We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“It was alright”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the GBP Don Pablo Section. Staff in the office lounge area are really friendly and helpful, and staff at the Don Pablo pool were great! We had a few minor complaints throughout out our stay that were reoccuring so we finally decided to bring it up with Management. Once we discussed it with them they took care of it right away and made up for it. The rooms were large, clean with nice view of the ocean and pool. Food was good.. though service sometimes was slow . We'd finish our meal before our drinks were even brought to us (this only happened in the Don Palbo only breakfast buffet),. As others have said, I feel there isn't enough staff for the size of the resort. Overall, we made th best of our stay... but we won't be returning anytime soon. I think the Don Pablo section has some kinks they need to work out especially if they plan on charging more than what they already do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d0uluvme49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind note.

We appreciate to know that you have enjoyed overall your vacation with our hotel and you liked the spacious room, its cleanliness, view, the Don Pablo lounge staff and you have found the food was good. We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have had and at the same time it is good to know that the issues have been resolved to your satisfaction.

We are always engaged in a continuous improvement of our services, it is for that reason that we hope you will not hesitate to stay with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,220
    607
    259
    135
    103
See reviews for
320
1,444
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (877)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just got back from this amazing trip. It was our first time in Jamaica and surely not the last. The resort was very clean, the rooms were large and clean, maid service was spectacular, the food was great, but best of all were the people that work there. Starting from the front desk and ending with the cab drivers. The friendly, personal atmosphere was like none that we have come across before at any other resort. Special thanks to Grant (Leroy) he was amazingly attentive and friendly, it really felt like we knew him for years. Overall, we were extremely happy with the experience and cant wait to come back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugene p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Eugene,

We truly value your encouraging note. It is rewarding to learn that we have been able to fulfill all of your expectations, specially with the room, housekeeping services and food. We thank you for your recognition to our staff; it was a pleasure for us to serve you.

As well as you have decided to return, we cannot wait to host you again to welcome you to our hotel, making sure to provide you once again an amazing vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at the GBP DON PABLO SECTION in May for one week ,very enjoyable ,wonderful staff , great food .excellent service ,beautifully appointed rooms, well kept grounds .Special mention to all the staff but do want to recognise the foll, Lorraine B ,Grant,Marvalyn,,Donnett,Juan,,Cordell,Petaguy,Deon,Sanita, Shenaca,Shaniece,Kayann ,Fran and family as well as GM R.Esteban .
Overall a great experience

Room Tip: Stayed in Room in 24 area was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vass155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind note. It is grateful to learn that you have enjoyed your stay to the full. Thank you for mentioning the names of our staff members that made your holiday even more enjoyable. We will make sure to transmit them your appreciation.

On behalf of our General manager and staff; thank you for choosing our Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection. We will be more than happy to host you again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is a nice resort but really big. I believe they do not have enough staff for everything. My mini bar was only re-stocked twice the whole week. It is clean and the staff is friendly. |Little disappointed in the beach, lots of weed, rock and shallow. It was overall a good place but I do not think I would return.

Room Tip: Rooms near the West side of the pool, you will hear all the drunks, and there is alot of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Mike,

We appreciate you have shared your note with us. Thank you for letting us know that you have liked the cleanliness and the friendly staff. We are overwhelmed to read that you have left our property not totally happy. We wholeheartedly apologize for all the inconveniences you have mentioned.

It is with regret that we read you wouldn't return. However, we sincerely hope that you would reconsider to grant us with another opportunity to host you back for a second stay and make sure it will be nothing else but an amazing experience.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Gran Bahia and have to say it was good. The rooms are nice and the food is excellent. The pool is large and can get quite loud. Great - if you want that, which it seemed a lot of people did. We upgraded to Dan Pablo which gave your own section of the pool, unlimited a la carte restaurants, poolside service and more importantly - premium brand drinks. You have to say though that the service is Jamaican style. Everything is 'no problem man' but that doesn't mean they are going to jump on a problem and fix it that's for sure. All the staff were pleasant, except one, so just avoid that one. There are plenty of other willing helpers. We will definitely be going back. Ideally located for Dunns River falls, which is a must. Go with Cool Runnings on a catamaran with the booze cruise party on the way back. Party time!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Tony,

We appreciate your review. It is grateful to learn that you enjoyed the room, food, pool and overall the services provided and the staff. Though, we also apologize for the inconveniences you have pointed out. We assure you that we count on the natural hospitality and friendliness of the Jamaican people and on the training provided by our Quality Department to impress our guests. We appreciate your observations as a valuable reference point to continue refining our services.

We are thrilled to know that you have decided to return to us; we look forward for the opportunity to host you once again and make sure to provide you with an amazing vacation.


Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Overall, this was a wonderful experience for my wife and I. This trip was a gift my wife and I gave to each other in celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. It also just happened to be my wife's birthday for the first day of our stay. I had mentioned it to the staff in the Don Pablo lounge when we checked in, and when my wife & I returned from dinner that first night, we were overwhelmed with how the room had been decorated with lit candles, balloons, rose pedals, and a bubble bath that had been prepared for my wife to enjoy. In addition, they left us a bottle of iced down champagne with two glasses. This was extremely thoughtful and wonderfully overwhelming!!

The resort is beautiful. I understand it is only 5 years old, so it is in extremely good shape. The landscaping and gardens are kept up beautifully! You can't go wrong with the half dozen restaurants. The Dolce italian restaurant was our favorite. Set right on the water, the view is breathtaking! We were able to take in the unbelievable sunset, which I took many pictures of, and also played photographer for a number of other couples.

We stayed in Bldg 24, which is one of the newest additions and part of the Don Pablo collection. We highly suggest you request this location with an upper floor (ours was on the 5th floor, room 24501). We had a corner unit, so we were able to view our pool, the gardens, ocean, and mountains.

The beach area is a little walk because it is to the opposite side of the resort from where we were, but not too awfully bad. There is separate location for the Don Pablo guests, but we preferred to walk down to near the very end of the beach, where there were trees to lay under or just enjoy the sun. This area was breezier, too, which was nice. This location also had a restroom, plus a small bar hut serving up any type of drink you wanted.

This resort was truly paradise, and we would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Building 24 is newest addition, and part of Don Pablo collection. Corner room on the 5th floor gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Kurt,

Congratulations for your 25th Anniversary. We appreciate that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate such an important date.

Thank you for providing us with the warm account of your experiences. We are delighted to know that we have been able to surprise you with unexpected details; you liked your room and its location which allowed you to have perfect views of the surroundings. We are glad to read that you have also loved the food, especially at the Italian restaurant where you enjoyed the cuisine and the sunsets.

It is motivating to our entire team when we see reviews like yours. It was an honor to be able to serve you; we are already looking forward to host you on your upcoming vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

during our stay at the bahia we found that the don pablo was well worth the extra cost.it provided all the extras of a private club as a home away from home.the ladies there were really great and went beyond the call of duty.Lorraine, the manager was on the beach each day,seeing all were happy and helped organize a birthday party with more than we could done ourselves.Petagay,too,was good.They were the bright point of our stay.
Otherwise,the Bahia could use a new executive chef.
Simon K
Alla R

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Simon,

We value your note about your stay with us. It is rewarding to know that you enjoyed the amenities and overall the services provided by the accommodating staff that made you feel in your home away from home. We sincerely regret we couldn't impress you with our chef and we wholeheartedly apologize for any inconvenience you may have had.

We sincerely hope that this situation will not tarnish your overall perception of your stay and you will grant yet us another opportunity to host you and provide an amazing vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
52.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
39.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.3 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
39.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Address: Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (20% discount on some treatments) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) 2 main restaurants 5 speciality restaurants 5 Bars 1 Snack bar Exclusive terrace bar serving Premium drinks Private check-in/out Late check-out subject to availability 18 hole golf course. Pueblo Principe: stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 70 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: Four poster king size bed or 2 full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting are with sofa Balcony or terrace with sea view Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower, hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathro be and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Ironing set Beach towels in rooms 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms (available on request) Evening turndown service Pillow menu Safe (no additional charge) Internet and international newspapers and magazines in the Club House WiFi (no additional charge 24H) Aroma menu Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only): The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing