We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Franklyn D Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Wells, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Family Vacation”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our 3rd year at FDR and are already looking forward to our return next year. This is the most relaxing parent vacation as your child/children will be accompanied by a vacation nanny to participate in a full day of camp type activities like fishing, arts & crafts and snorkeling. Kids and parents enjoy the pool, aqua ocean water and the large water slide. The entire staff is friendly and welcoming and really make this resort! I could not recommend FDR high enough. Great vacation!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    199
    40
    17
    13
See reviews for
508
33
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have been going to FDR in Jamaica for 5 years in a row; every year we enjoy the scenery, hotel, staff, all of it! Our nannies were wonderful! Our boys love fishing and they brought their poles down and were fishing every day! The girls love doing arts and crafts, participating in "talent shows" and swimming in the pool and atthe beach. Great place to teach your kids how to snorkel and dive!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyMomofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This resort is ideal for families, This beautifully landscaped beachfront resort has everything! Each suite comes with a vacation nanny. She arrives around 9 am and spends the day with your children, This resort is small so you can see your children at all times! There are so many activities for all ages, crafts, games, swimming, snorkeling, goat races, and so much more,
This allows even the moms to relax is the sun or go swimming in the ocean!
The suites are huge. We had the oceanfront suite in Block 1. Upper floor has best views from balcony. Front Room with two twin beds for the kids, tv and own bathroom with shower. Then door opened to a small kitchen, Vacation nanny keeps the fridge filled with whatever you like, wine, beer, juice, milk, fresh fruit. Cereal peanut butter and jelly bread all available! Then a hall with a closet and another bathroom with a tub/shower. Then the master bedroom, oceanfront, large king bed, tv and private balcony with chairs,
The food is DELICIOUS. This is the Caribbean and the dishes reflex that, Everyday there were different options loaded with vegetables, chicken, beef, pork, fish, salads, soups, breads, Lots of great things for the kids pancakes, french toast, grill cheese, burgers, pizza, fries, wraps!!
Buffets for breakfast and lunch. Grill open lunch until midnight. Two restaurants at night, One for families and One for Adults only. Chef Donovan is always around and wants everyone to be happy!
NOW THE BEST PART - the STAFF!!!!! The lifeguards are amazing with the kids! So friendly and helpful to everyone. Wait staff and bartenders, remember your name and always have a smile!!
The Nanny's are incredible, most are mothers themselves and are so hands on with the kids. The apply sunscreen, watch them closely at all times, do fun and creative crafts with them!
The snorkeling is great right next to the resort. The reef is a 100 feet from the beach. FDR has the snorkel equipment. Also our 13 year old learned to scuba dive and did two dives while we were there. Fruity is excellent and takes extreme care of his divers!
Beautiful island, beautiful resort and beautiful people!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingwithboysNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked for a night at the hotel on Saturday Feb15, 2014 (post valentine) two weeks in advance, we were told that the check-in time is three o’clock but we were NOT informed about an early check-in fee of JA$ 1,000.00. We arrived at the Hotel at approximately 12: 40 only to be told by the security that there’s an early check-in fee of $1,000. She called someone on the phone and came back to tell us that we could check-in but would not have access to the property but only the lobby, we would have to sit in the lobby for almost 2 hrs. In addition to that, we had an appointment for a massage at 2:00 pm and all that was not relayed to the front desk. We NEVER expressed a desire to have lunch upon arrival, to me it was a total turnoff knowing that they’re more concerned about potential guests having lunch before the check-in time of 3:00 pm.

Their concern is all about guests checking-in early and having lunch at their expense, (so cheap) that’s the reason for their early check-in fee of $1,000. If they’re so much concern about guest (staying at the resort) having lunch before the check-in time, why not include that fee ($1,000.00) into the total cost of accommodation? That would make more sense to me and your guests would not feel as if it’s all about the eating of lunch instead of the quality of service to your guests.

Other Hotel I’ve been to, allows you to check-in, have lunch, have access to the property except that you will not have access to the room before 3:00 pm

Food for thought……Do better than that. You have here a very disgruntled guest. You being in my position, would you recommend anyone to stay at the FDR?

Room Tip: We didn't quite get that far
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LMorant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trishawana, Director of Sales at Franklyn D Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We appreciate your detailed comments following your recent encounter upon checking in with us on Saturday, February 15, 2014.

You booked accommodations for one night from February 15-16, 2014. Our all-inclusive package for a one night stay includes one breakfast, one lunch and one dinner. Our check in time is at 3:00 pm; however, if guests want to check in earlier, then there is a US$10/J$1000 surcharge for an additional lunch. We apologize that the hotel’s policy regarding the early check in fee was not communicated accurately to you prior to your arrival. This charge was however waived upon your arrival at the Resort.

You advised that you wanted us to book a surprise massage for your husband at 3:00 pm on February 15, 2014 which was confirmed to you via telephone by the Reservation Agent on February 4, 2014.

We regret that you were unable to truly enjoy the FDR experience and we hope you will reconsider visiting with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at several resorts in a few countries. The best feature of this resort is it's friendly, courteous, and helful staff. From check in to check out they are consistently the best resort staff that we have dealt with. We shall return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We just got back from our vacation at FDR and I have nothing but great things to say. The nannies were wonderful, the staff was so pleasant and extremely helpful, the resort was clean and nicely upkept. After the first day, the entire staff knew us and greeted us by name, and went out of their way to get us anything we needed. My son loved his nanny, and would run to her every morning. Our group had 3 kids, ages 2, 7, and 13, and all of them had a great time. There is definitely something for everyone, and it is a great way for the parents and children to have a fun, relaxing, vacation!

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor with a balcony over looking the ocean (#34). We loved the view, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AML1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

As the above states we are return guests to this hotel. I think this last time was our 7th! We have kids, 13,9,3 and 2. This is the only place where we get a vacation as well. When you take your kids to Disney or another resort , you are just parents in a different place. We get to linger over coffee at breakfast as the kids take off with their nannies or to the teen room as soon as they can. We eat lunch with our little ones and then we always have our nannies stay and have dinner with us (on Jamaican and beach nights) and then on the other nights we have dinner...with adult only conversations!

Now some parents might read this and think, that we are bad parents for not spending all our time with our kids on vacation. I cant help that opinion, but for those parents who like to have a life outside their children as well sometimes ( face it at home , you are always together), then FDR is a great place to Experience some adult freedom.

Our two older children, love it here and as soon as we arrive, they are gone! They know their way around and where to get their drinks from. We still get our 9 year old a Nanny, as she loves her Sharlene! They are both high energy and full of fun. Our teenager, on the last 3 trips, has been basically wrapped up in the teen program from the moment we get there! She gets up early to go have breakfast with friends she meets each time she goes. The teen co-ordinator walks the teens home at night to make sure they get to their rooms safely, if we are not still at the bar.

We get 2 Nannies for the boys , to allow them to do things at their level. Carmelina and Coretta are so great with them. We have had all our nannies before, as we do request them ahead of time, we have only missed not having Coretta once. We have also had Shawn as well and she was great with the kids. If there is anything I can say to a new FDR visitor, don't be afraid to let go of the kids. These ladies, are so attentive and caring and loving that you do not have to worry about the safety of your kids. We have had our kids there from as early as 6 months and it is great!

I have read many of the reviews and yes there are short comings with anyplace you go, but they really do try and fix anything and everything you ask them to.

I think many of the US and Cdn travellers need to remember is THIS IS NOT HOME!! There is cultural differences. I read one review complaining about having to wait for food. The ONLY place I have ever had to wait a long time for food is at the grill, btwn 12-130! Everyday, it is busy with the lunch rush. These guys work like crazy to get the food out. Relax, put your order in and go get a drink! Come back 20 min later, you can see the grill from the bar! What we do now is get there before the rush, or wait until after. 10 min to get lunch which is good eating from here. I see so many people getting so frustrated on the time thing.....YOU ARE ON VACATION!! Relax, you will not starve or be hungry ever at FDR! Sometimes the omlet bar and pasta bar are a bit backed up, but again when there 200 people in the rush time you expect to wait. Sit down, get a coffee or whatever, wait for the line to die down and get what you want!!

I wanted to address the tips. We do tip here and there, $1-2 at the bar, a few times a day. Leave $5 at dinner. Nothing big, but we learned was, just so some simple courtesy, it's was the way you respected them! If you want to have great time and service in any Carribean island treat the staff with respect. Not like some kind of servant put there to serve your every need! Greet them , say HI, how are you?, thank you very much, hey I see you are really busy! Acknowledge them as if they are humans. I take our Nannies fruit smoothies when I get my drink at the bar! At first they used to look panicked, but I quickly let them know I wanted to do it!! I take my lunch plate and cups back to the dinning area so they are not around the pool area! I know we are on vacation, but really you cant take your beer mug back up with you to the bar, when you go to get yourself another!!!???? Common decency really gets you treated well! Secondly, what is wrong with tipping, it happens at every all-inclusive resorts all over the world, so why it is such a taboo thing at this resort on these reviews. If you can afford to fly and stay at FDR you can afford to throw a few dollars at the staff. It makes a difference to them in their life.

As all most all the reviews state...this is not a 5 star hotel....so if you want a butler and someone to be falling all over you calling you Sir or Ma'am then don't go here! If you want to be treated like a member of the family, getting to the know staff by first name and feeling comfortable with them giving you a fun hard time about not participating in the morning run, or tennis or ring toss and having them come by and sit on the end of your lounge chair and chat and make sure you are okay and having fun AND try and learn a bit about their lives...then this is the place for you!

We go there to feel comfortable and calm and relaxed! In my opinion, you wont find a better place to go as a family, spend time together and spend time apart to re-group, re-energize and feel like you were on vacation !!!

Room Tip: Ground floor is what we prefer. We have stayed in many different rooms, our Fav was 24 it is a 3 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Farrkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
31.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
1.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
66.9 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklyn D Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklyn D Resort & Spa

Property: Franklyn D Resort & Spa
Address: Main Street, Runaway Bay 99999, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Franklyn D Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique all-inclusive family Resort where each family is assigned a dedicated Vacation Nanny to care for the kids from check-in to check-out. All- Inclusive package includes accommodations are in large 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with separate living areas,kitchenette and balcony or terrace. Continental, Italian/French/ Indian and Jamaican cuisine from a choice of 4 restaurants, top shelf bar, kayaking, snorkeling, tennis, 4 pools, 100' waterslide, separate kids, tweens and teens programs with supervised daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Franklyn D Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklyn d Resort And Spa
Franklyn d Hotel Runaway Bay
Franklyn d Resort All Inclusive
Franklyn D Resort & Spa Jamaica/Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing