We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Course is in repair for Caribbean open....caddies AWESOME”

Runaway Bay Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Played twice , once on 6/8 and again on 6/11. Course is preparing for the open in September so greens are rough after aeration. Played with caddies Clifford and Ian. Couldn't ask for better caddies! They know the course and how to coach. My son played with me and he is a newer golfer and Ian was the most patient and fantastic coach/ teacher for him. I have been playing with Cliiford since 2004 and he is amazing as always. Big smiles, a lot of laughs and a fun round of golf.

1  Thank TimnSueAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your rounds. Yes we are in constant repair of the course.
We look forward to your return.
Regards,
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 188 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went last week 6-12-13, it was very hot even in the early morning, Michael was a fantastic caddy, his tips and insightful knowledge will be retained for years to come. Very flat course
with not to many hazards, A course were you can grip it and rip it. They had just aerated the
greens, that was the only bad part of the whole experience. If you golf you should play....

Thank SND2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank your for playing our course. wee look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

visited 1st week of June, 2013. my buddy played the course twice. It’s fairly flat and free greens fees if you stay at Jewel Resort. Bring your own balls, glove, tees, and shoes or you will pay big $$$$. He rented clubs for $22-40 but said if he came back he’d pay the extra $ to bring his own clubs. Golf course was next door to resort and a quick cart ride under the highway and you were there! No tee times needed. You HAD to have a caddy but it was nice to have the coaching and ball marking and cleaning, etc. $17/ round. Carts can be rented but he didn’t use those. It gets windy, so play in the early am to mitigate that. Course opened at 7am.

1  Thank m t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am happy to hear that your buddy enjoyed the course. We look forward to your return.
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

i like the courtesy of the staff and they remember your name and keep checking with you where ever you are...in the dining area, beach, pool . just where ever. the hotel manager is great,Ms. Burton and the spa ...check it out!

1  Thank audrey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting us and your kind words. We look forward to your return.
regards,
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Liked all of Leon's advice. He is a wealth of knowledge. Greens were up to par ( no pun intended). Fairways, although green, are not what we have stateside. The grass is crab grass which may work for those who like their ball raised a bit to be able to get underneath it but for those who like to hit down on the ball and take a divot, it takes a little getting used to. I was taking divots by the second hole. For 40 bucks for club rental and caddy fee it's well worth walking the course. Another 20 gets you a cart. I tipped my caddy with a new golf shirt I took for him and 10 bucks. All in all look to spend about 80 bucks incl some beers. I loved it!!! Got out of room at the Jewel at 7 am for breakfast and was golfing by 8 and was done by 11.

2  Thank Jatmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your reveiw and playing our course. We look forward to your return.
regards
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Runaway Bay Golf Club also viewed

Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Runaway Bay Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing