We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun place to visit!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Grotto Caves

Green Grotto Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Green Grotto Caves Excursion from Falmouth
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A fun place to visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

A fun place to visit! I was lucky enough to get a private tour as we went in between cruise ship excursions. They give you a hard hat for safety, but it is not a strenuous trek (I did it in my flip flops). We spent about an hour exploring the caves with our guide and we saw bats, a snake, a beautiful underground lake and gorgeous stalagmites and stalactites. Along the way you learn a little about the history of Jamaica as well!

Check out my short video about our time in Jamaica and our trip to Green Grotto Caverns!
http://youtu.be/1jTBlluk8H4

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank seekingsunshine_1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    184
    54
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We toured the Green Grotto Caves as part of a Royal Caribbean excursion that also included the Dunns River Falls. We had a great time. Our tour guide was funny and informative. The tour is lengthly and does include steep stairs and narrow areas. Our kids, ages 11, 13 and 15 enjoyed it as well. Well worth the trip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank njzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“quick excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

easy trek (wear sneakers) and keep your mouth closed. I loved the history he shared with us, they are knowledgable and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A laid back fun tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was so happy i decided to do green grotto caves in Jamaica. This is a smaller attraction and therefore you dont have huge crowds all the time. Attraction fee was i think $20 for adults but i am not certain. Our guide for the 3/4 mile tour was Mark , who was young funny informative and very good with kids. he made us all laugh and added excitement to the tour.
The caves itself are so interesting with the stalagmite formations and limestone rocks. It is a home to Bats and marine life ( yes marine life!) and a boa constrictor who was awake when we passed him.The bat hideouts are interesting and they are flying around but wont bother you.
The internal lake is over 20 feet deep but crystal clear and just amazing to see. Here you will find the marine life.
The history of the caves is intriguing used by slaves and pirates and even columbus maybe and it was also used as a nightclub.
Now it is a protected site and your funds will go to preserve the caves and it's inhabitants.
My children really enjoyed this slow paced tour - it can get hot in the caves so be prepared and take a bottle of water.
This is not a tour for small crying children who may get scared and the noise upsets the bats and ambience for the others.
There will be steps to climb and places you haveto bend down. I am not athletic , get hot and tired easily, but at no point did i feel unsafe or tired on this tour.
If they were to improve on anything, i think colored lighting may add a fun factor.
plenty of parking and good restroom facilities.
There is also a small souvenir shop on site but no one forces you to shop which is a relief.
great all around experience for the whole family. Close to Ocho Rios.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank hrhsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pippistrelles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

OK my spelling is bats but the caves aren't... If you don't like bats don't go! The bats will actually leave you alone unfortuantly - no swarms putting any displays for us oh no! We also saw a cobra but it was sleeping! Its a shame its not still a night club I know thats not the right thing to say but it must've been right good fun back in the day! Anyways really - we are glad it is conserved nicely now - Enjoyable little bit of history & nature. We loved it thank you.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Grotto Caves also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Green Grotto Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing