We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For low budget: great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Germany
13
Reviewed June 13, 2004

Extremely friendly staff, delicious food, clean bungalows; only disadvantage: towel service on the beach. The best low-budget holiday I ever had! Ask for photos!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,846)
There are newer reviews for Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,469 - 3,475 of 3,846 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2004

Our daughter has just got married at the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean (13 May 04). It was a superb service, the planning could not have been any better - we salute you Ann. The weather was top notch, the whole place is just so laid back - everyone was so friendly - housekeeping, reception, bar staff and a huge thanks to the restraurant staff - the food was delightful and such a choice.

We're planning a revist (just hubby and I) in 2005/06.

This is definately a place to go for sun, sea, excellent food, company yet privacy, fun, entertainment or simply just chill.

Thank you Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Dee & Bob Hughes

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeeBobHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
East Sussex, England
13
Reviewed June 2, 2004

Well, after reading some of the reviews contained on this site we really didn't know what to expect. We have visited 55 countries and stayed in some fleapits, but this was certainly not one of them. We stayed May 25th to June 1st.

The rooms are lovely, private and tastefully decorated. We had NO problem with hot water or towels or service etc. The service is attentive and delightful. Compare it to British railway staff !!! We are not people who expect to be waited on and so on. We just loved the whole place.

The food was varied for EVERY meal ! A truly fantastic array of food - savoury, sweet and fruit like you've never seen or tasted - so fresh ! We are not a couple who want to get involved with "entertainment" etc so we were a bit worried that we would be forced to make fools of ourselves when all we wanted to do is stroll hand in hand on the beach. We had no need to worry. If you want entertainment there's lots of it. If you just want to be anonymous and enjoy your partner you can do that too.

All in all it was a wonderfully relaxing week. There are good trips too - cycling, the Blue Mountains, the Bob Marley mausoleum etc. As for being offered drugs by the bus driver - what nonsense ! I dare say if you seek out drugs you'll get them, but they are not rammed down your throats. Regarding staff rudeness. What rudeness ???

One thing though - I noticed so many US ladies have about 5 or six tattooes, and wear a headscarf that makes them look like Geronimo ! There were at least 5 ladies who looked exactly the same during our stay. Seems we were unaware of this patrticlar fashion. I've never seen so many huge tattooes on ladies in my life !!


3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Alnwick, Northumberland, England, UK
13
Reviewed May 30, 2004

All I can say is that this holiday was the most amazing holiday ever for me. I went to RDCC in Runaway Bay, on the 18th Ocober 2003 for 10 days. I went because my sister was getting married in the hotel. The hotel itself was beautiful, extremely clean, I stayed in a standard room, never had any problems at all with anything. I am 23 years old and there was absolutely loads for me to do. The beach was lovely, just lazed around during the day, having cocktails next to the pool. They had entertainment on during the day too, it really was fun. I done a few trips too, which I do highly recommend, I went swimming with the dolphins (totally amazin), went to dunns river falls and shopping in Ochos Rios and I done a bob marley trip too which was fab. In the evenings we just stayed at the hotel, the entertainment was really good, I would say the entertainments team was fantastic you couldn't fault them, kemrod, dwayne, eddie, tyson, tish, super, to name a few they got all of the hotel guests going. Then later on in particular for the younger ones there was a disco til 2am, the music is like r n b and reggae, but its a laugh, I'm sure if you have any requests dwayne would be happy to help. The food was really good too, me being vegetarian I wasn't sure but there was plenty to choose from and they had different themed nights so you got a variety the food was lovely, and the restaurant and bar staff went out of there way to help you with anything.
My sister had her wedding in the RDCC, and it was lovely, it was a lovely service and everything about it was lovely too.
I just don't understand the people who have put in bad reviews cause I cannot comment on anything bad about the rdcc, I would just highly recommend it, there is plenty to do for all ages.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
wiltshire, England
12
Reviewed May 29, 2004

After a 9 and a half our flight, we were very tired and groggy, but when we arrived at the RDCC all our sprits were lifted. We were welcomed with fruit punch and had our bags taken to the rooms, everyone was very helpful and fast as we had only been there about 10 mins before we were at our door. The rooms are very basic but very clean and kept clean the whole time we were there. The food is wonderful and the drinks are great and your glass is never empty when it comes to water. The entertainment staff are great especially Dwayne, Daniel and Eddy, and you have to join in the activities volentary before you get dragged into it. But all the staff really are great, they are all buzzing with energy and always have a smile on there faces. Its a very good place to go and chill out and they let your hair down at nite with the crazy crazy disco. I have already booked for next year. hope you enjoy it as much as i did. xxx

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
O'Fallon, Missouri
14
Reviewed May 26, 2004

We went to the resort for our honeymoon from May 15th-May 23rd and knew ahead of the reviews and 3/4 star rating of the resort. I have nothing to compare the resort to because I have never been out of the U.S.A but I give the resort a 3 stars for the following reasons. At check in we were told that we could not have the oceanfront cottage that we reserved because they were doing construction on some of them, the woman said we could probabley get one the next night; well I complained to a couple workers because this was our honeymoon and I did not want to lug around our luggage from place to place and due to the fact that we paid extra for the oceanfront cottage. After 3 hours of waiting for a clean room they said that an oceanfront cottage was available.

The showers/bathtub water is fine for a man who showers in about five minutes or so but aweful for a woman who has to shampoo, condition and shave which takes at least 10 minutes. The warm water lasted no longer than five minutes I swear, all I would ever get done with the warm water was shampooing my hair, everything else was done in cold water. One day we had to call three times for bath towels the maid brought us none that day. The air conditioning worked very good.

The food was great, a good variety of fruit and breads. Breakfast was the best, you could get an omelet made to your liking and made to order pancakes. The buffet restaurant is open and you could eat right by the water if you wanted to. Breakfast was at 7, Lunch and noon and Dinner was at 7 (kind of late). The club med restaurant was closed the entire week we were there.

The huts are very neat and so close to the water but we had place trashcans where a couple leaks in the roof were (it rains a lot in May). The grounds are beautiful and full of lush greens and flowers. The adult pool in the back of the resort is nice and secluded and has plenty of lounge chairs.
Unless you like club like entertainment there was nothing to do at night. It rained all day a few times and there isn't anything to do then. The drinks were pretty good at the bars and had a good variety. The so called watersports seemed to never be open at the time they were suppose to be open (10-4), everytime I asked if I could use a paddle boat or if the glass bottom boat ride was going to go out the answer was always no so I never got to do any of the watersports. The beach itself is divided into coves which is kind of nice but do not expect to snorkel here because the water is not pretty at all and the ground is full of rocks. The water is also too choppy which makes it impossible to snorkel (go to Negril!).

Dunns river falls is very neat and the Hooves horseback riding in the rainforest and in the ocean is also worth doing. Note: every driver and tour guide expects tipping. This resort is great if all you want to do is relax, drink alcohol and lay on the beach it is not good for the active person who enjoys watersports, good sandy beaches and clear water. I have been to floridas beaches, Gulf Shores and Myrtle beach in N. Carolina and this resorts water and beaches looked worse than any other I have seen. Maybe the water looks better during the high season but when we were there we were truely disappointed. We will probabley not return to this resort.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Indiana
14
Reviewed May 24, 2004

Perfect is the only way to describe this place. My fiance and I got married on this resort, and from the moment we walked in it was perfect. Upon walking in we were handed a delightful drink, don't know what it was though. We were then showed to our room, which yes isn't brand new, but it was clean and nice. We had no problems w/ anything at the hotel. We'd read the reviews about cold water, rude staff, etc. and were very worried. But, those reviews have got to be from nasty people who were expecting some sort of celebrity treatment. The wait staff was wonderful. We never had to ask for anything. The bar staff was exceptional, especially O.J., Taz, and Craig. Security was also really good. We never had a feeling that we were in any danger at the resort, but we also never had a feeling that security was breathing down our necks. Security was an obvious presence, but not a well known one. For anyone getting married here, Ann knows her stuff. I had absolutely no problems getting married. We had one twenty minute session with her upon arrival, and from there she planned a perfect event. There's just no way to say all the good things about this resort, so I'll just stop now!!!
As for Jamaica. It's a gorgeous country, but also poor. A few things to take note of....they drive on the opposite side of the road from the United States, there are no stop signs or road signs of any kind, there seems to be no speed limit, and riding the car infront of them seems to be a way of life. If you are in any way afraid/intimidated by crowds, avoid the craft markets. I'm hugely afraid of crowds, and ended up having a panic attack in the middle of the craft market and hurried out of there. My husband loves to haggle, so he wanted to go back some more. So it all depends on your thing. All in all, I loved it, can't wait to go back soon, and e-mail me if you have any questions you'd like to ask.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
3.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
36.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,580 reviews
55.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
40.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#25 of 64 in Montego Bay
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Address: Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $146 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing