We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time unlucky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“3rd time unlucky”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

After two fantastic visits to the royal decamaron we were looking forward to this years holiday. On arrival we were very disappointed having paid an extra £600 ,we ended up getting far less for our money on this occasion.
Even though the setting is excellent and the staff very friendly we,found on this occasion the food was very repetitive and inadequate at times. The themed nights seemed far and few between and when they ran out of food, whiich was often, they replaced it with very sub standard food. The bar staff were great as ever and looked rather embarrassed when they consistantly ran out of drinks, who would have thought Jamaica would run out of rum. On top of all this the entertainment was almost non existent. Even though the entertainment crew tried there best often they were wandering around aimlesly and leader less. I spoke to the manager about my concerns and all he was interested in was pointing out that the rooms had been up dated (which was hard to notice) with a flat screen tv and redecoration. I do not spend over £3000 and travel across the Atlantic to watch tv, I can do that at home.
My suggestion is they bring back rocky and make him overall manager.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,728
    1,230
    466
    206
    178
See reviews for
738
1,759
58
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Opelika, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Decameron in Runaway Bay, Jamaica, while attending our son's wedding. OMGoodness, what a resort!!! From the time we checked in, until the time we checked out, we received great service. The staff are so friendly and courteous. Every staff member we met made a point of greeting us. The food was excellent and offered many choices. While we were relaxing under an umbrella on the beach, we enjoyed sipping our drinks. Ever so often a staff member would come by and collect the empty glasses. Our gardenview hut was awesome!! We will definitely visit the Royal Decameron again.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a hut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A totally honest opinion. On arrival the great warm welcome you expect from this place. This was our fifth visit and everything seemed okay. We were given room 50 which was okay, but as we were repeater guests we were under the impression that we would have been upgraded to a better room. On our third visit we had room 59 and a bottle of champagne waiting in our room.
The gardens and gardening staff are fantastic and do a wonderful job as do the beach staff. Bar staff are great and some are alot of fun such as Goerge,Damion,Jerome and Hez (stars) Only problems with the bars some of the drinks ran out (apparently this does not happen when the French are there)
Food: we found this trip the food was average. Very repetative and you had to eat early to get the best quality meats etc as later on the cold meat was very fatty and the chicken was all bone. Veg was under cooked, as was the pasta. Themed nights these used to be regular eg.Mexican, Jamaican and American but now they are only once every two weeks.
Breakfast: Poor, bacon used to be every day, then it changed to every other day. Now its every other day but not at the weekends. Butter is cheap wipped rubbish. Sausages are chopped up rubbish, although ONE DAY we had some nice whole breakfast sausages.No yoghurts as in previous years, seems to be geared up to Jamaican guests. (they fill the hotel spare rooms with Jamaican people especially at weekends, they can be disruptive). Bottled water in room was replaced when empty, you now have to keep the bottle and refill it yourself at the bar. Sometimes you have to help yourself to tea and coffee in the morning as they can be very under staffed. Look out for Donavan, fitzroy, Mr White and Mr Greene dressed with white shirts.they are great people (Restuarant supervisors).
The French Connection: This is what we have been told. The French will be returning in Nov-April with at least 70 rooms booked already. This will mean the bars will be stocked with plenty of drinks, they will have their own fun crew, their own private beach parties and a different menu. When this was mentioned to some management they denined all knowledge, yet we were told by other staff who deal with guests on a daily basis that all the above was correct. If you go between the months I have mentioned you may regret your holiday as they do take over. Believe me we witnessed a French person at the bar and it was not nice how they treated the bar staff. The hotel now shares its facilities with fun club caribbean (previously hedonisum) which has quite a few French guests. On our holiday the hotel was half to three quaters full it seems that Decameron are running the hotel down, or trying to put off the English and American guests so it can be French orientated. First choice/thomson need to address the forementioned problems. Entertainment: shows okay singers are awful, and they appear almost every night too.
Summary
If you've never been go you will love the place and the staff. Do not go when the French are there. We have spoken to a few repeater guests and they will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobitEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

this was our 4th visit. On Arrival everything looked just how we remembered it to be .but as the days passed we noticed things had really changed such as the food its the same day in day out less choice than other visits
Staff not happy anymore and bar always running out of drink. But all in all i love the place and will go back again and again. I would like to say a big thankyou to the fun crew princess puff nemo Kirby and crazy great guys best set of fun crew staff ever!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Well what can we say. First of all don't believe everything you read. We arrived last monday after a 10hr flight( the only down side) We were greated with a welcome to jamaica and complimentary drink. We were escorted to our beach front cottage and we began to unpack( jamaican time). our wedding was on the thursday so we met tashara on the tuesday morning and arranged and went through everything. Everything went so smoothly on the day and it's the day we will both remember for the rest of our life. The food is brilliant, the people are so friendly and the rooms are cleaned every day.

Room Tip: beach cottages are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shaunjeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

we stayed here in 2011, my son ,my partner and myself. on arrival, the reception was quite good. as we arrived at around 9 in the morning, our rooms were not ready. we were advised to leave our cases and go for a trip into Ochi. we went out the front, picked a really nice taxi guy and went to ochi. we came back from Ochi and our rooms still were not ready. around 3.30 our rooms were ready. both rooms were right at the bottom of the resort, no problem except my room was next door to the restaurant. the staff did not seem to realise that at 7am you would be asleep and not expecting them to be banging pots around, having conversations outside your window with raised voices, just not considerate really. The dining area was adequate, but full of wasps. The food 4 out of 10. The hotel manager, who I thought was a Columbian drug lord was quite amusing. his kids were dreadful brats who's nanny was at her wits end with them. The staff didn't seem to have much time for them or their mother. The bar staff were definitely the best thing about The Decameran. Forget the stage and the second rate entertainment. They made our stay worth the money. If you stay at this hotel. get out go see the country as there is not much to do within the hotel. I have given it a very good rating because the staff made up for the downfalls of the hotel itself.

Room Tip: chose the hexagonal chalet's if you can. great little rooms. they give you the privacy if thats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed from 23/7/12 to 6/8/12 and had a great time. The hotel is a 3 star but the bungalow we stayed in had loads of space and was kept clean and tidy by the staff. Although basic it has almost all you need in a room where you are only going to shower and sleep in. One point is there are no fridges but that is only minor as the air con keeps the room nice and cool. The pool area around the main lobby/bar is quite small so head for the beach, which is several little coves with plenty of sun beds to go around with bars at both ends and the pool bar in the middle, not to forget the swing bar which is a good bar to chill out in. All the bars serve drinks in plastic glasses at all times but in the main dining areas glasses are used. The mixes are a bit low due to a full glass of ice being used with every drink so pace yourselves. the main buffet restaurant is excellent. There are plenty of choices but you can get a bit used to it if you are on a 2 week holiday. The staff try to keep on top of things and are always running about trying to put cling film back onto food which some guests just pile into without a thought for hygiene. Yes there are some flies around but you are in the Caribbean and it is hot, but a few insecticutor machines could help to stop that, We tried the themed restaurants but were not too impressed with the fish one as the meal seemed awfully similar to what was on offer in the main buffet, just in nicer surroundings, but it made a change.
The animation team are good and try to get you all involved during the day and at night. The entertainment is not very good as the sound system is a bit tired and does not help the singers when it breaks down during your set. The nightly female singer was, how can I put this kindly, not very good. So don't expect a 4 star act. Week 1 acts were the same on week 2 so grin and bare it.
We were surprised to find free WiFi in the lobby area which was a bonus, when the router managed to cope with it. There was also a safe in your room but I think it was a rip off to charge US$2 per day to hire a lock for it! This should have been free! Also you have to leave an authorised credit card slip at the desk when you register, but you cant charge anything to your room! It will only be used to bill you if you lose something, towel , lock etc.
Organised trips are also available and we went to Dunns Falls by Catamaran. The falls were good but the "Guides" are nothing more than salesmen who only want to sell you a $40 dvd at the end of it. The cat was ok but a bit overpriced. We went on a similar priced trip in Cuba and it was a whole day compared to the just half day on this one. But most people we spoke to said their trips were worth it.

Room Tip: Sea view cottages are on a main thoroughfare
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinW24386819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
3.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
36.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#24 of 63 in Montego Bay
3,175 reviews
55.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
42.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Property: Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Address: Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing