We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great servcice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at the GBP DON PABLO SECTION in May for one week ,very enjoyable ,wonderful staff , great food .excellent service ,beautifully appointed rooms, well kept grounds .Special mention to all the staff but do want to recognise the foll, Lorraine B ,Grant,Marvalyn,,Donnett,Juan,,Cordell,Petaguy,Deon,Sanita, Shenaca,Shaniece,Kayann ,Fran and family as well as GM R.Esteban .
Overall a great experience

Room Tip: Stayed in Room in 24 area was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vass155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind note. It is grateful to learn that you have enjoyed your stay to the full. Thank you for mentioning the names of our staff members that made your holiday even more enjoyable. We will make sure to transmit them your appreciation.

On behalf of our General manager and staff; thank you for choosing our Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection. We will be more than happy to host you again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    544
    230
    124
    88
See reviews for
292
1,316
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is a nice resort but really big. I believe they do not have enough staff for everything. My mini bar was only re-stocked twice the whole week. It is clean and the staff is friendly. |Little disappointed in the beach, lots of weed, rock and shallow. It was overall a good place but I do not think I would return.

Room Tip: Rooms near the West side of the pool, you will hear all the drunks, and there is alot of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Mike,

We appreciate you have shared your note with us. Thank you for letting us know that you have liked the cleanliness and the friendly staff. We are overwhelmed to read that you have left our property not totally happy. We wholeheartedly apologize for all the inconveniences you have mentioned.

It is with regret that we read you wouldn't return. However, we sincerely hope that you would reconsider to grant us with another opportunity to host you back for a second stay and make sure it will be nothing else but an amazing experience.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Gran Bahia and have to say it was good. The rooms are nice and the food is excellent. The pool is large and can get quite loud. Great - if you want that, which it seemed a lot of people did. We upgraded to Dan Pablo which gave your own section of the pool, unlimited a la carte restaurants, poolside service and more importantly - premium brand drinks. You have to say though that the service is Jamaican style. Everything is 'no problem man' but that doesn't mean they are going to jump on a problem and fix it that's for sure. All the staff were pleasant, except one, so just avoid that one. There are plenty of other willing helpers. We will definitely be going back. Ideally located for Dunns River falls, which is a must. Go with Cool Runnings on a catamaran with the booze cruise party on the way back. Party time!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Tony,

We appreciate your review. It is grateful to learn that you enjoyed the room, food, pool and overall the services provided and the staff. Though, we also apologize for the inconveniences you have pointed out. We assure you that we count on the natural hospitality and friendliness of the Jamaican people and on the training provided by our Quality Department to impress our guests. We appreciate your observations as a valuable reference point to continue refining our services.

We are thrilled to know that you have decided to return to us; we look forward for the opportunity to host you once again and make sure to provide you with an amazing vacation.


Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Overall, this was a wonderful experience for my wife and I. This trip was a gift my wife and I gave to each other in celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. It also just happened to be my wife's birthday for the first day of our stay. I had mentioned it to the staff in the Don Pablo lounge when we checked in, and when my wife & I returned from dinner that first night, we were overwhelmed with how the room had been decorated with lit candles, balloons, rose pedals, and a bubble bath that had been prepared for my wife to enjoy. In addition, they left us a bottle of iced down champagne with two glasses. This was extremely thoughtful and wonderfully overwhelming!!

The resort is beautiful. I understand it is only 5 years old, so it is in extremely good shape. The landscaping and gardens are kept up beautifully! You can't go wrong with the half dozen restaurants. The Dolce italian restaurant was our favorite. Set right on the water, the view is breathtaking! We were able to take in the unbelievable sunset, which I took many pictures of, and also played photographer for a number of other couples.

We stayed in Bldg 24, which is one of the newest additions and part of the Don Pablo collection. We highly suggest you request this location with an upper floor (ours was on the 5th floor, room 24501). We had a corner unit, so we were able to view our pool, the gardens, ocean, and mountains.

The beach area is a little walk because it is to the opposite side of the resort from where we were, but not too awfully bad. There is separate location for the Don Pablo guests, but we preferred to walk down to near the very end of the beach, where there were trees to lay under or just enjoy the sun. This area was breezier, too, which was nice. This location also had a restroom, plus a small bar hut serving up any type of drink you wanted.

This resort was truly paradise, and we would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Building 24 is newest addition, and part of Don Pablo collection. Corner room on the 5th floor gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Kurt,

Congratulations for your 25th Anniversary. We appreciate that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate such an important date.

Thank you for providing us with the warm account of your experiences. We are delighted to know that we have been able to surprise you with unexpected details; you liked your room and its location which allowed you to have perfect views of the surroundings. We are glad to read that you have also loved the food, especially at the Italian restaurant where you enjoyed the cuisine and the sunsets.

It is motivating to our entire team when we see reviews like yours. It was an honor to be able to serve you; we are already looking forward to host you on your upcoming vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

during our stay at the bahia we found that the don pablo was well worth the extra cost.it provided all the extras of a private club as a home away from home.the ladies there were really great and went beyond the call of duty.Lorraine, the manager was on the beach each day,seeing all were happy and helped organize a birthday party with more than we could done ourselves.Petagay,too,was good.They were the bright point of our stay.
Otherwise,the Bahia could use a new executive chef.
Simon K
Alla R

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Simon,

We value your note about your stay with us. It is rewarding to know that you enjoyed the amenities and overall the services provided by the accommodating staff that made you feel in your home away from home. We sincerely regret we couldn't impress you with our chef and we wholeheartedly apologize for any inconvenience you may have had.

We sincerely hope that this situation will not tarnish your overall perception of your stay and you will grant yet us another opportunity to host you and provide an amazing vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

As an employee of the Hospitality and Tourism Industry, I would very much like to congratulate the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Management team on proving their true worth. My family and I stayed at this luxurious property for the weekend and I must say that we loved, loved, loved it :)))

We stayed on the Don Pablo section which is truly luxury. Top quality service is definitely guaranteed there. Upon arrival we were greeted by our butler Peta- Gaye, who was so warm and friendly with kids. We were taken to the Don Pablo Lounge where we were checked in by a most knowledgeable and friendly Agent Cordell. Our room was on the 7th floor on building 24 and the view was spectacular :))) We dined at both buffet and Mikado (Japanese Restaurant) and the food was scrumptious to the fact that I'm still reminiscing on the "fried ice cream" that we ordered for dessert at Mikado.

I must commend the cleanliness of the resort, the spacious rooms and bathrooms. We were never short on amenities. My kids also loved the kids club. The Harmony dance group is very talented. The group did a rendition of Michael Jackson on Sunday night and it was well applauded. This is my third time at the Grand Bahia and there will be a fourth,fifth and forever time, lol !!

I would like to thank the GM Ricardo Esteban and Don Pablo's Lounge Manager Lorraine for their warm hospitality. Am pretty sure that all Apple Vacationers will truly enjoy your wonderful property and share the wonderful experience with their family and friends alike. I will be back :)))

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Elena,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your praises to our Management team; we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed all of your stay specially the luxurious room and views, butler services, cleanliness and the accommodating staff. Thank you for mentioning the name of some of our coworkers that gave you the feeling of being truly pampered in your home away from home.

On behalf of General Manager and staff, thank you for choosing the Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection. We are already looking forward to see you again in our hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My family and I had a great time at Bahia Principe. The staff and service were excellent. The ladies in the Don Pablo lounge made us feel special and we just loved them (check them out Lorraine, Coredell and Peta Gay...among others, just can't remember their names). We felt like we were home away from home. We did not want to leave. This was our second time there and a lot of the staff remembered us. We will definitely go back and third time and beyond.

Room Tip: The newer sections of the resort are amazing especially if you prefer sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection for the second time and also for letting us know that you have enjoyed the services and the hospitality of the staff. It is grateful to learn that we have been able to provide you a home away from home.

On behalf of our management and staff thank you for sharing your remarks with us. We cannot wait to see you again very soon in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
52.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
33.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
39.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,184 reviews
17.2 mi away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#15 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Address: Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (20% discount on some treatments) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) 2 main restaurants 5 speciality restaurants 5 Bars 1 Snack bar Exclusive terrace bar serving Premium drinks Private check-in/out Late check-out subject to availability 18 hole golf course. Pueblo Principe: stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 70 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: Four poster king size bed or 2 full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting are with sofa Balcony or terrace with sea view Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower, hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathro be and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Ironing set Beach towels in rooms 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms (available on request) Evening turndown service Pillow menu Safe (no additional charge) Internet and international newspapers and magazines in the Club House WiFi (additional charge) Aroma menu Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only): The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing