We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing”

Review of Idle Hours

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hassy74
Pacific Junction
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed December 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Idle Hours the first week of December. Donna was our housekeeper, Malcom our cook, and Robert our night time security. The house was spotless and the meals were very good. We've rented homes around the US and in St. John, USVI before and have liked the flexibility and privacy of our own space each time. The staff here were very nice and accommodating to our wants and needs. We had all but one meal on the covered porch looking out over the beach. The only reason for us giving a four star review instead of five is the road noise through the night. Our bedroom (the burgundy room) was closer to the road than the blue bedroom. My husband and I live on an acreage in the US and so for us the sound of semis using their air brakes was jarring. Once we were asleep we were fine. Turning up the fan on the a/c helped a lot. If we return to the area we would stay at Idle Hours again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jammy
Mo Bay
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a joy to discover this little gem for a week long stay in Jamaica. We have visited the island before but this was our first time in a private villa and having tried it once I think this would be our first choice over a hotel.
The house is a quaint beach house set directly on its own beach - the photos on the listing are accurate but really don't do it justice. The fact we could hear the sea 24/7 was priceless, that we had free range on our own beach unbeatable. The rooms were spacious and clean and the beds very comfortable.
What made the stay for us was the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Mr Johnson, the cook, fed us morning, noon and night with some really wonderful meals while Donna, the housekeeper's, warm smile and gentle demeanour made us feel right at home. At night unobtrusive security provided by Mr Mason and the villa's own watch dog, a lovely rescue dog called Sandy, ensured we could sleep soundly in our beds.
We didn't really venture far from the villa - who would when you have the crystal clear Caribbean Sea literally on your doorstep - but we did venture into Ocho Rios, some 30 minutes away, where there were plenty of attractions if you want to do the tourist thing: Dunns River Falls, Dolphin Cove, Mystic Mountain etc. Montego Bay isn't far away either.
All in all this was a wonderful break from the madness of the real world, we were very sorry to leave but one thing is for sure we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the beachfront location
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2008
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 for a stay in March 2007
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing