We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Newark, NJ
110
Reviewed March 12, 2005

My boyfriend and i stayed at the Royal Decameron in Runaway Bay on 03/04-03/11/04. We found it to be a very friendly place, ful of great water sports such as the banana boats, the jet ski's and the bottom glass boats. The people at the hotel could not have been any nicer. All our needs were met. There was nothing that we wanted and could not have. I found this to be a great spot. We reserved an ocean front bungalo and it was the greatest thing ever. The drinks were awesome, the food was delicious. The entertainment crew was very funny, and keep the crowd going. Even the bell hop was friendly. The only thing i didnt want was to leave. But i will definitely return, and i will without a doubt go back there.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,444 - 3,450 of 3,956 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Glastonbury, CT
111
Reviewed March 10, 2005

The management knew they had overbooked days prior to us traveling but did not have the decency to notify us. Waisting six hours of our day by traveling to and fro hotels is NOT my idea of a vacation. This could have been cleared up PRIOR to us traveling. They weren't even apologetic.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2005

It was our second visit,we went same time last year 1st two weeks of febuary,we found it just as fantastic 2nd time around,yes we read the reviews(mainly american)maybe we brits dont expect the same as our cousins!We had a great time met up with friends we made the previous year they hade also returned,the staff make you very welcome and cannot do enough for you to make your holiday fun,do yourself a favour dont listen to the negative reviews GO ENJOY AND HAVE FUN!!!you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 1804RICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
chelmsford u.k
120
Reviewed March 5, 2005

I thort this hotel was the best, i mean there may be better hotels but this one gave a warm feeling and had a real carribean sense about it!

Arrival
The airport was a bit slow but we were out of there in about 30-45 mins, then we settled on a coach to our hotel which was long enough aprox 1hr- 2hrs. Once we arrived we were welcomed with some staff who were very pleasent and offered us some nice cold drinks, we then checked in and heded of to our cottage.

Rooms
The thatched cottage was beautiful and maybe could of done with some work but it still had a really nice feel about it. The maids came evryday and always made conversation. The bathrooms were clean and came with a shower/bath and toilet. There was also a safe in the main bedroom and a tv with quite a few channels.

pool/beach
the beach was gorgeous and if you got up early enough you could see the sunrise and the beaches were white, the sea was clear and blue. It was lovely. The pool was very clean and there was another pool out of the way for quiet swims.(tip!- it might be an idea to get t the pool early to get sunbeads cos the go quickly!)

entertainment
The entertainment throughout the day was constanly going. There was sometimes some of the staff in the pool organising gamesa or doing something around the pool, they always kept you busy. In the evening everyone would get up and party on the stage, the staff would let the kids dance with them and they played limbo. It was great. In the eveing they also had disco and things organised 4 kids

Family
We went with 2 other families which included 4 kids ad they were always busy with the kids club (the kids club is for all ages) and the kids club even organised a fashion show where the children could go down to the hotel shop and try on some clothes and get money off the items after! it was great!! The pool was lovely and always very clean.

staff
the staff were lovely and helpful and they were always having a laugh making sure your holiday iz worth while (richard is cool!)

The food
The food was really nice with lots of choice like pizza, fish, steak, other types of meat, even jamaicas famous jerk chicken, chips, sweet potatoes, gorgeous pancakes in the morning! and salad! etc. On one occasion a coconut man came around in the evening seling delicious sweet coconuts!
Also further down the beach there iz a reasturant where i think you have to make reservaions and a little bar that iz open through the day is just along the beach.

Misc
Also in the evening came a small markey which sold jewelery, pictures, carved wooden plaques, clothing and souvinirs which was nice heres your chance to haggle!
In the eveing there is a little band playing which are ever so friendly who play there music all night so give them a tip they'll really appreiciate it!
Its nice to give the people a few things like soap, toilettries, toothbrushes etc because it is really hard for them to get it they'll be so grateful believe me!

Excursions
We went on the jungle river which was amazing. You went down a moving crystal clear river on your own inflatable ring (provided), there was rapids and the staff make it so fun! they splash and mess around it was superb.beware u'll get wet! Also at the end there was a stall which was cooking jerk chicken lovely but hot! amd there was a rope swing attached high up on a tree where you can swing into the river which was briliant
There was the swimming with dolphins in ochos rios where you can either swim orhave you photo taken with a dopling which was briliant.
Finally we did the dunns river falls trip wher you climbed up a waterfall, the water iz freezing but once you get in it its superb you can have pics taken and evrything its a must do.

All in all
all in all this was an amazing trip and i have no regrets about it its a must do!! I wanna go back again! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Madison, New Jersey
16
Reviewed March 3, 2005

I had such a great time at the RDCC resort that I think I will make it an annual getaway! The staff was so accomodating, the rooms were nice and for the price we paid I must say I got my money's worth. I love Jamaica, the tropical breezes, the warm sunshine, the beautiful beaches and the friendly people and I got to experience all of the at RDCC.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Spooner Wisconsin
118
Reviewed March 2, 2005

We just returned from Jamaica, we had reservations for an ocean view cottage at the Royal Decameron. The hotel is notorious for overbooking. a good money making strategy. The hotel has a limited number of private cottages, but they do have some small hotel rooms that nobody reserves. Their plan is to overbook the cottages, then ship the new people to the tiny hotel rooms for a night or two until a cottage opens up. This does generate more revenue, but also angry customers. When we arrived at the Royal Decameron there were many upset people, as this happens to many when arriving at the royal decameron. Some people didn't get any kind of room at all for the overbooking and had to be sent back to a different hotel. We spent our 2nd day there in the lobby, with all of our luggage, waiting for our cottage. We wasted an entire day because we had no place to put our luggage and didn't feel comfortable leaving it in the lobby. We finally got our cottage and there was no water, they did get it fixed in a timely manner. The resort is less than average, rooms run down and the beach rocky. We stayed two days at this resort and then were offered an upgrade to another hotel. We took the opportunity and ran as fast as we could out, we never looked back. At the new resort our vacation finally started and we had a blast. I would never recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
113
Reviewed March 1, 2005

My wife and I and two other couples just returned home following a week's stay at the Royal Decameron Club and we are already talking about our return trip in 2006. The cabana's that we stayed in were a pleasant surprise to all of us. Very clean with a nice taste of the carribean on the inside plus the fact that the cabana's are much larger than the average hotel room made our stay very comfortable. The garden cabana's are located in a beautiful tropical setting with abundant palm and coconut tree's, flowers and well groomed grassy lawns everywhere. At night all the concrete sidewalks are well lighted so you have no trouble finding your way back to your room. The food was better than we expected. The buffet was great with many entree's, never a problem with cold food and when the supply was running slightly low it was replentished with fresh. Drinks at the main bar were great with a selection of 24 to pick from all listed on a board with ingredients for each drink. Nightly entertainment was very good with well rehersed acts, song and dance. We tipped our bartenders, maid service and whoever was deserving. The few dollars that we shelled out made all the difference in the world to those people and they won't forget your face. All in all this trip exceeded our expectations and is worthy of more than a 3 star rating. The only thing that may be holding this resort to the 3 star might be the beach. The beach is nice and sandy however, their is some rocky area's and snorkeling is not the best. The other water sports are a great addition to this All Inclusive get away.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
1.8 mi away
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Runaway Bay
82 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
1.7 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
36.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Address: Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $174 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing