We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and cozy place to stay in Port Antonio”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivanhoe's Guest House
Ranked #14 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Athens
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great and cozy place to stay in Port Antonio”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Due to a mishap, we stayed in both a lower and an upper floor room (ask for a top floor room, the views are amazing!). They were both clean and despite the first room not having an A/C, it wasn't that hot at all (and actually quieter than the other room, as the walls were very thin).

Lorna, the owner, is a very friendly person and dealt with an awkward situation very efficiently. The Guest House is within walking distance from the center of the town, the shops, the post office, etc. The roads around the hostel have many potholes, so be careful if you have a car (also, there is only space for one car inside, which is on a first come first served basis).

There is free wifi in the rooms and the communal areas and you can get breakfast for a small fee. The roosters aren't that bad, just bring earplugs with you if you are a light sleeper.

While there make sure you visit Frenchman's Cove (one of the most amazing beaches you will find on the island!) and stroll the Errol Flynn Marina at dusk...beautiful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neferia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Can only second what has been said about Ivanhoe's Guest House and Mrs Burke!
Good breakfasts, clean, friendly people, and convenient to downtown Port Antonio. The latter is especially important if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amigom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Just as the other reviews say, this is a really nice play to stay, ultra-clean and well laid out. The area has its own character (and characters!) Look out for Captain Reebo who will take you rafting on the Rio Grande. Mrs Burke and her staff are great.
I never knew that roosters crowed from 2pm in the morning!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at Ivanhoes (first time being April 2008) and have no complaints. It is on Titchfield hill, which is approxiamately a 7 minute stroll up the hill from the centre of Port Antonio. The local area of titchfield is unfortunately a little run down compared to when it was an affluent area back in the early 1920's but please don't let that put you off it is still a beautiful area with fantastic views.

Ivanhoes is a guest house with a friendly owner by the name of Lorna Burke, and I usually contact her by email (ivanhoesja@hotmail.com) to make my bookings. She is always prompt and polite with her replies.

I have only ever stayed in the apartment downstairs which has two bedrooms and their own bathrooms. There is a small kitchen with a stove and a dining room with a tv and a fridge. Although a little dated the apartment has always been clean, and if anything extra is needed e.g spraying for mosquitos! just ask.

My main reasons for staying here is that it is walking distance from town, the markets, local taxis and buses, but yet still far enough away from the hustle and bustle of everyday activity. The prices are fair for location and accomodation. I love the friendliness of the Port antonio people.
Will add photos soon!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merlene123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2010

I have stayed at IVANHOE'S many times and I am impressed with every visit. Mrs. Burke is always gracious and accommodating. There are several rooms with various GREAT prices approx $40-$100, but my fave is the top floor with virtually private balcony and air conditioning. If your searching for something long term, get the two bedroom, two bath, full kitchen apartment( around $100 per night, depending on how long your staying)
The lounge is airy and cool, feel free to borrow a book or leave one behind that you have finished. The location is a 10 minute walk into town and the locals are friendly. security is great and the entire guesthouse is spotless. There is always lots of hot water but the cable tv goes out from time to time( found island wide) The pride that is taken into the oldest-family run Guest House in Port Antonio is so obvious. I have stayed at other places before I found Ivanhoe's but I will NEVER stay anywhere else. If you are a light sleeper like myself, bring ear plugs....cause the guests are always quiet but the roosters at dawn are NOT.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBAB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoMermaid
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed at Ivanhoe's for 3 nights in April, 2010. We requested and got a room on the top floor. We were greeted by Mrs. Burke -- who was both professional and personable and shown to the lovely room.

Nicely decorated -- very clean - gorgeous view -- good shower - very cool. Up a few flights of narrow stairs which was fine with us --

The sitting area is nice and very comfortable -- great place to read a book or the paper or access your laptop --

Breakfast was always good and convenient - service was impeccable. We are early risers and love our coffee so having to wait for coffee until 8am was too much of a stretch for us - but no big deal as we liked to walk down the hill to the gas station for coffee any way.

Check-out was easy and fast. Titchfield Hill (where Ivanhoe's is located) is an interesting and fascinating neighborhood. There's an army training facility across the street from Ivanhoe's and the surrounding houses and buildings were interrupted mid- renovation but walking around during the day was not an issue safety-wise and the school kids walking back and forth to school were fun to watch.

Basically it was a great place to stay -- easy walk from there to Errol Flynn Marina -- the town -- all over really. Definetly recommend eating at Norma's, the new Russian restaurant - Rusalka? (I think that's the name), and ham & cheese sandwiches at the bar at the Marina --

Route taxis are easy and cheap -- just by the gas station to get you to all of the other amazing places to visit in Port Antonio --

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

This is definitely the best place to stay in Port Antonio. It's like a mini hub for people travelling around Portland. The rooms are clean and pretty and the terraces are huge with stunning views. There's even a little garden. Food is delicious. Mrs Burke was nice, but not as welcoming as everybody else had described.
It's a good location too, there's a great tiny bar around the corner, more like a shack really. But they were friendly and fun, plied us with white rum!
While you're there make sure you go to Frenchman's Cove, it's gorgeous. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
2.9 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
466 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#9 of 16 in Port Antonio
86 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
120 reviews
6.5 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 27 in Port Antonio
768 reviews
4.7 mi away
Polish Princess Guest House
Polish Princess Guest House
#4 of 27 in Port Antonio
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivanhoe's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe's Guest House

Property: Ivanhoe's Guest House
Address: 9 Queen Street | Titchfield Hill, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast or dinner on a breezy terrace with views of the East Harbor, the garden and the sea...All rooms with private bath, hot water; some rooms with cable TV.A five minute walk brings you to the town center with its cambios and ATMs, craft market, shops and restaurants and the Marina Beach...This is Ivanhoe, historic Titchfield Hill’s oldest family run guest house. Let Mrs. Burke and her fine staff treat you to a real Jamaican family holiday.“Come for the price...stay for the experience.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe`s Guest House Hotel Port Antonio
Ivanhoe's Guest House Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing