We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franklyn D Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Franklyn D Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
1 review
“Great for Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

Spent a very relaxing week at FDR with our 2 year old and his young cousins.
Our first experience with all-inclusive resorts was generally quite positive, mainly because of its orientation towards children's needs and amenities.
As frequently mentioned, the vacation nannies are particularly great. Ours (Tanya) was caring, energetic and patient -- pretty much a perfect sitter and play partner for our son.
The food is abundant, if not fantastic. Would have preferred a simpler or more authentic variety of local fresh food. And there's not a whole lot of variety day-to-day. (But you can get some tasty meals a taxi ride away -- or even a stroll down the beach.)
The drinks certainly seemed to flow freely around the bar.
Aside from some unfortunate fluorescent lighting, the rooms are comfortable and large -- ours had a balcony overlooking the water, which was quite nice.
For the money, if you're traveling with kids, a very good option.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelMelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    198
    40
    17
    13
See reviews for
504
33
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
chicago
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

FDR is camp for the family. with exceptiopnal staff, very good amenities and very clean rooms, FDR has proven tom be the best family vacation we've had yet! We were used to the 5 star experience, beautiful rooms and great cuisine but my wife and i would always have to enjoy those meals at 5:30 with the kids and then it was oiff for a wild night - in bed with the kids at 9 pm (if we were lucky)...The food is by no means a culinary adventure but it is just fine, from grilled cheese and pizza for the kids at lunch to curried goat and oxtail for us and everything in between. The staff would go out of there way oif te ingredients were avaialble and steam or grill a whole fish or make calilou in the morning ...Without question the Nanny service makes the FDR experience what it was. They are loving, nurturing and responsible and we felt comfortable leaving them alone while our daughter was napping and late at night while we enjoyed some adult time, starting on day ONE...it is a very safe envirnment and the resort is so small and contained, if anything were to happen you are always one minute from your room.

I hope you have the same experince as we did!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rywags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Larson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

This vacation was planned as a celebration for my wife's 40th birthday. When I originally called the travel agent I had every intention of staying at one of the Beaches resorts. Our travel was able to quickly talk me out of it by saying that it would be about 40% cheaper to stay at FDR. A resort I had never heard of, but was intrigued by the 40% and the nanny service. My wife was skeptical to say the least. We have two young boys ages 4 and 2. She really didn't have a lot of faith in a 'nanny' service. The funny thing is that when it was time to go...there were two people in tears - my wife and are oldest son - that is how wonderful everything was. I will breakdown some points of interest that I think people would be the most interest in...

1) Travel - We arrived via Air Jamaica direct from Chicago - no issues. We were concerned about the complimentary shuttle service as we had read a couple of horror stories on lengthy delays. Again, no issues...we were on our way within about 10 minutes. We had been told that we could request a car seat for $10 dollars each way. it was there for the trip to FDR. Unfortunately, it was not there on our way back and that was after 2 calls from the resort to the transport co to make sure they were bringing it. We were disappointed and have been told that there will be a refund...time will tell.

2) Nanny service - this was the reason we chose this resort. We weren't sure what to expect and we had our reservations...but everything turned out great! Your nanny is with your children starting at 9 AM. In some respects, this will prove to be a little late for folks with small children. Our youngest tends to be up almost at the crack of dawn...so 9 AM seemed to take an eternity to arrive. They will stay with you until 4:40 PM, but will come back and stay with the children in the evening for $6/hr. Do it! This is a small price to pay to have some nice dinner time with your spouse...and quite frankly the nannys like the extra money. OK, the fine print...they all take their lunch break from 12:30 - 1:30 PM and then clean the room for another 1/2 hour or so. This was a bit disappointing...but not the end of the world. The nice thing is that for only $20 a day you can have a 2nd nanny. My wife was resistant to this for the first couple of days, but then we did on the next to last day of our vacation and IMO it was pure bliss! The second nanny arrived at 8 AM and then the nannys staggered their lunch break to give us the perfect day. At the end of stay, we tipped our nanny the equivalent of $20/day on top of the money we owed her for staying late. She seemed very happy and was very grateful.

3) The room - was very adequate. We weren't expecting the four seasons, and we didn't get it. But for what it is, the room was perfect! I opted to splurge and get the multi-floor 2 bedroom unit. As I mentioned, our 2 year old tends to wake up at the break of dawn so this gave us another floor to operate in the early morning hours and not wake up our oldest son. This is one area that I would do differently and get a smaller room if we come again to save some money (and yes there is a good chance we will be back).

3) Stuff for the kids to do - the kids were never board! Between the beach, the pool, the kids play room, the play ground and the arts and crafts center - well let's just say the kids had an amazing time and never had any problems falling asleep!

4) The grounds - nice, not over the top, but nice. I have no complaints with anything. Everything is well maintained and comfortable...perfect for a family setting. The beach took a little getting used to...but in the end it was perfect for a small family. It is not the endless white sand beach that you may get accustomed to at other resorts. You can walk out about 10-15 ft into the water or so and then you start to hit the rocks. It does take some getting used to but the kids loved it and that was the most important thing. One thing to note is that there does not seem to be an overabundance of chairs to layout in so do your best to reserve one early by simply placing something on top of it...but do it early - like when you are heading to breakfast.

5) The staff - all the way around they were fantastic. Very, very friendly. We didn't have many needs but the ones we did request were met quickly.

6) Food and beverage - we thought the food for most part was quite good...and we never left a restaurant hungry. The drinks at the bar were great! I never had a bad one...I was very impressed!

7) Lasting impressions - we were blown away with how many returning guests FDR has each week. We met many people who had been coming for 5 years straight or longer. The same week...and they meet up with other families that were at the resort that same first year - and now the kids are growing up with each. We were one of maybe 3 or 4 families that was there for the first time. We met two other families where the kids hit off completely as well as the parents, so we may be starting are own tradition. I better start saving now...

The day of our departure, as my wife and I were hanging out with our new friends and watching our kids play in the water (sipping a FDR Cooler of course) I asked her what she would rate this vacation on a 1 to 10 scale. She said a 7 to 7.5. This was really impressive...reason being is that for almost half of our stay - it rained and rained and rained. This prohibited us from snorkeling, kayaking or going for a glass-bottom boat ride. i think her score would have been closer to coveted 10...but mother nature had other plans. But, in the end it was an amazing time (even with all the rain). Given the total cost of the trip (over 4K for a 4 night stay) we had said this was going to be a one time trip. We don't have to live on a budget, but we feel that is a lot to spend on a 4 night vacation. However, we are giving a return trip some serious consideration...especially if we can meet up with our new friends.

On the last day, almost as we were leaving, I met owner of the resort. A very nice man to say the least. He asked if we had enjoyed everything and I said absolutely!!!

Happy traveling to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theswede71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

This was our third time at FDR and it was the best yet. The food has gotten much better and the service continues to impress. You truly feel like they cannot do enough for you. Our nanny Latasha is the best and we HIGHLY recommend her. Our children ask for her almost daily and they consider her part of our family.

This place is not fancy and at first you may be taken back - there is no large and gorgeous lobby, some of the facilities look a bit rundown (although you are ALWAYS seeing people painting, pruning, cleaning, etc.) but once you get past that (and I have yet to meet anyone that has not!), then you will have one of the best family vacations ever. We truly cannot say enough about FDR. One thing that really impressed us this year is that there was a gentleman in a wheelchair and we started to notice some changes being made around the resort - new concrete being poured, some walkways being made larger. I was talking to his wife and she said that Frank (the owner) was watching how he was able to get around and immediately set to work to ensure he could make it as accessible as possible. I thought this really spoke wonders.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravel1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

Having read up on all the reviews prior to arriving I was pretty sure what to expect. That said, FDR over delivered in almost every area. We were there for 5 days with our two year old and grandparents.
We started with a bit of extended wait for the transfer service to the hotel which was a letdown. The bus people at the airport kept saying it would be there in 5-10 minutes, and an hour later we finally boarded the bus. Once we got the hotel (after about a 70 minute bus ride) we were greeted warmly and shown our room. It was a great 2 bedroom suite right overlooking the beach. It was as close to the ocean as we've ever stayed at any beach resort. Plenty of room for all of us and it was nice that they had child safety gates on the top & bottom of the staircase. We met our nanny who showed us around and then we ate dinner and relaxed.
I'd say we had a bit of awkwardness at first with our nanny as we tried to figure out how the days and activities would play out, but after the first day our daughter and nanny got along great and they'd be running off and doing all kinds of things together. She had an amazing time and it was really all thanks to the nannies and staff there.
They had lots of great activities, both organized and spur of the moment, so it always seemed like there was something going on.
The restaurants and food were all better than I expected. I did wish the breakfast menu would vary a bit more, but otherwise the food was always average-excellent (except one breakfast special they called sausage something, but was just hot dogs in a sauce). The grill was amazing and the guys working it would create whatever it is you'd like to try so we really appreciated that. In general the entire staff would go out of their way to help make things memorable. Whatever we requested could always be done, whether it was a special boat ride, locating an item or just some help with something.
The beach and property were all great. It was perfect for the kids. The bit of rockiness sometimes bothered us, but wasn't a huge issue. And it was easy to get next door and use the nicer beach.
Overall we loved it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbzzzLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

Excellent suite with impeccable staff and exceptional service! The food was great and drinks out of this world!

Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rellco40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

We were at FDR during Thanksgiving week 2009. Our kids are 2 y.o. and 8 mos. old. We ended up hiring a second nanny (at $20/day -- very reasonable) so the 2 y.o. wouldn't have to be on the baby's nap schedule etc. The nannies (Olecia and Jasmine) were so sweet with the kids, and also very professional in addition to being moms themselves, so I felt very comfortable with our children being in their care.

Service was great -- staff are friendly and attentive to adults and kids alike. This helps create a wonderful, fun family atmosphere. At the same time, it has a great laid-back feel. It was great to be around other families with young kids too.

The only thing I'd change about our week there was the trip we took to Ocho Rios. It took us to a strip mall of tourist stores. We were not in the market for t-shirts and souvenirs. Fortunately, we found an artists' market across the street and a local grocery store nearby so we made the best of our morning there.

We will definitely go back again this year -- it was a great fit for our family!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashevillemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
31.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
1.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
66.9 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklyn D Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklyn D Resort & Spa

Property: Franklyn D Resort & Spa
Address: Main Street, Runaway Bay 99999, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Franklyn D Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique all-inclusive family Resort where each family is assigned a dedicated Vacation Nanny to care for the kids from check-in to check-out. One upfront price includes accommodations are in large 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with iPOD Docking Stations and DVD Players, Continental, Italian and Jamaican cuisine from a choice of 4 restaurants, top shelf bar, kayaking, snorkelling, tennis, 3 pools, 100' waterslide, separate kids, pre-teens and teens programs with supervised daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Franklyn D Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklyn d Resort And Spa
Franklyn d Hotel Runaway Bay
Franklyn d Resort All Inclusive
Franklyn D Resort & Spa Jamaica/Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing