We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A last minute week away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Ambiance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Ambiance
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A last minute week away”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My wife and I couldn't resist a cheap bargain and since this is near the end of the winter season, we decided to take a last minute Sunwing flight to Jamaica, and stay at Club Ambiance. Lots of other reviews cover the resort well, and those that I have read are more or less accurate, knowing that a complaint about a faulty hair dryer, or something miner is really not anything we should get excited about,so I wont go into massive detail, but the entire stay there was excellent. We had the basic room onn the ground floor, and we were happy with it. Water was hot whenever needed, although it did vary in temperature in the middle of a shawer. Yes, the resort shows its age, and yes, the food is good, although there was limited choice, but I believe that is because the resort was ~ 1/3 to 1/2 full since it was virtually the end of the season.Any more food put out just wouldn't get eaten. Staff were all excellent, and I felt that they were genuinely happy to provide excellent care, and not just to get tips. Within a few days, you got to remember their names. I cannot say anything negative. Expect a few quirks, which made it fun, but no issues. In Jamaica it seems like there is only one beer, and I am a beer drinker, so I would have liked a better selection. It is either Red Stripe or nothing, not that there is anything wrong with Red Stripe. All the guests were friendly, were there for happy times, and it was very easy to strike up a conversation, or conversly, to mind your own business and every body was happy. AC worked and was quiet. TV had about half dozen TV channels, most of which were US, only one Jamaican, from Kingston. One of the channels was HBO.

Room Tip: As you enter the resort, East ( turn right as you enter) is quiet side, and near the pool. West, (or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Phillip76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubAmbianceJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Club Ambiance, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hi Guest,

I am happy to know you enjoyed yourself here at our Resort. We acknowledge the little bits and pieces that can be done to enhance our Resort, and so we are currently renovating and refurbishing the detailed are areas.
Glad you appreciates the service given to you by our staff. Our staff will go the extra mile to give you the best quality service so you feel at home. We want your stay to be a memorable one. We love to have you as apart of the family here at our Resort.

We anticipating your speedy return back here at our Resort.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    438
    199
    113
    115
See reviews for
40
632
78
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

As long as you realize that this is a 3-star all inclusive hotel and NOT a 5-star, you will have a fabulous time at this resort.
My suggestion? Wait for a promotion/sale to offset the cost. Rooms are not worth $300+ a night, but for 40-50% off, it's a great deal.
Again - know this, and you will love being at Club Ambiance!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the poolside - that side of the hotel is right next to a local spot - we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank TeamTNTMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubAmbianceJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Club Ambiance, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Guest,

Thank you for your review. It means alot to us when you take the time out and give us your feedback on your stay at our Resort.
Glad to know you enjoyed youself and hope you will return for another memorable stay.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at Club Ambiance Feb. 3rd to the 12th, for the 3rd time, and once again we had a great time here!!!
To start with, I had requested a certain room, upon arrival we were greeted with big smiles from the ladies at the front desk and told that the room we had requested was ready, which was nice because we arrived a couple of hours early. The women at the front desk are great!!! Always a smile and always happy to answer any questions, as well as very professional.
As with other visits I found the food to be really, really good!! The wait staff is wonderful, they all do a great job and will do anything to see that your dining experience is what you want.
The kitchen staff also deserves BIG PROPS for the great food they put out. I especially love the desserts they make...something for everyone!!!
As for the rest of our vacation, Club Ambiance gives us exactly what we want....rest, relaxation, peacefulness!!! If you want a party all nite...they have that going on too.
The rooms are spacious and have great views. Housekeeping kept our room clean and smelling fresh everyday, our housekeeper Fay, is the BEST!!! Great smile and a great voice, always enjoyed her singing as she worked.
We will be visiting Club Ambiance again FOR SURE next year!! Everything about this place works for us....but mainly because of all the great staff this place has and how they strive to make you feel soooo at home while visiting their great country!
Can't wait to go back and see all the friends weve made over the last few years!!!!!

Sarah and Dennis

Room Tip: Love, Love, Love room #60!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubAmbianceJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Club Ambiance, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback.
As your title states, “good vibes, good time and great people” that you will always get at Club Ambiance. We go the extra mile to give you prompt and efficient service. We want you to feel 'a home away from home', so we ensure for you to get a memorable vacation.

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hole was terrible the only thing it had going for it was the clean rooms an great staff , there evening entertainment was the the same thing every night . If you were lucky to find the entertainment in the day that was a bouse . If you were a pot head or like to to run around nude your in the right place . Don't get me wrong to each his own but there was no drink menu . The place is very run down .

Room Tip: Fined a different hotel if you was Nt a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanweighll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubAmbianceJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Club Ambiance, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi guest,

Thank you for your review. We love to hear from our guest.

We are sorry to hear your expectation was on par.
You making the best of it tells me that we are not so bad at all. We are currently doing some upgrading of our property. We are hoping that you may still visit us as we try our best to offer our quality service and hygienic spacious rooms.
We do acknowledge your concern and is most grateful that you chose Club Ambiance in the first instant. We may now take this in great consideration, so as to make your next trip a better one.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My friend and I bought the groupon for 4 nights at Club Ambiance. We are college students on vacation for Spring Break. We happened to be the only college students there but we had a blast. The food was good, the drinks were better and the staff was incredible. There are 3 beaches, 1 is nude, 1 is clothing optional. There is snorkeling, kayaking and free bike tours as well as our favorite attraction: the night club. It is a smaller resort so you get to know the staff on a first name basis. All in all it was a really relaxing trip, I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Layne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubAmbianceJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Club Ambiance, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello guest,

We are so happy you love our little resort, a great getaway spot for your delight. Glad you had a blast! Getting to know our guest on a first name basis is definitely something we do deliberately, so to know more of how to fulfill your vacation needs.
Thank you again, and a great pleasure it would be to have you back at our Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Club Ambiance for 5 nights (Feb. 19th-24th)... it wasn't long enough!! If you want a relaxing, fun, laid back vacation, you'll be right at home in Club Ambiance!

The resort is very clean. Our room was on the pool side.. I had requested it after reading in other reviews that it was the quieter side. Is was very quiet as far as resort noise, however, the people living on the neighbouring property had a dog that barked A LOT at night, and a rooster that crowed A LOT in the morning... definitely not the resorts fault though, and it didn't bother us enough to request a room change.

The food was great! Small buffet, not a lot of selection, but the food that was there was very tasty! The Grill in the afternoon made a really good bacon cheeseburger. We paid $50 US for a lobster dinner on our last night... it was worth it!! You get served a 5 course meal (main course was 2 large lobster tails each!!) and feel very special. Lisa in the morning at the omelet station was always a sunny start to the day!

The beaches are small and not very deep, but if you swim out past the rocks there is GREAT snorkelling!! We went out at least twice every day. We also did the bicycle tours in the morning and afternoon. They're a great way to see Runaway Bay, and Chris (the tour guide) is a great person to talk to and get to know.

Hands down, the best part of the resort is the staff! Everyone is smiling and friendly and makes you feel like you are at home. No one was inappropriate in any way. The bartenders and entertainment staff were all outgoing and fun. We had great service from all the staff members. Timothy in the dining room and Everton in the pool bar really stood out and went the extra mile for us. Hotel management, if you read this, please pass on our appreciation to the two of them!

Hope to go back next year! Thank you, Club Ambiance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubAmbianceJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Club Ambiance, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Guest,

Thank you for your overwhelming review. Happy we were able to make you enjoy your stay here we cant wait to give you another memorable one. We appreciate you taking the time out to not only recognize our valued staff for the services, but for being honest in your thoughts about our resort.
We will sure to pass on the applaud to our staff mentioned, which am sure they will be delighted to hear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We visited Club Ambiance 2/15/14 - 2/22/14. It was our 4th trip to Jamaica and we went to CA because we are on a budge this year.

I read the reviews so I didn't have high expectations of five-star treatment. And, we were pleased with what we found.

The outside of the resort does look dated, but it would be very expensive to change so it will probably continue that way. But, the resort was VERY clean throughout. We never saw anything that hadn't been properly cleaned and it is apparent that this is a priority.

The staff was incredible. As a culture, Jamaicans are playful, fun and love to tease and joke. If you tease and joke with them, you will have a great time with them as we did.

We spent our week on the nude beach. And, while it isn't the biggest beach we've been on, it was clean, well-maintained and very enjoyable with a nice mix of sun and shade. There are three beaches - prude, clothing-optional and nude.

One afternoon, three young ladies came on to the nude beach and set up camp but remained clothed. Someone from the staff came and spoke to them to tell them that they might be more comfortable on the clothing-optional beach and that the nude beach was reserved for those who want to be nude. It was very respectful and they packed up and moved shortly thereafter.

Ladies - if you're reading this - nobody on the nude beach is all that interested in seeing your "naughty bits". That's not why we're there. But, if you're going to be on the nude beach, it's disrespectful to those who are actually nude to remain dressed. We wouldn't go on the prude beach and strip off because that would be disrespectful to people on the prude beach.

The bar staff was great - while not made from "top shelf" liquor, the drinks were good, plentiful and refreshing. We're not liquor snobs, so we don't care what it's made from. We stayed hydrated with lots of water - one glass of water for every drink on the beach. And, the staff were great about filling our requests.

The one weak point in our stay was the food. It was decent and edible and some things were VERY good. But, the red meat buffet items (beef, lamb) were often in short supply. There was lots of chicken (it was good, but there was a LOT of chicken) and pork. We like chicken and pork, but there wasn't a lot of variety. They were also obviously using rough-butchered cuts as it was not uncommon to find bones in the chicken and pork dishes. All you had to do was watch for them and feel around with your tongue before biting down but they were definitely there.

We had jerk chicken on Jamaica night that was excellent - nicely flavored and not too spicy for our Midwestern palates. There was a jerk sauce to put on it but we enjoyed it plain.

Breakfast was good - Lisa, the omelet lady, is a true treasure. Smiling, loving, kind - she's a very sweet start to the day. Kudos to her for her smile every morning.

But, management - HEAR ME NOW - if you want to attract more business, you need to A) Hire a VERY talented buffet chef who can provide variety and flavor to your guests and B) Give him or her sufficient budget to purchase top grade products to use. Your food is the weakest part of the experience. It's good but it could be SO much better and GOOD food enhances a resort stay like little else. People enjoy eating and, on vacation, want to be excited about their meals. Jamaican cuisine is excellent - curried pork and chicken, jerk chicken, rice and peas, etc.

Marketing to Lifestyle groups is not going to increase your trade. They expect GOOD food as well. You're going to have to make a serious investment in your food service in order to raise your ratings which will bring back the tour companies from Canada and England who used to book lots of people into your resort. Without the up-front investment into food, it's just not going to happen and the resort is going to continue to struggle. With 90 rooms and a census of 122 people during high season, it's obvious that the resort could be busier. We talked to people who have been going there for years who said that there used to be companies in Canada and England who booked lots of people there but don't any more. If you want that business back, you will need to put some $$ into the food.

Overall, we had a VERY enjoyable week at Club Ambiance. If you go expecting 5-star, white-glove treatment, you're going to be disappointed.

But, if you go with the expectation of a good 3 star resort (I gave it 4 because of the excellence of the staff), you'll be pleased. It will be what you make of it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CalvinGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
1.7 mi away
Piper's Cove Resort
Piper's Cove Resort
#7 of 14 in Runaway Bay
116 reviews
38.4 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 61 in Montego Bay
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
2.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
1.8 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Ambiance

Property: Club Ambiance
Address: Main Road | Saint Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Ambiance 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shuttle Bus service attract an extra charge. Airport Transportation attract an extra charge. Free internet service only in lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Ambiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Resort All Inclusive Ambiance
Club Ambiance Jamaica/Runaway Bay
Club Ambience Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing