurants.. buffet was nothing to write home about. But the Al la carte was good!
Pools and beach.. the pools where divided into sections.. party, quite and even quieter. The beach was present( meaning there is a beach) and it was man made shollows.
Staff.. not enough of them and where happy to see you.

We just found we liked smaller resorts is all.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank R4737RMtomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to improve the quality service at our hotel.

I am happy to know that you chose us for your stay, while on vacation at our beautiful resort. However, it is a pity that we have not exceeded your expectations; please accept our sincere apologies, as it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years.

Please rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the head of the relevant departments, so they can take the necessary corrective and preventive actions. We appreciate the comments and suggestions of each and everyone of our guests, we see them as opportunities to continue working towards improving our product, quality and services.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future to experience our new services.

Best Regards,

Sabrina Walters
Online Reputation Coordinator
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Looking for a hot shower? Not here. Three days straight, still no hot water. "Luxury" Bahia? I think not. #Room26223.

Even paid extra for a room upgrade while at the hotel (still here). Wish I had not. Hot water pump broken, help #TheHomeDepot.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Rob8965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality at the hotel.

We apologies for your expectations not being met at this time, it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years.

All your observations have been forwarded to the Management of the resort as the guests satisfaction is our priority and rest assured we will be constantly striving to the excellence in our services.


Best Regards,
Sabrina Walters
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews