We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Property in Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Property in Jamaica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The property is stunningly beautiful and expertly maintained. Everything is super clean. We stayed in the Don Pablo Collection section of the resort. It is definitely the better choice than the main resort. You have your own pool section which is quiet and peaceful, a nice bar with waitresses and waiters constantly making the rounds with drinks. There is a super energetic water aerobics/yoga/tai chi instructor named Damian. A more pleasant, fun person you'll never meet. We had our own reception area with a quiet little bar and light snacks throughout the day and our own breakfast and lunch area to get away from the crazy crowds in the main buffet. Our hostess at the private Palmyra restaurant was Sasha and she was always helpful for anything we wanted. One bug to the property is that unless you agree to take a sales tour regarding buying a timeshare, these amenities are not pointed out. It took us three days to figure out all the extra things we were entitled to. The sales girls dogged you every time you went through the lobby which I did not like. The evening entertainment on the deck was always pleasant, and our lovely waitress Natrice always looked after us with special care. We stayed 10 days and it was very enjoyable. The property is enormous and looks quite like the Grand Floridian in Disney only on a much bigger scale. Must stay in Don Pablo Collection, much nicer rooms, amenities and far away from the foam party crowd.

Room Tip: Ocean front, up high in Don Pablo Collection
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Quality Deparment at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear guest:

We appreciate your comment in Trip Advisor and that you enjoyed exceptional vacations in our property Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection in Jamaica.
We have felt privileged to have been able to host you as a special guest. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the best service in our pool and restaurant and thank you for choosing to share your opinion of our service.

Kind regards,

Olayensys Palmore
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    541
    230
    124
    88
See reviews for
291
1,313
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nb
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We were at LBP runaway bay the first week of april. (80%canadians) What a wonderful week! First time in Jamaica after visiting cuba,DR and Mexico; 6 of us age range 35-45. Temperature was very hot and nice even at night time(no sweater here).We were in block 23 on the 6th which I would highly recommend (very nice ocean view). Room was clean and good air conditioning.Block 24 is a bit further away. Restaurants-all good(did not try italian), our favorites were Picasso-1 , Don Pablo-2 and Mikado-3. We emailed before hand for our reservations at restaurants and they were all granted. Best bar for drinks is by the DP pool. We mostly stayed at the beach in our nice little reserved area. The beach is ok not as soft as cuba. No beach volley ball area (court is as hard as ciment). Good snorkeling by the wedding gazebo. Overall-we had a fantastic week and would definetly recommend the Don Pablo section of the GBahia RunawayBay. It is worth the little extra money for the good service and access to restaurants.
Hope you guys have a great vacation like we did!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank beachlovernb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to acknowledge that we have received your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your holidays at our Resort.
On behalf of our General Manager and all our Staff Members we thank you again for your remarks and we look forward to host you in our property in the near future.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

My sister and I had a wonderful vacation here ......check in was a little delayed in having a clean room but once there it was great. The Luxury Bahia is not a separate resort but a quiet building with private pool and lounge. The Picasso Restaurant was lovely for breakfast each morning and the hostess, Yaneish was so welcoming and sweet. Our waiter, Alwayne "Sugar Daddy", Richard, Gavin, Damion and Koolian were a great team!

Some of the restaurants you will see children dining so it is not an adult only resort. It is a part of Grand Bahia with more amenities and dinner reservations, private check in, upscale bar service and private pool.

The evening was like having private concerts relaxing on the white love seats and chairs under the stars with bar right there. Loved the yoga and stretching - he was fabulous with people - sorry forgot to write down his name, Jermain? The beach was far but worth the walk - loved the calm, clear water. The jerk chicken is amazing and you need to try that. Overall the place is great in the Luxury side if you want to relax quietly, read by the pool and have people wait on you! The butler service staff missed a few things, requested towels or more glasses and they never came back. But .....no worries the surroundings are SO BEAUTIFUL. The entertainment schedule and dinner reservations made it hard to catch a lot of the shows or music. But top notch! I would recommend this resort ...........the staff really cared and went out of their way to make sure you were happy!!!! Ya Mon.........one love.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear guest,


Certainly your satisfaction is our best award. We are very happy to learn that once again we achieved our goal.
Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any further assistance or requirements for you next visit to our Resort always your home in Jamaica.

Best regards,

Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Just came back and wanted to give my review. The hotel is gorgeous. We stayed in the Don Pablo section, which was well worth it. I don't think I would have stayed in the other side of the hotel...I found the staff to be friendly and accommodating, but ad far as butler service, although our butler was kind, we only saw her 2 times. Night turn down service wad nice, but felt we had to tip....we tipped everyone everyday. When you tip, although no one ask, the staff tries to go out of their way.
Cons- I'm a beach person..I didn't really like the fact that the beach was a 8 minute walk each day. My mate is from Jamaica, and with 7 different restaurant's to choose from we were in Jamaica snd could not get Jamaican food. There isn't a mini bar in the room, you have to rely on your butler to stock your room. After two request for certain things, and did not get, wr gave up.
Pros- hotel is massive and the grounds are beautiful. I like the fact that they separate the two- family and adults only. There are so many bars, I lost count♡ 7 different restaurant's to chose from. The absolute best, The jerk chicken near the beach....I made sure I visited there 4 out of my five days.....Staff is very friendly.

Overall, we a a nice stay. We met lovely people from all over, mostly Canada. This trip served it's purpose. .....we went to fo nothing except rest & relax amd that's exactly what we did.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2travel4reel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to acknowledge that we have received your kind review regarding your stay with us. We are very satisfied to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and really appreciate your recommendations you have done to our operation. We can assure you that they will be taken into consideration.

Thank you again and we look forward to host you in our property in the near future.


Best Regards,

Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was our fourth trip to Jamaica, the first being to Sandals Beaches resort in Negril, the second to Couples Tower Isle Ocho Rios and the third to Braco Trelawny (last minute deal). I would rate the hotel, cleanliness, friendliness, food and the room accomodations on par to both Beaches and Couples. The staff were so friendly, and went out of their way to smile, and make you smile!! I just felt comfortable from the moment I arrived. The Don Pablo section is very nice, makes it a little quieter around the pool area. I agree with the other reviews about the reserving of the cabanas and chairs though. There should be some sort of policy, many cabanas had towels on them throughout the day with no one there??

The staff at the Don Pablo pool bar were awesome, the evening entertainment at the pool bar area was awesome and fun, and the disco and karaoke were a blast, thanks to the great people that we met while there!!!

We had absolutely no problem with air conditioning in our room, or in any of the restaurants, and we were there during 38c weather, March 26-30th.

My only issue that I had with this resort was the shuttle service to the hotel. We arrived at the airport at 12:45pm, and yet did not arrive at the hotel until 4pm, due to sitting at the airport for over an hour on the shuttle waiting for it to be full?? Then when we arrived at the hotel we were taken to a room for check in, by this time many were tired, hot and hungry, so we asked if we could just get our key without having the "introduction" to the hotel. I think that when paying the extra for the "Don Pablo" section, it would be a great idea to offer a separate shuttle, or even be given the option to upgrade to a private transfer for a nominal fee?? Then the check in needs to be expedited - a nice idea would be to have the check in completed on the hour long transfer to the hotel!!

We have never travelled to the same resort twice, but I would actually consider returning to this hotel - would do a private airport transfer though, unless they sort out the shuttle issue!!

I hope to "Soon come back"!!!

Room Tip: Building 24 faces the garden, but is apparently newer. When booking request a king room, or it seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tabatha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very proud to learn that you experience with our Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection in Jamaica has been one of the best vacations and you enjoyed yours stay with your family and friends.

Thank you so much again for choosing Bahia Principe as your holiday Resort and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Passage, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have traveled to many resorts in Dominican, Cuba and Mexico and just returned from Luxury Bahia Principe on the 4th of April 2014. This resort was better than most others we stayed but did fall short for a 5 star. We were very well received and we found the staff very accommodating. We were first given a room with two smaller beds just like most of the people we spoke to on the DP side. The following day we were moved to the older part, building 23, in a smaller room with a king bed but a better view. The air conditioning was not working well at all in this room. We tried to cope for two days but decided to report the problem and it was fixed that day. We also reported a broken toilet seat a couple of times which did not get fixed during our stay. We found that the air conditioning was terrible in most al la carte restaurants and in all the common rooms. It was 31 degrees C outside with the humidex moving the temperature up to 41 so sometimes a relief from the heat would have been nice. One evening we went to the piano bar beside the main lobby for a drink and it was considerably hotter in there than outside. We found the food at this resort better than all the others and the DP staff were very friendly. The DP pool was nice and the drinks were steady. We did notice an older body building couple that took people's cabanas two days in a row until security stopped them. I think that should have been handled differently.
I snorkled every day all around the wedding gazebo and saw many colorful fish. I also saw a 3 foot eel, 2 foot barracuda, many squid... I am an early riser so I took my fishing rod and fished the same area. Get some raw shrimp or squid from the kitchen and fishing after dark is key. The beach around the wedding gazebo is very pebbly and difficult to walk on with bare feet. This is the closer beach. The main beach is a good walk away but quite nice. There is a corded off DP section but bar service is poor because the nearest bar is used by everyone.
Most excursions offered were so similar to other vacations that we decided to only go out one day. We hired a cab recommended by "shorty". His name was Kevin and it turned out to be a wonderful day. Just write down all the sites you want to do then let Kevin know. He will try to fit everything in for you and it works out to be a lot cheaper than the package deals the resort offers you. It is also much more comfortable and there is no fear about leaving your stuff in the cab while climbing the falls for example.
Overall we had a wonderful time and loved Jamaica. We will definitely visit this beautiful island again but would probably not stay at this resort. The biggest draw back for us was the lack of air conditioning everywhere.

Room Tip: We were in both buildings offered to DP guests. Building 23 has a better view but the rooms are smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very happy to learn that you had a wonderfull time and we would like also to express our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you could experience during your stay. Please give to us an opportunity to host you again in your next visit to this little bit of paradise, here in Jamaica.

Yours sincerely,

Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is our first time at this resort but we have stayed at both the Sandals Royal Plantation and the Secrets in Montego Bay. Both of these resorts are 5 star. The Grand Bahia hotel is huge but has a lot of great amenities to go along with its size. My wife and I enjoy the smaller resorts but since the Don Pablo section is at the East side of the building and has it's own pool area it did feel quaint. Our room was in building 23 on the second floor at the end of the building. This spot was perfect. The only issues we had at this resort was the lack of proper air conditioning both in the room as well as the restaurants. I know Jamaica is really hot (42 degrees with the humidity) but this is no excuse for poor HVAC services. In the room this made everything damp and it was at times a bit hard to get to sleep. We also found that the housekeeping services especially in the evening were inconsistent and the amenities, ie towels were not very good for a high end resort. Anyway that aside we enjoyed the beach and pool area as well as the Food, which always seems better in Jamaica than Cuba, Mexico or the Dominican, which we have been to on many trips.

If I have to share any complaints it would be people hogging the pool chairs. I thought I would be crafty one morning and headed out at 7 am to discover every chair had a towel on it. One suggestion to the management is to do like Sandals and have a 30 minute time limit on reserving these loungers. If you are not sitting in your chair for over 30 minutes guess what, you lose it .I know that people put their towels on the chairs in the morning and then head to the beach and probably hog the chairs down there and then head back up to the pool area after lunch.

I found all of the staff very nice and especially in the Palmyra and the Picasso which are Don Pablo guests only. Both Damion and Alex always had a big friendly manner about them. I would also like to give Kudos to the servers at the Don Pablo beach bar.

Room Tip: These people don't make a lot of money and a tip is appreciated and really goes a long way. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear guest,

We sincerly appreciate your suggestions that have been already addressed to our Management. Thank you for your recommendations to assist in our effort to improve daily.

Looking forward to hosting you in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Helena Gomez
Luxury Runaway Bay Bahia Principe Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
52.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
33.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
39.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,179 reviews
17.2 mi away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#15 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Address: Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (20% discount on some treatments) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) 2 main restaurants 5 speciality restaurants 5 Bars 1 Snack bar Exclusive terrace bar serving Premium drinks Private check-in/out Late check-out subject to availability 18 hole golf course. Pueblo Principe: stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 70 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: Four poster king size bed or 2 full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting are with sofa Balcony or terrace with sea view Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower, hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathro be and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Ironing set Beach towels in rooms 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms (available on request) Evening turndown service Pillow menu Safe (no additional charge) Internet and international newspapers and magazines in the Club House WiFi (additional charge) Aroma menu Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only): The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing