We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Nice hotel we had a garden view cottage well away from the main pool/activity area so nice and quite at night. There were four little sandy bays and the one by our cottage was about 100m away with a bar set on the beach. Food was OK wife is a bit fussy about her food but we found some thing for her to eat in the selection of a night. Staff were very good but the entertainment of a night was not up to much and very loud. We were warned about going out on our own so we just went on a helicopter ride with an other couple. The trips offered by our travel agent were very expensive and not worth it. Had a nice holiday but would not go back because you can not walk about with true safety outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a cottage around number 99 not to far for all amenities but far enough for no noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alan144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,063 - 2,069 of 3,883 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

My partner and I returned from the Royal Decameron at Runaway Bay this morning after a fabulous and very relaxing 2 weeks. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens and the rooms are mostly low rise round pretty roofed bungalows which looked far nicer than the high rise appartments surrounding the beach area you see at other hotels. We stayed in the courtyard, which was quaint in ways, but was not my ideal accomodation. The room was quite tired and in need of tlc but was cleaned daily to the best of its ability. I would have much preferred a garden or ocean cottage. The ocean view ones looked especially inviting although I understand they too are quite basic inside. Despite our efforts to upgrade, we could not enjoy the sea lapping on our doorstep as the hotel was so full.
The staff at the hotel are incredibly polite and keen to please. They work so so hard. the entertainment crew (fun crew) seem to be working all the time, early in morning to late at night where they show patience, tolerance, energy, brilliant humour and amazing dance skills. The evening etertainment is fun and relaxed but they have some very good acts.
The waiting staff in the restaurant were exceptional, particularly Radcliff, Patrick, Dwayne, Althea and Greg. The food at the restaurant was brilliant, varied and very tasty. There was plenty on offer for all tastes (although i didnt have the children with me so i cant speak for younger tastes) and there was plenty of fresh fruit, salad and vegetables to accompany the many meat, fish and pasta dishes available. We ate at the Nyamings and Jasmin Delta too. It was nice to be served occasionally although the waiting staff will serve you drinks at your table in the main restaurant. The waiting staff work realy hard and they greatly appreciated a dollar or two tip for their efforts and it ensured you had good service throughout your stay. Bar staff are frendly and serve fab and generous cocktails. Yum!
The lifeguards and beach crew were great fun too and spent ages snorkling and scouring the sea for our lost key to save us the $50 (US) cost of replacing. They didnt give up and found it a couple of hours after. Massive thank you to them!!! We enjoyed the free Catamaran, snorkling, kayaks and glass bottom boat where we saw loads of lovely fishies and urchins! Fresh towels are available as often as you wish. Sunbeds are readily available and there is no 'pre dawn rush' to claim a bed.
The tennis courts are good and the gym is ok. this could do with updating.
We saw a few couples who'd married or renewed their vows and they were all overwhelmed with the service and effort from the staff. They all had a beautiful day.

Overall I was very impressed with everything about the hotel, staff and atmosphere. I would avoid the courtyard although it is quiet. I would recommend a garden or ocean cottage next time. They are very pretty!
I recommend this hotel to people who prefer to be away from the hustle and bustle and want a more intimate, honest, welcoming and friendly stay. Just dont bank on luxury accomodation or you'l be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welshtink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

First the good: friendly staff, beautiful grounds, lots of nice people from England, room cleaned every day, good entertainment, lots to do. Dunn's Falls, Glistening Waters.
Bad: barking dogs. We had a suite that faced the mountains. Dogs barking constantly - all night, all morning. Dogs there are left to protect the property and are never inside. I found this annoying. Food - not alot of choices for the picky eaters in our family. We ate alot of fruit and salads. Breakfast was fine but we struggled with lunch and dinner. You really couldn't leave hotel unless you were with a driver or someone from the hotel.
Would we go back? probably not - I would go for 4 days or so but 7 was too long. We missed the food we liked and I felt confide to the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimba962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I've stayed in quite a few hotels in Jamaica and this one is the best. It's smaller than the huge all-inclusives that you find in the same area and is more relaxed, intimate and laid-back. Because of its smaller size you get to know the staff and many of the guests so the atmosphere is very friendly and the staff take very good care of you. The accommodation is low-rise, so all you see from the beach is pretty white cottages, which keeps the nice natural feel of the place. Food is great, staff are lovely and entertainment and beach facilities are good. It's not the most lively or racuous hotel, but perfect if you want a friendly, more relaxed getaway. Ideal for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank London_Mongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Me my wife Ruth had the BEST HOLIDAY WE HAVE EVER HAD!! This is a wonderful resort, if you want a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings this is the place to be. We have never stayed in a cottage before but we loved it, they are basic but they have really comfortable king size beds, showers good and air con's spot on, my only gripe with them is that they don't have a fridge but it's not a big deal. The food is AMAZING, i could never get bored with jamaican food especially the curry goat yum yum! If you something to remind you of home then you won't go wrong with the breakfasts, the sausages are the nicest i've ever tasted. If you don;t want to put weight on don't come here as you will love the food. The staff are very friendly and the whole place has a very homely down to earth feel about it. The beaches are a little disapointing but if you go to the beach at the furthest to the left of the resort it is quite nice and very tranquil with it's own bar, same applies to the adult pool. We went all over Jamaica and found it very friendly and beautiful but don't bother doing the Kingston trip - waste of time and money, you only go round boring bits, you can't visit trenchtown as it's too dangerous and if you want to do a Bob Marley trip do the Nine Miles one instead much better. We took up the offer to try the montego bay hotel on our last week, BIG MISTAKE.....DON'T GO THERE unless you like being surrounded by noisy drunk teenagers and horrible booming music constantly, the food is crap and theres no beach AWFUL. Fortunately after seeing the very friendly manager there iwe were taken back to Runaway bay the very next day THANK GOD, it felt like coming home. Big hello to little Talia and her lovely family that little girl kept us entertained every night although i have to say the entertainment was very varied and very good. To sum up the resort and Jamaica itself is amazing and this hotel should be at least a 4 star not a 3. If you're going, you lucky devils.....ENJOY!!!

Room Tip: Go for the cottages between no.30 and 50, they are in nicer grounds and near quiet pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DonnyDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

What a brilliant place. Weather was great not to hot when we got there so was a good start to get used to weather. Staff where great from the start very helpful. We got 2 cottages for our family. there where near each other which was great. The cottages where just what you needed. they are updating cottages as we where there. The staff where fun fun and made you feel right at home. they had a laugh and put them selves out. The work long hours for little money but gave everything. lots to do and free not like some where water sports where extra. food brilliant and great to try so many different dishes even our 14 year old eat and enjoyed. fun crew brilliant so funny and always on the go. night time entertainment was good but a bit same but always a laught. if its your anniversary or birthday let them know and they will do things nice (does depend on who you take too though) as one family got free t shirts for their anniversary but we didnt. they make it special if you return which we will defiantly be doing. the staff remembered your faces and everyone always had a smile on their faces. be nice to the nice as we saw some very rude people and wasnt nice to see. these people are doing a job and a lot better then some restaurants we've been to in england. we went to lots of different places must dophine cove and shaw park gardens. shopping was an experience (thats all i can say on that). we had a wonderful time and will go again thanks to brave on, jerky, and rest of fun crew, george (at bar) jarhom, wibble wobble (life guard), and lots more. thomas cook rep patrick was brilliant (sorrys didnt get to say bye). a must place to go for a family and low key place with lots of fun and lovely people. see you next year.

Room Tip: cottage great they where updating, air con and fan a must biggest bed ever great for the time you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank mandi079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Went there for Christmas as a couple but took our sons and grandson, what can i say, the cottages were great, part of the charm is the roof of the cottage, hearing the rain during the night, the crickets and frogs made lots of noise which was fab, hearing the sea as you went to sleep was wonderful.

All of the staff were great, the beach and gardens are beautiful, the jetty bar is to die for with George entertaining all the time, his rendition of big bamboo is not to be missed.
There was always plenty of food to try, even if you didn't like the cooked food, always plenty of fresh meat and salads. Coffee was always available especially welcome early in the morning and during the afternoon.

The drinks were strong and plentiful, a big thankyou to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

The fun crew were great, and all the staff were great with our 2 year old grandson who loved them all. The beach coves are very safe for children as our little one loved the sea.

If you like a chilled out time in beautiful surroundings this is the place to do it.

Outside the resort is Pauline's shop she was great, braiding my son's hair at a great price.
In the Jasmine Delta had a fantastic steak

Room Tip: The cottages are great always stayed in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank JamaicaLover186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
1.8 mi away
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
#9 of 14 in Runaway Bay
76 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
1.7 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
40.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#24 of 63 in Montego Bay
3,219 reviews
2.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Club Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Address: Main Street Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $160 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Club Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Runaway Bay about an hour from Montego Bay International Airport, the Royal Decameron Club Caribbean is located in one of the most beautiful and picturesque place of the island, populated by friendly and happy people. This hotel's architecture offers incredible paths through the gardens and terraces until you reach the 2 swimming pools, one exclusively for adults and another with all the facilities for children. This hotel also has a long dock for sunbathing. The cottage-style rooms bring a tropical environment and let you enjoy the peace of the beach where you can partake in a large variety of water sports. Its restaurants offer many different types of cuisine which range from typical Jamaican flavors to the exquisite tastes of Asian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Club Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Hotel Caribbean
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Caribbean
Royal De Cameron
Club Caribbean Jamaica
Decameron Jamaica Royal
Caribbean Club Decameron Royal
Club Decameron Jamaica Royal
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Jamaica
Royal Decameron Club Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing