We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Nearby Hotels
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$312
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$495
$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$482
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$397
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Ambiance(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silver Creek Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$97
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franklyn D. Resort & Spa(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardiff Hotel & Spa(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$132
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piper's Cove Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,021)
Filter reviews
4,021 results
Traveler rating
1,810
1,303
503
223
182
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,810
1,303
503
223
182
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjetty barthe cottagesgarden cottagejasmine deltabeach attendantsdunns riveradult poolquiet poolwalk in wardrobemain barentertainment staffthree starnine mileholiday makersgreat holidayglass bottom boatjamaican restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,740 - 1,745 of 4,021 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was our second stay at royal Decameron fun Caribbean. Stayed May 4th thru May 8th for our anniversary. Once again the staff was friendly and attentive. The food is wonderful especially the nights they do the Jamaican jerk and curried goat. Entertainment is better than most all-inclusive resorts. The grounds are always immaculate and the rooms clean. What more do you need! Although our trip was a short one, we did the dolphin cove excursion and the horseback riding. Both were fun but for the price you did not get much time with the dolphins. I was hesitant about getting on a horse in the ocean but I can honestly say that it is a must do, it’s a blast! The company is called hooves? And john Wayne was our guide (at least that’s what he called himself) any way very fun. Lastly this resort gets a lot of bad comments when the French are there? We found them to be fun and we joined there dancing and French show each night, could not understand it all but still everyone was having fun in Jamaica and that’s all that matters right! So just like last year I say for the money you can’t beat this place. And please support the locals as much as you can, they work so hard for so little. My wife and I are looking forward to return next year!

Room Tip: spend a little more for the cottages!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank huckdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for 2 weeks in April.

Upon arrival we was greeted with a smile and a class of rum punch, Check in was fast and efficient, The porter showed us to our room which was a lovely cottage in the gardens, The cottage was just what we expected Clean and tidy with a bathroom and walk in wardrobe, a massive bed and air conditioning. Everything we could need for a 2 week vacation.

The Beaches are small but I find that a good thing as I can't stand long walks to the sea, The lifeguards rake up the seaweed in the morning and are constantly cleaning up through out the day. There are kayaks and and a catamaran that can be taken out just ask a life guard and they will sort things out for you.

There are 2 swimming pools 1 for adults only which is lovely and quiet with a small bar, and 1 big pool which is open to everyone of all ages and the animation team do activities here most of the day.

There are 3 restaurants, The main one where you have breakfast, lunch and dinner, has a wide selection foods we always found something to eat and they do Jamaican night twice a week (wed &sat) the jerk chicken and pork is wonderful, There is also the seafood restaurant you can book as many times as you like the red snapper is lovely, the Thai restaurant is the same as the seafood one you can go as many times as you like just book before hand, we tried it but it was not to my taste.

The staff are really friendly most of them have a good morning or a hello for you, The maids are great they clean your room every day and make towel sculptures for you they don't change the sheets everyday if you want clean towels or sheets put the dirty ones in the bath there is a sign in the room telling you this. The gardeners keep the grounds wonderful if you get a bit burnt ask a gardener to get you some aloe vera they are more than happy to cut you some from the gardens it grows all over the place, they will also get you fresh coconut and mango down from the trees for you to eat or drink, Nothing is to much for the waiters if you don't like the way your coffee is (it is strong) tell them they will sort it out for you, your water glass never empties. The bar staff, some are really great some are not so great and can be a bit surly but you can't have everything. Ask them for a surprise drink I swear they have a competition on to see who can make the most potent drink on the resort. The animation team are there nearly all day they work up to 16 hrs a day they are with out a doubt the hardest working animation team I have ever met.

The French, I had no issue's with them in fact I got along with them quite ok I personally did not see nasty rude people I saw polite people enjoying there holiday. In fact I saw ruder English.

You will be told by your tour operator that it is not safe outside the complex but this is not the case, we went out a number of times just don't be flash don't go out with hundreds of pounds and flash ya cash around or dripping in gold leave that at home back in England, try the pub over the road it's called the british bulldog, (nice and cheap as well) they are really nice people in there and it is owned by a british couple so you get a warm welcome.

This is a 3 star holiday resort if you want 5 star try a 5 star resort.

This resort had everything we wanted or needed we could not of had a better holiday anywhere else. It was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Me and my family have spent a wonderful two weeks in Royal Decameron in March 2013.

We were very pleased with the food quality and choice, the types of food changed daily and we were never disappointed. The atmosphere in the hotel is lovely. We quickly got to know most of the staff, who are wonderful and always willing to spend time with you. The only problem for us were the restaurant staff who are very cold and almost robotic when doing their job. It would be nice to see they are happy to help you with your drinks or take an empty plate. The restaurant is not too big, it is always best to eat early, because the tables get taken up quickly.

This was similar during night shows, if you did not arrive early and sit at the table you would not have one at all by the time the show started. The shows were good, always fun, especially the ones which get you up on the stage with all the crew ; Princess, Candy, Scooby, Tommy and Jermaine.

The cottages were lovely, could do with refurbishment, but had everything we needed and were always very clean. The beds are massive, air con always works and you even get a TV with channels in all languages. We stayed in garden view cottages and recommend these to everyone.

One pointer; DO NOT book beach view cottages. They are near BOTH bars and pool, all evening and night entertainment is literally NEXT to them and everyone who wants to get to pool or jetty bar, pool, stage or anywhere else has to walk through your door step. We wanted to book these and are glad we didn't.

Also, if you are going to use taxi service on the hotel premisses, make sure you get a good deal because they rip you off as much as they can. But this applied to pretty much all shops everywhere.

The staff at the reception are not very nice, had few issues with them when it came to returning my deposit. At the arrival we had to give deposit for each room, which we thought was pretty strange, if you do not keep your receipt (which was not mentioned to me at all) you may not get it back at the end of your holiday.

The bars are great, staff are fun and surprise you with many different drinks. Beer is great, wine not so much. Apart from that any spirit you can think of is available. Never had a problem, cocktails were superb.

Kids club is also great. Cassy is brilliant and always took great care of the children offering many activities like archery, drawing, games and outdoor activities.

Overall, this hotel was very good and we had a lovely time. Recommend it for everyone, couples and families.

Room Tip: Garden Cottages, number 70s -80s are very close to the beach and very quiet with privacy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank waldek k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband & I and four friends just returned from a week's vacation at the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean and couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable holiday! There's nothing negative to say about the resort; the staff were fantastic, the food was great, the grounds were spotless and the beaches were beautiful. The staff at this resort goes above and beyond to make sure you are happy and comfortable. We booked with Air Canada Vacations and the trip to and from Jamaica went without a hitch. Check in at the hotel was a breeze and we were shown to our rooms after a couple of "welcome" drinks. We all loved the adorable cottages; it didn't really matter we had garden view rooms instead of beach view. It didn't take long to get to know a lot of the staff - a few of the most memorable were Kermit in the dining room, Scooby Doo at the Jetty Bar, and Princess, Candy and Jermaine with the entertainment crew. The shows were different every night and very well put together. The staff at the resort work very long hours - you'd see them in the morning at breakfast, at the pool during the day and doing the shows at night and they always had a huge smile on their faces. This was our first trip to Jamaica and the Royal Decameron Club made it an unforgettable experience for us; we will return to Jamaica and will stay at the Royal Decameron Club, hopefully very soon. Thanks for a great time!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ML H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and i went here about 3 yrs ago,and we hsd a fantastic time. We had a beachfront cottage near the jetty bar. The food was lovely, always plenty of choice,and the jerk chicken & curry goat at the small restaurant at lunchtime was gorgeous! We spent most evenings at the swing (jetty) bar and were hugely entertained by Patel, George & Bad Boy. We had a great time with them, they were so friendly and the banter between them was great to hear. We are now
looking at Jamaica again for 2014, but having just read the recent reviews, we do not want to go here again!! We encountered some rude & aggressive french people in Dominican,and we do not want to repeat the experience again. Management please note!! You are obviously unaware or
do not care about the views of other people. If you are prepared to let the French monopolise your hotel, then please do so, but we as a couple do not want to be there!!
Please note!! We did not travel there Aug 12, it was Feb 2011, but I could not put that date in box.

Room Tip: Beachfront cottages are lovely, but the cottages in the grounds also look nice. Do not choose the courtyard rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shekhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews