We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant week in Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here at the end of March. Had a great time.

Our room was right on the beach front, it was like a little house. We could lie in bed and see the waves lapping a few feet from our window. When the the wind was strong and the sea was rough it could be quite noisy when trying to sleep, but overall lovely. It was clean and fairly modern. We had a huge comfy bed. There was a nice flat screen TV opposite the bed but we never turned it on. Sadly no coffee or tea facilities in the room. We had to pay a small amount to use the safety deposit box.

The beach was OK. Plenty of sun loungers. We were near the Jetty bar which was great.

The restaurants were good, plenty of food and excellent variety. Good choice of drinks were always available.

Service was good and most of the staff were really helpful. The entertainment was OK but we're not very good at being entertained and preferred to seek out the quieter spots.

There was a lot of French holiday makers around who were OK most of the time, but they did seem a bit arrogant and sometimes rude to restaurant staff.

I did find the smokers really annoying. It wasn't bad enough to stop me from going back, but if you have paid for a holiday expecting to smell fresh sea air and my own body basted in sun cream... then some some selfish idiot blowing fag smoke over the beach was aggravating.

We visited Dunn's Falls, Mystic Mountain and Dolphin Cove, all brilliant. There is loads left for us to do next time around.

Can't wait to go back. Jamaica is brill. People are lovely. The Thomson Dreamliner 787 was awesome, so quiet and comfy.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,846)
There are newer reviews for Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,341 - 1,347 of 3,846 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Hubby and I celebrated 20 years together at the Royal Decameron in Runaway Bay, JA end of March 2014 for 1 wonderful, glorious and relaxing week!
This resort seems to get great reviews with exception to the complaints about the French guests which makes up approx. 70% of the resort guests. Yes, we did observe some "rudeness" of these guests behavior however I must also add that to all those who are complaining about "the French":....I must point out that aside from only a couple of friendly fellow Ontarian s; most everyone kept to themselves and we found many guests kind of "snobby" and unapproachable...no one really mingled with one another nor smiled or even made eye contact.... (strange and a bit disappointing) When we checked in we were assigned a Courtyard Room~ this was disappointing as we were promised a Bungalow however Latoya (reception) assured us they would do their best to have us moved. We also addressed this with Carlos (guest services manager) who was absolutely professional as well comped us a 1/2 hour Couple massage with Evelyn for the inconvenience. :D (i highly recommend Evelyn for an amazing relaxing massage!!)
Now the Courtyard rooms are located at the very entrance of the resort and so very close to the hwy as well as a mini-mall which is frequented by locals who can get a bit loud....but that's not the problem...the problem was a very frustrating barking dog who started up around 1am and continued through he night until 6am....after 2 sleepless nights we got moved to a Bungalow (#73) Perfection! We were much closer to the beach and was much quieter! The food was amazing; wonderful selection! No complaints on the food!
The drinks; strong!!!! Perhaps the bar tending staff can focus on the quality of bevvies they are serving rather than the 3/4 booze:1/4 mix and stop being so cheap with the ice already!!! I also found that most of the bartenders lacked personality...they didn't really take notice of us until the 4th day there and finally began remembering our drink orders! ?????
The evening entertainment shows were completely cheesy...perhaps RD can work on better entertainment....the worst was the lounge-lizard-sounding band.... and the French Entertainment crew specifically employed to keep the French guests entertained get really obnoxious after the 2nd day.....(eye roll) One of the crew we really liked though was Empress; such a lovely young lady :D
Day Trip: The most disappointing part of our stay was paying $10 to be driven and dropped off for 2 hours of (very stressful) shopping in Ochos Rios; you get dropped off in front of the Craft Market and once you enter you feel as though you are being pulled in all directions to "come and take a look at my merchandise"...."it costs nothing to look".... "you promised me you would come and visit my booth."....way too much and stressful...but it was the necessary evil to get the souvenir shopping out of the way and were so glad to see John (our driver) pick us up to bring us back to the safety and serenity of our beach chairs!
I can't say enough about the cleanliness of this resort and attention to detail the cleaning staff and gardeners! The Royal Decameron is a bit dated but so well cared for that it gets an "A"! Beach chairs are all in excellent condition and rarely had trouble finding a good seat! Bring your water shoes though....beach can be weedy and some rocky areas.
You may get approached by certain staff to purchase "goodies" once you first arrive (due to your lack of a tan you kind of stick out as a "newbie" to the resort which makes you an easy approachable target....once you gain a bit of color, they leave you alone....lol....otherwise, a simple "no thanks" is all you need to answer.)
One last thing to mention; I am disappointed with our Air Canada Rouge Rep who hotel staff claimed was named "Cleveland"... I don't know if "Cleveland" even existed bc whenever we inquired to his whereabouts no one seemed to know or they stated "he was just here...you missed him"...he also failed to show up in the lobby at our instructed time on our 2nd day to give us our info about hotel....we didn't realize there was a 2nd (adult) pool on resort until 4th day there!!!! Kind of felt that our experience may have been better had we known more about the resort amenities....
This resort is perfect if you are looking for simple relaxation. The crowd is not rowdy by any means and average age would be around 45 - 60. I would return to the RD in a heartbeat and without any hesitation recommend a stay here! My only regret is that we didn't stay longer than just a week!!! :D BRAVO ROYAL DECAMERON!!!

Room Tip: avoid Courtyard Rooms; very noisy and close to main Hwy Try to avoid any Bungalows near main entert...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just returned from 2weeks of total chill.food fab no problems with the french.had room58 near to everything ,no problems with noise .just one tip the hot water was to hot especially if you've got young kids.look out for the heron with the wheel trim

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank graham g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just spent 2 weeks here what a brilliant resort , the staff could, nt be more friendly and the servive we got was incredible the beach front cabana we stayed in was comfortable and clean 1 complaint no fridge.the food was varied and in abundance with different themes in the main dining area over 2 weeks .My only observation /complaint was not enoughstaff in the dining room .Overall a fantastic holiday

Room Tip: Beach front
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ianheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Before you book any holiday, ask yourself what would make it special. If you want peace and quiet, a good selection of excellent food and drink with friendly helpful staff, in beautifully maintained gardens and unique individual rustic cottages, then you would be very hard pushed to find anywhere more perfect than the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean in Runaway Bay. We have just returned from our 9th consecutive yearly trip and of course we have already booked for our 10th visit next year.
This hotel is ideal for couples who are mature enough to make their own entertainment or for families with children aged 10 or under as there is a good Kids Club. However if you are seeking wild excitement or need to be entertained 24/7 we would suggest looking elsewhere as there is not a lot of this available here, thank goodness!
With regard to comments in other revues concerning the influx of French, it is rumoured that the ongoing arrangement is coming to an end this year. Hopefully this is true but if not, there is still plenty of room on the site to avoid them.
Although tipping is not supposed to happen, it is nice to reward the staff that help to make your holiday special, whether in the restaurants, the bars, or the cleaners. At the very least ,a please and thankyou go a long way to make them feel appreciated, unlike the French who appear to be very arrogant and ignorant in this respect.
As far as the trips go, there is a wide variety to choose from, but we would definitely not recommend the shopping trip to Ochos Rios as this is probably the biggest rip off of them all.
We hope that our comments have been helpful and if you do come to this resort you will be as pleased with it as we are. Would you return to the same place year after year if it wasn't really special?

Room Tip: Try to ensure you get a garden view cottage away from the main entertainments area and spend the add...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank adie_bScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our 3rd time in Jamaica. 1st time in this hotel. Clean and comfortable cottage on the beach. Food choice excellent. Nothing too much trouble for the staff. Check in very smooth. The grounds are pristine, the gardeners do an excellent job.(We were given a free upgrade to sister hotel in Mo Bay after a week. Nice hotel but Runaway Bay is better. )The Runaway Bay entertainment staff work non stop and earn every penny. Runaway Bay is a great place to stay. It is safe to walk about and meet the local people. Lots of little bars etc. Would definitely visit again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean for two week from 13th March. Having booked this hotel and read some of the reviews we did have arrive with some trepidation, these however were fully dispelled once we arrived. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by considerate staff and nothing was too much trouble. We were staying in a garden cottage (no28) and felt at home straight away. It was large and spacious, very clean, everything you could need was there, the only slight thing to make it totally complete would be tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge in the room. The staff were all friendly and as stated previously nothing was too much trouble, a big thank you to out maid Yvonne who made us smile every evening with her towel creations on the bed. It was our anniversary whilst we were away and we received a complimentary bottle of champagne delivered to our room, which was lovely. All the staff from the waiters to the reception to the security were excellent and the animation team worked tirelessly to make sure everyone was having a good time. As stated in previous review there are a lot of French in the hotel, but the place is big enough to keep out of their way if required. The food was excellent with several choices and everything was of good quality. Both my husband and I have travelled to many countries, however this was our first time in Jamaica, we would have not hesitation in recommending both Jamaica and this hotel to anyone else. We both say that it was our best holiday ever and am currently looking at returning later this year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
3.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
36.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,580 reviews
55.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
40.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#25 of 64 in Montego Bay
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Address: Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $146 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing