We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and Good Value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivanhoe's Guest House
Ranked #9 of 26 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
321 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Ivanhoes, in a VERY small room with 2 twin beds that gave us little room to move. Beds comfortable, pillows not so. Room was clean and no issues. We CBs (many of us :) often opt for small pensions and guesthouses and this delivered the exp. we were looking for. Met some fellow house guests incl. two well travelled, savvy ladies from Texas who helped make our stay in wonderful Port Antonio a great exp. (Hello Sandy and Vicki!!). The proprietor of Ivanhoe's, Mrs. Lorna Burke, is a character for sure, sufficiently aloof but friendly enough to chat when you make the effort. Free WI-FI work's well on main floor with spotty coverage on 1st and 2nd floors. I used iPhone FaceTime to connect with family :) Breakfast available for a fee and served with a bit of old fashioned flair. Expect a surcharge for a 2nd cup. Parked my rental vehicle right on the street without issues. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a BIG room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denton
Level Contributor
222 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here in mid-March, 2012. The owner, Lorna Burke, was friendly and helpful. We had the best room (22) on the top floor (2nd level). We had windows on two sides which gave us a nice breeze. There is a nice balcony (w/table and chairs) all around the second level with great views of the water Our room was very clean and pretty but very small. We had twin beds, dresser, large tv w/remote, shower with glass doors (and plenty of hot water), small sink with hot water, toilet, large closet. There was no electric outlet in the bathroom. Breakfast was not included but available.

What we liked: Cleanliness, views, location, free wi-fi in downstairs area.

What we did not like: No place in room to put luggage, no outlet in bathroom, being charged extra for each additional cup of coffee at breakfast.

Would we stay here again? Yes, but we would not pay extra for room 22. There were great views from all of the public areas (wraparound balconies) and all the rooms appeared small.

Hope this helps,
Sandy (in Denton)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

we stayed here two nights. Good location, comfortable, clean, carefully decorated rooms and friendly staff. Easy walk into town but quiet location. I was kept awake by nearby dogs barking one night but you can get that anywhere.

The night watchman, Albert, took us out rafting and then to Scatter Falls. He was charming and knowledgeable and kind and we had a lovely day.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor- the balcony is more private and there are wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leeB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
190 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Ivanhoe's rooms are really pretty, airy, and comfortable. I really loved the open air porch with tables and couches. A great place to dine and relax. Reasonably priced, but note that breakfast is extra and they do not have a guest kitchen like the Ocean Crest next door. A convenient location, with a pretty view of the east bay, but on a rather run-down street.

Room Tip: Be sure to feel the beds. If you like darker rooms, go for one of the inner rooms. It was a cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Visited Port Antonio and Ivanhoe in Feb 2011. Really enjoyed my stay. Rooms were spotless and nicely furnished. Had the top floor unit with A/C. Phenomenal views with a large outdoor space with table and chairs. Great price and Ms. Burke and her staff went out of their way to insure our stay was a comfortable one. Good location, right in town. Felt very safe at the property and loved the cook to order breakfast. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

My BF and I stayed at Ivnahoe's during the last week of May 2011. We had room 22 on the top floor and I highly recommend it. It was $65USD per night. It has a ceiling fan and AC as well. But the real draw is the wrap around balcony outside the room. You have ocean views on three sides of you and you can see the ocean while you are lying in bed!! There was patio furniture out on the balcony so we brought food back to our room and ate it outside.

The beds were sooo comfortable - we both got a great sleep while we were there. It is so close to town - very handy for day tripping around the area. We did not eat at the hotel, Instead we went out to try some different restaurants in the area.
The room was nicely decorated and very clean. The courtyard garden was beautiful and the roaming cats on the proeprty were friendly, but a little shy.
There was free wi-fi at the hotel. We lost the signal in the room but it worked great out on the balcony. We had to park on the street but we could see the car from the bathroom window so there was no worries there.
We were actually cold at night with just the ceiling fan going. We never had to use the AC. There were some warm comforters in the closet that we bundled up with at night and slept like babies!
This is the rainy season right now so we didn't have great weather but we managed to find things to do.

I personally did not talk to the owner so I can't comment on the friendliness. But we were left alone in peace and quiet to do our own thing which is what we wanted.

I would definitely stay at this property again. However Port Antonio is not a place that caters to nightlife. We had trouble finding things open later than 7 pm at night.

Room Tip: The views from the top floor are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank islndgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Port Antonio like all the reviews say. My only complaint is the bed was hard. but I wasn't there to sleep a lot! The neighboring house is a bit sketchy especially at night. I wouldn't spend my whole vacation here, but it's a great place and value.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feelinggroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
12.9 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
6.5 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 26 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
4.7 mi away
Polish Princess Guest House
Polish Princess Guest House
#3 of 26 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivanhoe's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe's Guest House

Property: Ivanhoe's Guest House
Address: 9 Queen Street | Titchfield Hill, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast or dinner on a breezy terrace with views of the East Harbor, the garden and the sea...All rooms with private bath, hot water; some rooms with cable TV.A five minute walk brings you to the town center with its cambios and ATMs, craft market, shops and restaurants and the Marina Beach...This is Ivanhoe, historic Titchfield Hill’s oldest family run guest house. Let Mrs. Burke and her fine staff treat you to a real Jamaican family holiday.“Come for the price...stay for the experience.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe`s Guest House Hotel Port Antonio
Ivanhoe's Guest House Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing