We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Nearby Hotels
$251
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Lagoon Resort(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
$145
$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Palace Hotel(Port Antonio)
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Geejam(Port Antonio)
$575
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trident Hotel(Port Antonio)
$600
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jamaican Colors(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon San Villa(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
137
43
8
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
43
8
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal jamaicareach fallslong bayview overlooking the baylovely plantsfantastic dinnercommunal dining areawinnifred beachbeautiful waterfallportland parishsteep stairsshallow waterperfect base to exploreheart and soulgreat pleasurejamaican experiencegood vibes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 194 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This review is long overdue. My husband and I visited Zion Country as part of our honeymoon in 2009. Free-I was helpful and full of information about the area. Owen made us wonderful food--we were disappointed to miss it when we did go out to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed Free-I's beautiful gardens and the day trips we took in the area. The cabins are minimal but cute and very clean. Thanks for a lovely stay. We think about it often.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Zion Country was our home for a week in March and we found it to be the perfect place to begin our first "real Jamaican" experience. Having stayed previously at all-inclusives in busy Montego Bay, we realized that if we wanted to know Jamaica's culture and her people we would need to escape the confines of commercial tourism... and escape we did.
Zion's host Free-I is a wonderful ambassador for his adopted homeland and was eager to help us connect with the best parts of beautiful Portland Parish. We loved sweet Tamar, and became fast friends with Chef Owen (oh, how I miss that ackee!).
Any concerns we had prior to our trip vanished immediately upon arrival at this gem of a place... Cold water showers? The bath house is a roofed building on the beach with 3 partitioned shower stalls affording views of Manchioneal Bay. The water isn't 'cold', it's tepid (and steam would distort the view!). Security? Long Road is so far removed from commercial tourism that we never felt anxious about our safety. No electricity? Constant bay breezes, the lovely shading foliage, and Zion's cliffside perch offer relief from the heat in lieu of air conditioning. The cabins have generator-run indoor lighting, and there are outlets available to charge camera batteries, etc. in the main building. Mosquitos? Yup, we made friends with a few... bring bug spray, and take advantage of the supplied netting hung over your bed if they're a bother (we found we didn't need to use it; the breeze picks up in the evening and mostly keeps them away while sleeping). The 'rocky' beach? The multitude of sugar-sand beaches in nearby coves along the coast and the surf crashing directly outside our door lulling us to sleep at night made up for the fact that rocks are an issue in the bay. With swim shoes (also needed for Reach Falls) it's easy to enjoy a refreshing dip if you can tear yourself away from rock-hounding on shore!
Free-I connected us with local guide Rasta Renny for a hike up the lower pools to Reach Falls, and also recommended that we snorkel at gorgeous Winnifred Beach, which is virtually tourist-free (a 40 minute ride via public transportaion for $5 US round trip). Both experiences were highlights of our visit, and should not be missed!
We chose Zion Country in part due to its mission of 'sustainable tourism': Free-I welcomed our offer to bring donated school supplies with us and arranged for the goods to be given to 2 local primary schools, going so far as to drive us and the supplies to Reach School and Manchioneal School so we could participate in the delivery.
We left at the end of the week knowing Jamaica in a way we could never have imagined prior to our visit to beautiful Zion Country, and have felt 'homesick' since our return!

Room Tip: Each of 2 cabins has 2 separate rental units (a room with a bed, storage shelving, a small table, and a chair) with a shared large deck (hammocks and outdoor seating provided) facing the bay. There are no 'bad' rooms... some have twin beds, and some queen (#4 in the cabin closest to the bay has a queen).
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

1st time in Zion Country, traveled solo and we spent 4 days (I have family in Kingston and had already stayed in the city for 4days).

It was a wonderful stay, great trips, safe, relaxing, delicious food (thank you chef Owen!)

Me soon come back!
Respect

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Latoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This place is great! We certainly do not regret our decision to stay at Zion Country for a week-long holiday in Jamaica. Free-I is a real character with a ton of useful information about how travelers can spend their time in Portland, Tamar is lovely, and Owen, the in-house chef, is the coolest guy in Long Road. There is a friendly atmosphere among the guests at Zion, who seem to come from all over the world. The beach on the property is indeed a rocky one, but we took daily dips in the water to cool off and it served our purposes just fine.
Zion is not an all-inclusive resort, nor does it claim to be - it is a b&b. On weekdays, Owen will prepare guests a delicious dinner for a reasonable price, which must be ordered in the morning. Otherwise, and on weekends, finding places to eat in the nearby communities can be an adventure. We learned that no matter the day, somewhere, someone will be serving tasty food.
Portland parish is simply beautiful. There are plenty of wonderful beaches, not to mention the must-see Reach Falls, within driving distance from Zion. The public transportation system in the area is a blast, with cabs and buses traveling frequently up the main coastal highway.
These rustic cabins are perfect for getting away from busy urban life, and being transported to summer in the middle of a mucky March. Perhaps they would not be suitable for someone looking to have all their needs met in one place, but for us, it was ideal.
Peace and love, mon.

Room Tip: The cabins are down what seems to be a treacherous set of stairs the first time you walk them, but it is well worth the view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Me and my girlfriend spend the first week of our jamaica hollidays in the Zion Country.
It was the best decission to start there and we enjoyed every moment of our time with Free-I, Owen and Tamara.
As there are only two bungalows with 2 rooms each, the place can never be overcrowded and its a family atmosphere all the time.
In addition to that you can do hummingbird watching from your balkony and its really quite and peacefull there (no husteling, bagging, partying, ...). The place is absolutly save and its far away from any ghetto or tourist area. Its just the right place to get used to the climat and to get some usefull informations about the island and the people. You can even explore the nearer sights like the "Reach Falls" or the "Bath Fountain" with the help of Free-I or some of his jamaican frinds from the nearby community of Long Road (special tip: check the hot springs in "Bath Fountain" in the night, specially when there is full moon!!!).

Next visits to jamaica we will allways start at zion country and mybe we gonne stay there for the whole time, when we have seen the rest of the island.

Nuff respect! Bless up!

Room Tip: every room is clean and surrounded by the beautyfull garden with seeview!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UplifterTomTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews