We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Another great vacation !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another great vacation !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were at the Royal Decameron in April 2013 and decided to go back this past October. For anyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation with good food & drinks this is the place to go. We went the 1st time because of the individual cottages, there are so private and have all you need. The people at the Resort are so friendly and want you to have a good time. Thank you Damion for the best drinks and going out to dinner with us. Don't go expecting a five star resort and you won't be disappointed. Also one of the best deals going is staying at the Montego Bay Lounge at the Airport. For $30.00pp they bring you right thru security right into this beautiful lounge with TV's and sofa's everywhere. All the food and drink you want while you wait for your flight. Since you leave at least three hours in advance for the airport it's a great place to hang out and wait for your flight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joyceSCapeCod_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,567
    1,112
    422
    188
    162
See reviews for
647
1,550
52
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

ok, where to start. just arrived back from 8 nights, 2 adults 1 child and must say we had the most amazing time in JA.

ROOMS: Rooms are simple but comfortable. beautiful little huts, surrounded with beautiful grounds with banana trees and hamocks. daily maid service fantastic. TIP - you only get ONE bottle of water in the room for your entire stay so remember to keep hold of the bottle and refill at the bar.

FOOD: plenty to choose from, something for everyone! Jamaica night on Saturdays and Wednesdays is a must! We tried the a la catre thai, ok but bit limited choice, not my cup of tea.
One thing they should do though is leave the jug of water on your table at the restaurant rather than having to keep waiting.

ENTERTAINMENT: is none stop and really makes the holiday. the ENT fun crew are fantastic, big shout out to Scooby Bird Man, Empress and Vanilla - the one with the flavour! they work so hard and get everyone envolved (if they want to). good evening shows. showtime entrainment finishes at 11.30 where you can then head to the roots night club.

DRINK: good choice of cocktails, although no menu, but ask Richard to make one of his specials and you wont regret it!

BEACH AND WATER SPORTS: beach is great, have fun on the pedelos, kayaks free of charge and of course the trampoline which my godson LOVED!! great fun! also make sure you take advantage of a free trip on the catamaran, amazing and a must do.

TRIPS: we did 2 trips, the cool runnings catamaran with Dunns River Falls. total awesome day. the reagee boat party on the way back was so much fun!!
We also did mystic mountains with the bobsled and zip wire. amazing day with great scenery, a little over priced though. out of the 2 cool runnings is so much better value for money.

so much to say about this place. One thing i must say is a cannot wait to return to Jamaica. The people are so friendly. nothing is too much trouble. YEA MAN.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mcelhinneyrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The best 4 nights/5 days ever. We loved it. My honey and I had such a relaxing, quiet and wonderful time. Arrived at Montego Bay Airport went to ground Transportation (which we already had paid and arranged). Everything went like clock work, from the airport to check in. The staff from the front desk, attendants, entertainment crew, cooks, servers, bartenders and ground crew, were the most helpful and friendliness I have ever met. The rooms are quaint, clean and yes, AC plus ceiling fan was on. The whole place was constantly being cleaned and kept up. We loved the private little beaches and being able to have a little something to eat and drink whenever. The food was good and plentiful. Loved the moonlight walks and shows each night. Yes, we are going back... every year.

Room Tip: The gardenview cabins were nice. Try and get one deep on the grounds away from the public.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfox56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering/nothants
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just had one of my best holidays ever.Don't know what some of the muppets who gave a negative review were thinking when they came here.They are maybe used to the finer things in life,like McDonalds and KFC.The food was of great quality and always served with professionalism and a smile.
Yes,the rooms are slightly dated,but they were comfortable and everything was in working order,with fresh towels whenever you wanted them,and bedding changed regularly.The entertainment team were great, and the rest of the nightly entertainment was good.
The biggest bugbear about the trips was the length of time spent on the coach when on the mountain roads, but no blame can be attached to the hotel.
Two of the best staff in the hotel were Ollisha,the barmaid at the adults only pool, and Kyle ,the lifeguard.They really made the holiday extra special, as did all the staff in their own way.
So if you are thinking of going to Jamaica, this hotel needs to be near the top of your list.
PS,the beaches are cracking and the water warm.

Room Tip: Get a room in the garden area or beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sapper145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks in October. First of all I have to say I please don't listen to the negative feedback on here. It maybe a 3 star holiday, but the staff and food are all 5 star. The rooms are very clean and you get fresh towels everyday if you want. Ya sure the rooms could do with updating, but its a fantastic resort with a great quality and choice of food. The entertainment team are first rate (all of them) great fun during the day and in the evening. All the bar staff are great and it only takes them a couple of days to get to know what you drink, a real personal touch. We heard some really negative reports from other hotels, including "Sandals" and ya sure some people turned up at this hotel expecting a hotel you would find in Dubai and then moan about what they find, but we won't go to any other resort when we go back, everybody is so friendly and really makes it a great resort to visit.
All the trips we did were all great, we did:
Cool runnings
Nine mile
Martha brae river
Dolphin cove
Horse riding throw the sea
And the shopping trip to Ocha Rias which was an experience.
We would like to also thank Davian for giving us a fantastic last dinner with dinner on one of the piers.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chryston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went for 2 weeks in September 2013. Had a fantastic time ,well worth the money compared to what we normally pay for going to Spain. Everything was great, food,entertainment, rooms and staff. Weather fantastic apart from one day we had a tropical storm (to be expected in hurricane season) This is a 3* Hotel which should be rated at least a 4* plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Why average? 5 stars given to the beaches and warm clear water. 5 stars the resort set up: cottages surrounded by beautiful gardens. 4 stars how friendly the Jamaicans are overall, but 2 stars to the staff serving the food and bartenders. The food 2 stars. The drinks 2 stars. The cottages 2 stars (they need lots of TLC). BE AWARE if you go shopping. They like to play the game of how much money they can get from the tourists. Some stores will double the real price of the items sold to Jamaicans, others maybe just 60% more. DO NOT buy at the first store you find, shop around , make notes, and find the right price. IF you take the time to do this, you will save half the money spent, or buy twice as much.

Room Tip: Some new cottages have been built and some others remodeled. Ask if you can get one of those, but do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yutix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
3.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
41.0 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#20 of 68 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 2,953 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
3.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
1.7 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Property: Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Address: Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing