We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RATHER DATED BUT GREAT "KIDS" PROGRAMS RULE!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franklyn D. Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Franklin D has one of the best kids programs (complete with trained "nannies" we have ever experienced.
That said, the resort property can best be described as "dated" and the furnishings "spartan."
The resort offers a spa program that falls far short of expectations as to massage products, cleanliness, and general location.
The food service is somewhat more than adequate offering a mix of table service and buffet lines. Drinks were quite good and their ice cream is to die for!
Two Beach areas are rather limited but rescued by a long public beach which is directly adjacent.
Staff are extremely friendly and the management staff we encountered were very guest oriented.....
Among a variety of tour choices we opted for an inner tube ride on a fun river and a horseback ride which featured both trail riding and a wild trip into the ocean- virtually bareback. Both were well organized and very well staffed.
GREAT WATER, WARM, CLEAR AND QUITE CALM.
Have fun
Eva and Don Severaid

Room Tip: Beach front rooms offer the only "views" 1 and 2 bedroom choices are offered as is one th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank EvaS361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 717 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you are looking for a "corporate resort", where everything is perfect, the atmosphere is sterile, and real character is non-existent, well maybe FDR is not for you. But, if you want a place with character, an amazing and loving staff, a place that truly welcomes families and kids, and is just a great, laid back place, this is it. Yes, it's older and has some quirks and kinks but like any good B&B or boutique hotel but, hey mon, this is Jamaica. If there's an issue, the staff will fix it. If you ask for something special, they will jump through hoops to get it for you.

I've been to Jamaica numerous times and have stayed at Couples, et.al and I still like FDR best. Great laid back bar, good food, several food venue choices, and a dedicated owner, Frank, who is often seen walking around and meeting guests. If you have kids (which I don't), this is a great place to come.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 907Michael_S907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We researched this place and it's previous sister hotel (Pebbles) for years. We wanted to go, we wanted the Nanny freedom from our kids, we love all-inclusive resorts.

This place is crowded, run down, over priced. The beach is non-existent. They tell you to go next door to the resort with the real beach. You can have a nanny watch your kids, but you cannot go far. One crowded pool. One bar (next to the pool). The "spa" is a joke, two stone walled rooms on a pier with one masseuse. The family rooms are big and some have two floors and plenty of space. The nanny was just half-bored and she simply lined up outside the pool with 10 other nannies gossiping and watching the kids splash in the pool. The facilities are all small and crowded. The play area is run down and dirty. The only bright spot was feeding the bunnies. My kids loved that.
Food is mediocre, even in sit-down "ad-hoc" restaurants.
NO hot water for days on end. No water pressure. At $500+ per night.!!!!
Parents be warned.
It is not the dream you think it will be.

Room Tip: two story family room, but often there is no hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank calinativeceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fdrsales, Director of Sales at Franklyn D. Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

These guests stayed in March, which was by far our busiest month. There were lots of kids, lots of Nannies and lots of activities and the three pools were always busy. We are located at the beginning of a half mile stretch of beach which our guests use for swimming, jogging and walking.

The Spa has a rustic stone feel to it. There are 3 single massage rooms and 1 double massage room. The staff are called in based on appointments and we always get very good comments on our spa services.

The rooms are supplied with hot water from solar systems on the roofs with an electrical heater as back-up. There are challenges when everyone tries to shower at the same time. We are now increasing the hot water storage on the roofs to increase the availability of hot water.

We again thank our guests for placing their comments in writing. Here at FDR we believe in 100% guest satisfaction and we always try to achieve this standard by all means possible. We will endeavour to do better and we trust that they will visit with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to FDR end of May beginning of June. To start I recommend getting a one-way private shuttle when you arrive. It cost us $75 with reggae tours, but well worth it. I heard stories about the normal shuttle stopping for drinks, bathroom breaks, etc. and took much longer. Going home is fine.
This was our 7th trip to Jamaica. The nanny service is the best concept. Our kids 2/5 got to have fun and we relaxed. No worries about this, the resort is small and are always close by.
The property was clean, food was good and the quality was better than other resorts. The room was big, we had our room and the kids slept in cots in the other.
Our little issues: Couldn't get coffee or food till 7:30, Felt coffee should be provided earlier. After dinner, no real availability of snacks, the grill closed and was pretty quiet. Bar does not open till 10am and will not get you a drink till then. The staff was really great and will try to get you what you want but there was 1 bartender and 2 restaurant servers that had a little attitude. The restaurant would not give me a coffee even though it was already out and those servers gave attitude. The bartender--my wife got a frozen drink and melted a bit and she asked for another, response it just needs ice and when my wife again requested new, she got eyes rolling.
The hot tub was broken the whole stay. They only turned on the waterslide for very limited times and some days not, Ex: 4-5pm. I was just nitpicking here, very small issues, but worth commenting on.
They have good Wi-Fi and free. They stock your refrigerator nightly with water, beer etc.
Not a big beach, but the water and shoreline was well maintained and beautiful.
We really had a great time, made some new friends and will be back!
Overall great trip! Smaller in scale compared to the other resorts but VERY relaxing!

Room Tip: Even the basic room (which we got) was bigger than other resorts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fdrsales, Director of Sales at Franklyn D. Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

We appreciate your comments following your recent stay with us at FDR. We do apologize that the coffee was late on the morning of June 3, 2013. Jamaica does not observe daylight saving time and serving coffee at 7:00am may seem very late for guests who have risen early, although we do provide coffee and coffee makers in the suites.

We are always driven by suggestions from our guests. It is how we stay relevant, focused and committed to the highest quality of service.

Following on your comments we have decided to:

A. Serve coffee at 6:30 am every morning in the main restaurant.
B. Make all drinks available at the bar from 7:00 am.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. FDR aims consistently to deliver a professional and hospitable service to our guests and your comments have been useful in improving our services.

Thank you again or sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming your family again to FDR.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I am so glad on our second trip to FDR we did not encounter any of the snooty people that write the negative reviews. This is our second time at FDR and we brought 6 out of 7 of our children and our 2 granddaughters. We had originally booked a 2 br and a 1 br but were pleasantlysurprised by the upgrade to #24 which is a 3 br 3 ba one level right by the pool and a one bedroom for our oldest daughter and her 2 year old twins. Our group spanned 2, 2, 5, 5, 14, 16, 16 23 and myself and husband. The resort was slow and thats how we like it. God bless Monica and Coretta. Two sets of twins and you never looked anything less than happy. Wehave had Monica as a nanny in the past and treated her like family. Coretta was a new addition and we loved her just as much. Fdr is what it is. Family friendly, spacious, warm, inviting, once your inside, attentive and beautiful. We are planning trip three for November 2013.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom if more than one child and 1 infant in your party
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrpearson200671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Its that time again. We are on our way to my daughter's favorite place. FDR has been a home away from home for one week every year for the past 17 years. Just being there has always been comforting and totally relaxing. The food is great not to mention the nanny's. The staff is always welcoming and oh so warm and friendly. I wish we had more time but we will definitely make the most of it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CourtneyMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed a week here. The staff was friendly and warm. We had Ruth Ann as our nanny for our 20 month old daughter. She and our daughter got along terrific from the start! Ruth Ann was very patient and kind to our daughter, even when our daughter wasn't cooperative. Ruth Ann had a calm and serene personality. The Yellowbird Kids Club was great, too! There is a computer room with a 2-level play area and toys; then a lounge with child-size chairs; and a toddler room with a ball pit, books, toy cars, rocking horses, more toys, and 4 child beds for the children to nap in. Behind it are 2 outdoor playgrounds. There are activities and recreational areas for older kids, too, though I didn't check these out. The pools were very nice. The have life guards at the pools and beach. The food was good. The unit we had as very accommodating; not real posh, but comfortable. I don't recommend going on the complimentary shopping trip to Ochos Rios - at least don't go to the craft market with your children. The vendors are very pushy. We found that shopping at the airport was more pleasant and, with some things, less expensive. It appears that the staff appreciate tipping as you go. You can't charge a general tip at the end. We gave a couple US dollars for the wait staff at meals, and that much or more for other special requests. We had a wonderful vacation and we cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: There are no elevators. If you don't like stairs, choose a room on the first floor. We really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denisetexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
31.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
1.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
33.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklyn D. Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklyn D. Resort & Spa

Address: Main Street, Runaway Bay 99999, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $437 - $821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franklyn D. Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive, All- Suite Beachfront Family Resort with a dedicated Vacation Nanny assigned to every family to care for the kids from check-in to check-out. All- Inclusive package includes spacious accommodations in large 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with separate living areas,kitchenette and balcony or terrace. Continental, Italian/French/ Indian and Jamaican cuisine from a choice of 4 restaurants along with a Sushi Bar & Creperie;Premium Bar, Glass Bottom Boat Rides,kayaking, snorkeling, paddle boards, tennis, 4 pools including- 100' waterslide, separate kids, tweens and teens programs with supervised daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Franklyn D. Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklyn d Resort And Spa
Franklyn d Hotel Runaway Bay
Franklyn d Resort All Inclusive
Franklyn D. Resort & Spa Jamaica/Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing