We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had fun and the caddies were great!”

Runaway Bay Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I am giving this golfing experience a 4 because the caddies were very helpful and knowleadgable, the clubs were new titleist and played very well and they had new sand in the sand traps. It wasnt the greatest looking course compared to what you might find in the states but it was good enough to me as the course was very forgiving (i only lost one ball) and the caddies always picked the correct lines in putting. Overall while the course still needs some work we had a fun time and I believe that since Jewel took over they have been working on making it better.

2  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are working on the course diligently to get it better and better each day. Thank you for noticing.
Regards
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Runaway Bay Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 188 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Charm made it so memorable! She was an absolute blast!!! She knew that course inside and out and was very helpful!

Thank DanahR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank youi so much for playing the Course and taking the time to write a reveiw as well as mentioning one of our caddies that made your round even more memorable.
Regards,
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Anette is a good caddy to use as is Cheree and Winston, taxi to and from the Braco resort, $50 for one and $80 for three including tip w/Johnee

Thank vayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review and playing. At our course. We have lowered the prices and we are doing some work on the course and club house. We have filled new sand in all the traps and are working on the bunkers, tee boxes and greens. We have received brand new sets of title it's clubs and are awaiting new carts to arrive. The roof of the club house and other upgrades to the proshop are being done as we speak. We look forward to your return to see the changes.
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The golf course at the resort was ok. The ground is very hard and the ball gets a lot of roll which is good unless you are hitting into the green. You almost have to come up 10 yard short to have a chance to stay on the green. The condition was comparable to a muny course in the states. The new management has committed to improving the condition. If you play 18 your total cost will be around $45. if you play 9 your total cost will be around $42. I understand you are paying for club rental and cart, but make 9 holes cheaper than 18 somehow.
The drinks on the course are priced for tourists for sure. $5 for a 16oz gatorade is a bit much when I am staying at the all inclusive resort. There was water to drink on the front 9, but not really much if any on the back.
The caddie we had was George and he was great. I used 1 golf ball and if I miss hit it George was going to find it and be on the green when i got there.
it was fun to get out and play, just keep your expectations for the course a bit low.

1  Thank stltravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasbrat, Manager at Runaway Bay Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, since you have played we have been upgrading the course as well as lowered the prices to make sense. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Scott Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Not too special, plain but nice!! caddy was excellent!

Thank tequilaandsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Runaway Bay Golf Club also viewed

Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Runaway Bay Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing