We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Lobster!”

Gloria's Rendezvous
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Port Royal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Lobster!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Long way to get there from Kingston, but well worth the drive. On entering, the place doesn't look like much. Be prepared to wait at least an hour after ordering, fish is cooked as ordered. My grilled losbster was to die for. Big, tender & tasty. My companions ordered fish and also enjoyed their meal. The sweet potatoe pudding was average. I would return in a heart beat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noproblemSetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    146
    39
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Seafood, Roadside in Old Port Royal”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

There were six of us eating at Gloria's and all of our meats were great. I has the snapper done Jamaica style in a brown sauce, it was amazing and the bammy & festival were incredible. There are various ways Gloria's will prepare you fresh or lobster.

If you are looking for promp white glove service, this is not the place to go. But if you want to chill with friends and family, in historic Port Royal while waiting for incredibe seafood - check out Gloria's.

By, the way, the prices are very reasonable. Enjoy.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious as advertised.”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

You may wait a little while, ten or fifteen minutes at the most, but I appreciate that all the dishes are made fresh to order, so it's worth the wait. I had Curried fish and steamed bammy. Cooked perfectly, tender and spicy.

It's really too bad the POrt Royal is so deserted overall. Its an amazing historic area with very interesting artifacts, monuments, forts, and historic buildings, definitely visit when you are in the Kingston airport - it's very close to the airport there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollyweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska/cabo rojo
Level Contributor
184 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood restaurant”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

There are two restaurants called Gloria's. I suppose they are related. We ate at the first one we came to. It was down a street to the left just before entering the town. We ate on the second deck for a better view of the water. Caution - it was very windy up there! We had lobster and shrimp. Both were excellent. The service was acceptable although it took some reminding to get all of our order. We have noticed that most places like this rely on their memory rather than write down the order. One of my friends ordered lobster, changed to shrimp, and later went back to lobster. She got shrimp - and it was very good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neblud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Five of us went to Gloria’s for dinner and we ordered different dishes to share. We started with the fish tea, which was delicious. The curry lobster, grilled lobster, fried fish, steamed fish were all scrumptious. The service was OK. This is very casual outdoor dining, in the historic seaport town of Port Royal. We had a really wonderful experience!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gloria's Rendezvous also viewed

 
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 
Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 

Been to Gloria's Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing