We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaican style food and atmosphere”

Soldier Camp Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
1,076 reviews
561 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
“Jamaican style food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Soldier Camp Bar and Grill:
Several good reviews and a strong recommendation from my hotel brought me here.
It's tricky to find. Really tricky! youre gonna need a driver and ask your driver if he knows how to get here before you start out.

Arrive to be greeted and seated by Everett. It's terrific dining atmosphere: outdoor seating with thick bamboo ceiling and with some cool mini bulbs x-mas lighting (and broken tile mosaic tables. Great ambience setting the mood for my meal...

As standard, no menu-no prices. i like the adventure of it. Meal choices were chicken, pork shrimpband 2 types of cooked fish. I had steamed fish...So good! I'm going back tomorrow night!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    14
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food at its best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Decided to go out and eat for the night, and wanted go where the local residents eat. We were talking and heard about this place so off we went. We were greeted by a friendly presence from the minute we arrived. Drinks and food were all to perfection I could go on, but there's only one way you will ever find out just how good this is.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yohan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food, Great Vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Super friendly & unique indoor-outdoor setting at Soldier Camp in Port Antonio, and the food was some of the best we had in Jamaica. Incredibly fresh crayfish, great fish escovitch and pork bbq. Delicious preparation of callaloo. As with many cook shops you can call ahead to see what he's making / what's available that day. Take the time to check this place out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCTravelers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Jamaican Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Soldier Camp is an outdoor Jamaican eatery just outside of Port Antonio proper. From the marina it took us about 15 minutes by taxi to get there. They offer only a few dishes, usually a pork, fish, and shrimp plate but offer a variety of different sides. A Jamaican that fought in the Vietnam war for the US runs the place and is very interesting to talk to. Soldier Camp is in no was fine dining; the tables are wobbly, the benches made of bamboo and are very uncomfortable. However, if you are looking for an authentic Jamaican dining experience, look no further. There is a dance floor and raggae and other jams with good beats blare from the speakers. The food and drinks were priced very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribbeanGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soldier Camp Bar & Grill also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Soldier Camp Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing