We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing and authentic”
other travelers have booked this property
veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
veranda
bedroom 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
veranda
bedroom 2
panoramic veranda
6am Sunrise from the top of the hill
Winifred Beach
Winifred Beach
Frenchmans Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Port Antonio, Portland Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
LorenZoLu...
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
“amazing and authentic”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed at Mr Barrys in August 2016 with my family. What an amazing place. The house easily accommodated the 9 of us. To begin, the views from the veranda are amazing. The village below was friendly and Mr Barrys is a short walk from the best jerk chicken restaurants in the world. It is also a ten minute walk from Boston Beach which is gorgeous. By day we checked out some of the best beaches in the world - Monkey Island, Frenchman's Cove and the legendary Blue Lagoon. Don't forget to visit Reach Falls. The North coast of Jamaica is paradise. the people are friendly. Rum flows like water and the food is amazing. Mr Barrys is a treasure. I can't wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam S
1 review
“Best vacation of my life!”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

My trip to Mr. Barry’s was definitely a highlight of my 2016. We went there in august, the weather was perfect and the location was beautiful. With a gorgeous beach just a ten minute walk down the road it was very easy to go for morning and afternoon dips. The locals are just the nicest people as well. The surrounding area is full of wonderful things to do and the nightlife is fantastic! Jamaicans definitely know how to party and I can't forget to mention the fantastic food. If you want the real Jamaican experience, this is the place to go. 10/10 review from me, I would suggest this lovely place to any and everyone!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely guesthouse in stunning Portland. Great local knowledge!”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My friends and I stayed a week in Mr Barry's. The house is clean, spacious, has a fully functional kitchen and a great booklet with insider info. There is also a massive veranda with great views. The house a quick walk from Jerk Lane in Portland with fun bars and great local food and not much further to the lovely Boston Beach. It's also an easy drive (cabs are cheap) to Reich Falls and the Blue Lagoon which are two must see attractions.

Couldn't recommend this place more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and veranda
Liked least: wifi connection a bit hit and miss
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noeleen W
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Mr Barry's as a solo traveller who was seeking peace and quiet and that's exactly what I found.The view from the palatial verandha is vast and reflective. The house is quiet and spacious with en suites available.

The house is 2 minute walk from the main road and route taxis into Port Antonio and a 10 minute walk from Boston Beach which is very safe for swimming.

Ed the caretaker is helpful, attentive, unobtrustive and low key. The picturesque French Mans cove, San San and Reach Falls are a taxi ride away. If going to Reach Falls take a picnic and make a day of it.

I'm returning to Jamaica and I know where I'll be staying...Mr Barry's

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & Quiet
Liked least: Leaving Mr Barry's
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan S
1 review
“Beautiful House, Beautiful View”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed up in Mr. Barry's for 10 days with my family and friends. Mr. Barry's was exactly what we were looking for. A 5 minute walk up to Boston beach, one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen, and only a few minutes out to the Blue Lagoon and Frenchman's Cove. Got a chance to see 'real' Jamaica, eat proper Jamaican food and mingle with the locals. The house was very spacious and well equipped, and only a two minute walk to the local shop and to multiple bars and some fantastic restaurants. The ceiling fans and all the circular fans kept the house nicely cool, and on the warmer days the beach cooled us right down.

Staying at Mr. Barry's was probably the best holiday I have ever taken, and I won't soon forget it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Hi Dylan!

So happy you loved your stay with us!

Until we meet again..

Take care

Mr Barrys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimaJohns...
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hideaway from everyone, Love it.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

To start of I would like to say, thank you for all the help and support from the owner Danny G for making my family feel comfortable while we were in Jamaica for my Grandmother's funeral. The house was beautiful and peaceful. I found no problem with the location and surroundings.The great thing about the house was there was no bugs, only one or two mosquitos which I was surprise. the only down side about the situation was, online the place advertise that you were getting a two bedroom and two bathroom but your truly only getting one bathroom because the next bathroom is getting used by Ed (the house manger) who is staying in the house with you but it wasn't a problem I enjoyed myself so much that I stayed another week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stress free comfort, safety and security, while enjoying the benefits of the local area.
Liked least: no wifi, but this was remedied with a mobile internet modem.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing