We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flavours Beach Bar and Restaurant

Flavours Beach Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Runaway Bay
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“really good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We went here for dinner one night - as a break whilst staying at Breezes Runaway Bay. The restaurant is about 5 to 10 minutes walk along the beach or road from the hotel and provided a really lovely evening that felt a bit more Jamaican. The people in there seemed to be locals who were quite chatty and the atmosphere was a nice contrast from the hotel. We both ordered lobster and thought it was great. Overall had a really good evening and would definitely recommend it. The only caveat is that the lobster wasn't especially cheap.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JRP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    71
    29
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place Day or Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We rented a Villa just down the beach from Flavours.
One must stop in there if yoiu are close.
We had a Rastaman draw our portraits ate and drank there most days for about 4 weeks
The red Stripe is cold, the food is hot and they will change the tunes if you have something you want to share. Cant remember when the music stopped but I was out by about 3am each night (thanks Mr. Appleton) and the tunes could still be heard in our Villa.
The locals, Vegas and his crew were quite a sceen getting high and doing their crafts in the morning only to sell on the beach all day. Like a bunch of kids sitting around laughing and making crafts to sell to the ``all inclusives`` tourists that wander beyond their gated beach.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Escape From the Hotel Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Visited FLavours on Monday 11 September 2011 with another couple form Breezes Runaway Bay. Great local restaurant; infact we were the only "non Jamaicans" there. We settled on fried chicken & chips with 2 drinks which came to $19 US. The otehr couple had a jerk burger/chips and teh fried chicken, rice and salad for $25 US. Great food chicken was moist, fries hot and the beer cold. We felt very safe here, sat bty the beach until our ride came to pick us up ($20 US return from Breezes Runaway Bay.... yes we could have walked the 5 mins but it was getting dark.

We would highly recommend Flavours fro anyone wanting to escape the resort for a couple of hrs.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Bagpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Local Hangout For Tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed down the beach and walked to Flavours one day for lunch. It was my wife and me and a group ofabout 8 others. Two of the resort staff went with us as well. My wife and I each had lunch platters and we bought one for the staff member as well. With 3 lunch platters and nine beers our bill was only$40 US. A good deal IMO. The food was very good. I had the baked chicken with rice and peas. My wife had the fried chicken with fries. It was more than she could eat so I finished it lol. The fried chicken was very good as well.
The staff at Flavours made us feel very welcome and we will definately return again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ravenmaniac069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Complete rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We went here because of the reviews. It is more for the locals than tourists. Beer was cold and cheap but seafood dinner was $75.00 for two small plates and not enough to fill a child. The bartender was rude as if she did not want us there even with a tip. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wallah_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavours Beach Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Flavours Beach Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing