We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever”
Review of Moon San Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moon San Villa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was my first trip to Jamaica.. and most memorable vacation ever.. Moon San Villa is a very charming place with amazing views and the friendliest staff. There is so much to do in Port Antonio.. you must check out the rafting on the Rio Grande..(which was my most favorite and beautiful experience).. with Rachel's guided tour thru the jungle to a breath taking waterfall... along with Winnefred(the food made at the rum shack on this beach was delicious) and San San beaches..and the Blue Lagoon just steps away from the villa.. (this is definitely the most beautiful with unbelievable blue waters!) I must say I am ready to go back....If you are wanting to experience "true" Jamaica, this is the place to stay.. All of the experiences on this trip would not have been possible at a resort.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlcmdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 167 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

First of all you need to have a sense of adventure to truly appreciate what the Moon San Villa has to offer, and I honestly can’t say enough about my stay there. I have travelled all over the Caribbean and the Moon San is a unique location in a safe area full of energy. I needed a place to stay in Jamaica because I was in the middle of island hopping and was on a flight layover for only 2 days. I didn’t want to stay in a hotel the whole time in Kingston and I really wanted to make the most of my stay on the island as possible. I came across the Moon San and immediately knew it was something special as soon as I saw the website. Come to find out 2 nights was definitely not enough time, so I already planned a trip back there to finish off my island hopping adventure!! Greg immediately corresponded with me and answered every single question that I had, and I had a lot too because I was traveling solo for the first time to beautiful Jamaica. Greg arranged transportation (for a cost) for me to be picked up at the airport by the most awesome tour guide ever! On the way up to the villa (which is a 3 hour cab ride) we stopped by gorgeous Reach Falls. My driver, Peety was as excited as I was about the waterfalls so he borrowed somebody’s swim trunks and went swimming with me! He showed me all of the underwater caves and even took some great pictures for me also. Very, very cool guy with so much energy! I finally arrived to the villa and was greeted immediately by Marcus who helped me get settled and showed me all around the area including Monkey Island and the Blue Lagoon. He has an awesome personality and truly loves Jamaica who was also a great person and guide. I got to the villa quite late and needed some dinner so Marcus navigated the cab rides with me to a local restaurant and also the Boston Jerk market. Let me tell you Marcus really knows his good Jamaican food! We ended up making the same trip the second night I was there because the food was that good!! He stayed with me the whole time so I felt completely safe, which is important for any woman traveling to a foreign country by herself. Also there is a full kitchen there so you can bring your own food back and cook it whenever you please. The next day I woke up and met sweet Donna who made a great breakfast for me (which is included in your room rate). I wanted to see the blue lagoon again before the day got started so Marcus walked with me through the area down to the lagoon and past the nice locals trying to sell me this or that. Swimming in the Blue Lagoon is amazing between the water is warmed from the sun and cold by the local spring at the same time. Then I met Greg’s daughter Rachel who is an awesome girl! She was taking other guests (who also happened to be females too!) to the most amazing bamboo raft ride down the Rio Grande River. In the middle of the ride Rachel took us hiking through a forest containing Plantains, Banana’s, and Bamboo to a stunningly beautiful natural waterfalls! My camera broke prior to arriving in Jamaica so Rachel even took great pictures for me! Rachel’s legend is true…. she truly runs on Jamaica’s battery’s for real! Again I can’t say enough about the villa so if you want to catch a glimpse of true Jamaica then I highly recommend that you stay at the Moon San Villa...I know I will, again!

Room Tip: Just ask Greg!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

My gf and I wanted to go to a place that's not like your typical Sandal's resort. We figured we can get that in the states. We wanted the true Jamaican experience and that is exactly what we got. This B&B takes great care of you. Breakfast is made by Donna whenever it is you decide to wake up and there is multiple items to choose from. For dinner if you feel like staying in she can prepare you dinner. If you can think of the dish, she will prepare it. We recommend her jerked chicken for dinner. Jermaine is there also and he did a phenominal job taking care of all of our other needs from rides to the local beaches, showing us around the markets, the best local food/restaraunts, taking us snorkeling, to the blue lagoon, rafting, biking the Blue Mountain and the list goes on. If you are looking for a beautiful and relaxing vacation where the only thing you have to do is what you want to do at your own leisure we highly recommend Moon San Villa

Room Tip: Spend the couple extra bucks for the Master Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoNeckNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Over looking the ocean, Moon San Villa is set at an ideal location for visiting the world famous Blue Lagoon and the Frenchman’s Cove as well as beautiful bays such as Winifred and San San. It is also set in an ideal location for activities such as the Blue Mountain Bike Ride, visit to the Reach Falls and the river rafting at the Rio Grande. Moon San, with a unique character, provides very comfortable accommodation for its visitors. We stayed in the master bedroom which has excellent views of the ocean. It is spacious, decorated in Jamaican style, with plenty of storage space and also equipped with air conditioning. If you stay at the villa, you have a reduced rate for the Blue Mountain Bike Ride. The real icing on the cake is the charming people who run the Moon San Villa. The owner Greg knows everything to know about the area and he is very happy to steer his guests in the right direction. The wonderful Donna is the best chef there is in Port Antonio, possibly in entire Jamaica. Penny has been excellent in explaining everything to us and has been great company to be with. Jermaine is the ‘No problem!’ man! Impossible is nothing to Jermaine – he is there to make you happy! He is the transport man by road or by sea – The latter is with the villa’s boat African Star! Finally, Rachel – a charming person who is both fun to be with but also passionate about Jamaica and its people. Try going snorkelling with Rachel at Temple area which is near Monkey Island! You will love the under water scenery! With her immense energy, enthusiasm and willingless to help the guests, Rachel is definitely powered by Jamaican batteries!! The area of Port Antonio is both tropical and tranquil - totally unspoilt but unlikely to remain like that beyond 2013 – so visitors should plan their visits before then! If you go there, Moon San Villa should be right at the top of your list!
.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliUzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

What a fantastic location this is. Right next to the blue lagoon and there is a boat to take you around the surrounding area. Jermaine picked us up at the airport and nothing was too much trouble for him. He took us to anywhere we wanted to go, helped us find the freshest fish and then cooked it for us in the evening. Unusually for Jamaica, he would cook for any time to suit us. I have found in the past that if the staff cook for you they normally want you to eat at 6pm latest which does not suit us at all. As expected there was rain during our stay, but then again Portland would not be as stunning as it is without the rain. We moved on to negril after our stay here and then finished in Treasure Beach, I would highly recommend a stay here as we left feeling very relaxed, well fed and the beauty of the area is outstanding

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

My partner and I stayed 8 days at Moon San Villa for celebrating her 30's birthday. Our experience was amazing thanks to our hosts who have introduced us to hidden and beautiful sides of Jamaica. The villa is nearby at an enchanting garden, entrance to Blue Lagoon, which is full of colorful flowers, majestic plants and lovely birds. We had great time with Greg, Rachel, Penny who shared with us enjoyable and genuine time. We were brought to an hidden water fall nearby Rio Grande, which was undoubtedly one of our best memory snapshots, to an ancient dancing show within a charming place made of bamboo and rocks, and to explore the tropical forest which is a masterwork of art while meeting extraordinary persons. We could visit other many places thanks to their advises and helpful arrangements.
If you look for traveling and meeting local people In Port Antonio without being considered just a tourist, this is the perfect gateway. We would advise Mon San Villa to any people who want to discover Jamaica much beyond a touristic outlook.
Luca & Sally

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camunaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I was looking to experience true Jamaica. I wanted to have a relaxing and authentic trip. The staff and owners of Moon San Villa exceeded my expectations. I felt like part of the family as opposed to a customer. From the moment I woke up I was in a fairy tale. There is truly hidden beauty in Port Antonio. The people of the Parrish welcomed me with open arms and I enjoyed touring around on foot and with Jermaine the Villa's driver. The Blue Mountain Bicycle tour that comes with the visit is truly an experience of a lifetime. To see the beauty of the mountains as you breathe in the fresh air was truly a lifetime experience for me. Everyone went out of the way to make my entire visit exceptional. I can't wait to visit again! I truly found a piece of my fairy tale atop Fairy Hill, Port Antonio Jamaica!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alycat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
1.4 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
241 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon San Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon San Villa

Address: Blue Lagoon Rd, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Price Range: $152 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon San Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon San Villa has all of the charm of an older Jamaican villa that overlooks the Caribbean Sea and is 300 feet from the Blue Lagoon. This villa offers daily COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST FOR 2, FREE USE OF BOAT WITH CAPTAIN for snorkeling and sightseeing to San San Beach, Monkey Island and Blue Lagoon. (If you stay 3 days or longer), you also receive COMPLIMENTARY PASSES TO THE BLUE MOUNTAIN BICYCLE TOUR, #1 tour in Portland. Moon San Villa can be rented per bedroom or take all 6 bedrooms. Moon San Villa offers the perfect blend of peace and tranquility, while enjoying the magnificent natural beauty of the Port Antonio area. Many of the special services offered are private photography tours, in-room massage, beach and mountain horseback riding and private waterfall tours. Upstairs Master Bedroom:$210.00 per night(min. 3 nights stay) Master Bedroom:$190.00 per night(min. 3 nights stay) Bedroom #1:$175.00 per night Bedroom #2:$175.00 per night Bedroom #4:$145.00 per night(min. 3 nights stay) Moon San Stydio: $110.00 per night(min. 3 nights stay) There is a $30.00 charge per night, per room for a third person in a room over the age of 5. Rooms have either a ceiling fan or A/C. (See room descriptions) There is COMPLIMENTARY WI-FI in the whole villa. Buy your groceries or have our staff buy your groceries for you and they will COMPLIMENTARY COOK YOUR LUNCH OR DINNER.Each room has cable-TV and coffee makers with Blue Mountain Coffee. Staff includes manager/housekeeper/cook/boat with captain/tour guide/full-time security. Just 300 ft. from the villa is the entrance to the Blue Lagoon. The lagoon is both fresh and salt water, and water temperatures are warm and cold, which makes swimming a whole new experience. Entrance to the Blue Lagoon is included • On some days you might be the only couple. Three other white sand beaches nearby • Must do's while at Moon San: Blue Lagoon, San San Beach, Frenchman's Cove, Blue Mountain Bicycle Tours, Reach Falls, Rafting on the Rio Grande. Our staff can schedule all of your excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Moon San Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon San Villa Hotel Port Antonio
Moon San Villa Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing