We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Love the Upgrades” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Runaway Bay Heart Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Runaway Bay Heart Hotel to your Saves list
Runaway Bay Heart Hotel
Rickets Dr | P.O. Box 98, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the Upgrades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I spent 4 days in January and I have to admit, I was pleasantly surprised of how immaculate the scenray was. Great picture locations and the flowers and view from my balcony was excellent. I loved the pool because unlike most hotels who give you 3-5 foot deep pool, this pool was 8 feet deep. Also every morning, the breakfast was different and they had enough things on the lunch and dinner menu to satisfy even the hungriest of guests. The rooms and bathrooms were well decorated and the refrigerator is a great touch. The bathroom amenties are also great and their were plenty of towels to go around. I felt like a king because during my stay, I could count the amount of guest on the property on one hand. There were a few growing pains of course since they are upgrading the property. The telephone did not work, and I had to switch rooms because my safe key was taken by the previous guest. The head Chef/General manager was very accomodating and went out of her way to make my stay extra special. Nice young lady. The restaurant was closed and she called the Chef who returned to the property to prepare us dinner. The Cardiff is now my favorite Hotel in Ocho Rios/Runaway Bay and because of the friendly staff and their management team, this will be the only place I stay when I visit which is a lot since I travel every few weeks.

Room Tip: Choose the suite, the views are to die for plus its only a few dollars more. Also get the all icnclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
13
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Hotel now called the Cardiff Resort.
Much improved since my last visit back in 2007 i think. The rooms were clean and airy. Customer service by the front dest receptionist and restaurant staff excellent. Food excellent and fresh. Not at all like some of the all inclusives I have stayed in. As someone who was born in Jamaica and lived abroad most of my adult live it's good to come home to such excellent accommodation. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to avoid the 'mass production of the all inclusives.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank avong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, SD
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This little hotel is tucked up on a hill in a remote area where, even if you're really looking, it can be hard to find. The view from the restaurant is lovely and the food is excellent. The service was spectacular, and there was a musician playing at a grand piano as we were dining. The room was clean and very nice. The bed and the sheets were extremely comfortable. The one downside I would say, might be location, once you're there, you're probably there for the evening. Since we stayed here due to proximity of a few sights we wanted to see on our trip, the location was perfect for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roamin_Mt_Rushmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is hotel is not to be confused with the all inclusives/ or super all inclusives. This hotel is a nice mid sized hotel located not too close but not too far from everywhere! The menu does not have a very wide selection but the serving sizes are pretty good. The staff is friendly bit not too friendly... The rooms for the most part have lovely views of the sea. Room service comes in a jiffy if you dont want to leave the room. The hotel is undergoing renovations and the new rooms look FAB!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keiosakasama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel has recently been renamed the Cardiff Hotel, but TA does not have an entry for the new name yet.

I stayed 2 weeks on business. Towards the end of our stay, they hired a crew to replace tile in the center courtyard, around which all the rooms are arranged. At 10pm on Wednesday night, they started using an electric jackhammer to break the tile loose. At 11pm I called the front desk to ask that they stop the work for the night. They did - then started at 5:30am the next day! I complained in person at the desk, and they assured me this would not continue.

Friday night, the same crew used a diamond saw to cut the new ceramic tile, from around 7pm through 11pm - past normal quiet hours, and just 20 feet from people trying to have a nice dinner. I complained again, and once more during checkout. No satisfaction.

On top of all that, they overcharged me from what the agreed rate was, and wouldn't budge even when I brought all this up at the front desk.

Aside from the jackhammers at all hours, and overcharging around USD $200, it was ok.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a non-jackhammer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ridethere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

As other customers stated, check your bill. The information concerning the menu was not explained to us prior to dinner/breakfast time. The food was horrible, when we ordered something we expected to get what we ordered, if they don't have it, it should be explained prior to us ordering and they should not just bring something that we did not order. Customer service was horrible. This was not a friendly atmosphere. There was no form of entertainment for adults or kids what so ever. They charge too much money for such horrrible services.

Stay away from runaway bay!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb7809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel was just the perfect getaway, family location. It was very close to major attractions, but a little outside of the hustle and bustle. It was like a quiet retreat. The surroundings were well kept, the view from the room, dining and pool area, of the landscape and the carribbean sea was so worth the stay. The rooms themselves gave that island feel with comfort. The adjoining rooms were great for our family of 5. It was so quiet and nice to see local persons cycling and jogging in the area in the mornings. It was a great retreat area and good price. Hopefully we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlj12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Runaway Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Piper's Cove Resort
Piper's Cove Resort
#7 of 16 in Runaway Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
#8 of 16 in Runaway Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
2.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
0.7 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runaway Bay Heart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runaway Bay Heart Hotel

Property: Runaway Bay Heart Hotel
Address: Rickets Dr | P.O. Box 98, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Runaway Bay Heart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Runaway Bay Heart Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing