We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good in parts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I went a long time ago but the pluses are feeling safe, lovely grounds, peaceful and a great private beach with no-one on it most of the time.

also the rooms are really big and clean

Downside is the food was all a bit overdone for me as was the service at mealtimes.

When I was there no-one answered emails I sent so I didn't get a taxi ordered for me to take me from the airport at Mobay to the hotel which is quite a long way away.

When I asked for a morning call nothing was arranged so if I hadn't woken up myself that would have been a problem.

I thought people were keen but the way they were trained was old fashioned. They should try visiting a few five star hotels and see what's happening there instead of looking back to the 1980s

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molennium1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 77 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Of all of the boutique hotels that I have stayed in around the world I think this is one of the best!
The staff cannot do enough to help you, and the food is excellent. The rooms are clean and well equipped, and the gardens are a delight. It is a walk to the beach, but if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing break then this really is the place for you. I heard that a spa is going to be added to the hotel which will be a bonus, but for a small, intimate boutique hotel then this is perfect.
Sally Ievers, Birmingham, UK

Room Tip: I think that the rooms at the front of the hotel are the best - great views over golf course and sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a training hotel so service is very good. The rooms are nice. The food taste was just above average.Food presentation was excellent

The down side is that it's not an all inclusive, they have a meal plan but its a bit complicated, they should just make it an all inclusive and call it a day. Also there is no gym.

If you are looking for a place to unwind I would recommend Cardiff Hotel. No evening entertainment nor entertainment coordinators, just peace and quiet. I would easily stay here again, it was quiet cozy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gordonpierre88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The rooms are superb.... However, the food was not appealing and wasn't really worth it... The staff seemed friendly and ready to serve.. The facilities were decent.. I enjoyed my short stay but left earlier than expected because of the food... I must say though, the chef's presentation was breathtaking...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonneilMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I spent 6 nights at the Cardiff Bay Hotel while attending a conference in October 2012. I was really impressed with the hotel, the staff were friendly and attentive, the rooms comfortable and the food excellent.

The Hotel is about an hours drive away from Montego Bay Airport, and its located on a hill above Runaway Bay. It's not on the beach, but I'm informed it does have its own private beach which is happy to drive you down to.

If your looking to stay at an all inclusive beach resort, I wouldn't come here, but if you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel with a pool, excellent food and friend service I'd recommended it.

The hotel is linked to a training college which means many of the staff are young, enthusiastic and keen to look after you. They were brilliant. The food was plentiful, served on terrace overlooking the coast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fatboytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel has recently rebranded as The Cardiff and the change is for the better. We paid a rate of $180 for two including breakfast and dinner and it was great value for money. The food is excellent and plentiful and the dining room staff is very friendly and helpful. On the weekend that we were there we received additional menu items courtesy of the chef and that was a nice surprise. The rooms are not fancy but are quite spacious and have a nice large balcony with a great ocean view if you are on the second floor. It is not seaside but the beach is just a few minutes on foot and about two minutes by car and if you feel lazy there is a pool. One caveat - there's not a lot to do at the hotel - it is small and in the evening there are no shows and no entertainment (at least when I was there) so you may have to go offsite. If you are looking for luxury you probably won't enjoy this but if you want a nice clean and comfortable place that doesn't charge an arm and a leg this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room - it may cost a little bit more but you will enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jamaicanyardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karibikfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Runaway Bay hotels
1 mi away
Piper's Cove Resort
Piper's Cove Resort
#7 of 14 in Runaway Bay
124 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
0.2 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
0.8 mi away
Club Ambiance
Club Ambiance
#12 of 14 in Runaway Bay
1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Creek Resort
Silver Creek Resort
#10 of 14 in Runaway Bay
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Hotel & Spa

Address: Ricketts Ave, Cardiff Hall, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $132 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cardiff Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cardiff Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Hotel & Spa Jamaica/Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing