We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce but watch the costs”

Runaway Bay Golf Club
Ranked #8 of 19 things to do in Runaway Bay
Attraction details
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Loved the course, even better when it was free with our hotel. However the person who signed us in was quite rude to us. Golf balls (3) cost $22 (bring your own), tried on a glove to see if it would fit and the woman said I had to buy it (luckily it did fit). Also as previously said in a review the sand banks were not raked and it had not rained for two days when we played. The caddy was great and we had a good time.

Thank Whiteknight_013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Glad to hear that you loved the course. I am sorry you feel that the bunkers were not raked as they are raked every morning.
thank you for your review.
regards,
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"green fees"
in 13 reviews
"great caddy"
in 7 reviews
"tee times"
in 6 reviews
"beer cart"
in 4 reviews
"fairways and greens"
in 3 reviews
"played rounds"
in 2 reviews
"in great condition"
in 2 reviews
"jewel paradise cove"
in 3 reviews
"wedges"
in 2 reviews
"red stripe"
in 5 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 3 reviews
"caddies"
in 92 reviews
"clubs"
in 36 reviews
"ball"
in 22 reviews
"rolls"
in 18 reviews
"yards"
in 9 reviews
Filter

144 - 148 of 203 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lots of crabgrass on course but the course has come a long way from what it used to be. They continue to make a lot of improvements to the course every month. By this time next year it will be in better shape

Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Exactly!
See you next year.
regards,
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A worthwhile experience, but the fairways are pretty much crabgrass and milkweed at this point. It was taken over by Jewel recently per the caddies and they say the ownership is starting to put some money into improving it. We were not staying at the Jewel Resorts where this is an included activity, so we paid $55/round, plus the mandatory $17/person for a caddie, whether walking or carting. We've elected to walk as it's great exercise, and the caddie schleps the clubs. It's a pretty flat and somewhat longer course than the Sandals/Ochos Rios. We enjoyed it but it was warm and were a bit tired by the end. At least my shots seemed to show it!
By contrast, the Sandals course at Ochos Rios is well kept-very little crabgrass on the fairways ($65/person plus caddie). Caddie tip is also the norm on top of the mandatory fee at all courses. We did $20 each, which was well appreciated. . The Jewell buses bring players largely in the morning, so a tee time in the late morning/early afternoon worked out well and we were never pushed or waited. The caddies were awesome! They KNOW their greens, and the course, and can size your game up in a couple of holes. Do what they tell you!!

3  Thank gustaferic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for playing are course. Your caddy was correct. We took over the property in June and have started fixing the course. When you return I am sure you will see the vast improvements.
regards,
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Golfer's paradise. Champion course. Excellent experienced caddies just waiting, no line up, free with resort guest room fee. Bring your clubs.

Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, General Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for using our course and I am glad to hear they you enjoyed all aspects of it.
regards,
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

good course, never busy! very enjoyable. The caddies are required and most helpful in making the day and relaxing adventure

Thank Lyndon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks you so much for playing our course as well as your feedback. We look forward to having you visit us again.
Regards,
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Runaway Bay Golf Club also viewed

Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Runaway Bay Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing