We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a GOOD time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Southfield, MI
15
Reviewed February 25, 2004

Over all I had a great vacation. Most of the people ar nice with an occassional attitude. I stayed at the Royal Decameron Club Carribean which is an all inclusive resort for seven days. There was good entertainment and a friendly staff. We stayed in single hut style rooms. We were located off the beach but to close to the entertainment which lasted till 11pm-11:30. The room location was the worse part! The food was good I liked it but my wife did not like the food much but she is REALLY picky. I also enjoyed water sports were also included as part of the package.We went on local tours in the Runaway Bay area and in Ocho Rios. If you decide to do this, I'm forwarning you that the homes are very poor so that the shock factor is less.Before you go you have to decide if you want to just lounge around at the resort/Hotel or if you want to do site seeing. If you want to site see than I would recommend Chukka Cove as your guide. We did Horse Back riding on land and through the water, Dunns River and River tubing with them. The driver(Stewey and Mike) were great. The Chukka Cove tour takes through the Mountains and shows you the Jamaican history. It is highly recommended. We also went Mountain Biking through Blue Mountain Tours which took a full day in the rain but I had fun. I recommend bringing bug spray, water shoes, sun block, swim suits and lots of dollars for tiping. We took along $50 worth of one dollar bills for seven days.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,612 - 3,618 of 3,955 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
14
Reviewed February 19, 2004

We were supposed to go to the Royal Decameron between Feb. 9 and Feb.
16. The thursday before we were to leave, we got a call from our travel agent to tell us that The Decameron had overbooked and therefore our reservation was cancelled. Maybe this is standard procedure for hotels, I wouldn't know as this was our first vacation away in many years. Our alternatives were The Montego Beach Resort or our money back. We weren't thrilled with either option.

I've always had good things to say about The Decameron hotels as I've stayed in a few but not anymore. I'll never book at another one of their hotels again. So, good luck to anyone who books here hopefully your reservations will be honoured.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2004

i got married there on 2nd jan 04, it was excellent!! Anne wedding co- is great, really worked hard for us, and rev thomas is wonderfull, if your getting married there, have paul the photographer, our photos are amazing. word of advice if oyu have a afternoon wedding, book your meal, early and demand that your wedding party be seated together. but over all we loved every minute of it.

1  Thank Jarvis08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bailey, Colorado
11
Reviewed February 16, 2004

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Royal Decameron in January. It was the best vacation we've had. If you want Jamacian culture, you'll find it there. Our room was very clean (no bugs), the food was great, loved the beach. There are areas to swim unlike some of the reviews I read that there wasn't a swimming area.
The grounds are beautiful and the staff friendly. We were actually upgraded to a 5 star resort the middle of the week. However, we would go back to RDC in a heart beat! Snorkeling was great right off the beach and the bike tour with Decamrod (our guide) was great! We can't wait to go back!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Gloucestershire, England
12
Reviewed February 11, 2004

Well, although i am only 17, this was one of the best resorts, and countries i have ever been to! There is loads to do around the resort, such as tennis, shuffleboard, swimming obviously, and all types of water activities! The staff were fabulous, and so were the entertainments. Rain or shine, they had a way of entertaining us to the very end of the night. As i was 16 when my family went, I was hoping to find other youngsters, my age to bond with. All the holiday makers were friendly, and made friends in no time!! we went in late july 2003, and still keep in touch with people we met. I cant say there was anything that couldnt keep someone occupied. Whether you go to lay by the pool all day, or hope for an active couple of weeks, you will not be dissapointed. There are many excurtions to choose from, like the Dolphin Cove... and my favourite, Dunn's River Falls. Although it looks scary, it is a good day out, especially if you choose to get there on the "Catamaran boat" such good fun! All types of rooms were superb, the appartments were clean and tidy, as were the cottages... the ocean was very refreshing in the hot climate, and there is plenty of beach to lay down a towel! The Beach Bar was fantastic, we went there regularly for our lunch and they do all sorts for you to choose. The evening meals were also very nice! there wasnt a meal there that i couldnt eat. It was all very nice. If you choose to spring some money for this holiday, you will be presently surprised with what you receive!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
The Midlands, England
12
Reviewed February 9, 2004

I agree with all those who can't understand the poor reviews for this location - I have recently returned from a week's holiday with friends & we had a wonderful time. Food was excellent, plenty of choice even for vegetarians & vegans! The people were helpful, happy and full of rhythmn, something you can't say for most of our customer services over here. We stayed in one of the Garden Cottages which was cleaned every day with fresh water left in our fridge. I would definitely go back. In fact, I'm on my way now.........

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Todd - New Jersey - USA
15
Reviewed February 4, 2004

First of all this is Jamaica, Not America!!, this place was great, Dont be put off by these reviews, Yes there are women walking around topless in thongs, i only saw young women, so what! my wife said she wished she was as brave! its the carribean!And smoking Wow a few guys smoking after their meal, big deal, i never had a problem! What i do think is, people copy of other review complaints because there bored! If you dont like 3 star pay for 5 star, and stop moaning.The food is great, the beach was clean, and yes there is a beach, if your worried look at one of the links above! to view the hotel.I am going back next year! and i would honestly say book this place, you wont be disapointed!came back Late Jan 2004!! *****

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
1.8 mi away
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Runaway Bay
82 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
1.7 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
36.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
40.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#24 of 63 in Montego Bay
3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Address: Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $174 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing