We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
242
7
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool supper club paddle boarding private beach outdoor bath private cinema professional team screening room romantic setting apple tv caribbean sea breathtaking views rio grande overlooking the sea authentic experience modern amenities rum punch
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 252 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2014

A trip across the mountains from Kingston, lands you in an idyllic part of Jamaica,overlooking the Caribbean Sea, where you will find pure luxury. The Trident hotel offers all the luxuries found in the best hotels of the globe, combined with a relaxed hospitality unique to Port Antonio.
Selected as our destination of choice for our honeymoon.. It does not disappoint in any aspect. The impeccable villas, complete with private outdoor baths, showers and plunge pools offer guest the option of complete privacy, or opportunities to relax at the sea side infinity pool, or private beach. The villas are very spacious; complete with large walk in showers, spacious dressing and bathroom areas and a bedroom and living room reminiscent of home.
Prepare your taste buds for delicious meal options throughout the day; from the delicious fresh fruits and fabulous breakfast entrées, to the truly inventive dishes at Mike Supper Club. The staff is extremely attentive and know me by name, what I had the previous day, and what they might suggest for today - If I am thinking of something outside the current menu, it is not an issue whatsoever. Think traditional Jamaican !
And now to what combined with the aforementioned luxuries will make you forever want to return to the Trident and Port Antonio. The beautiful people.. The Trident staff is exceptional; truly hospitable, caring and genuinely concerned you have the best holiday experience. People from Portie are a warm hearted, welcoming people that, if you are open to it, will show and remind you of a kind spirit that has long left the rest of the world. Be sure not to miss a lunch with Ms Belinda, a burger with Woody and Miss Cherry, Gervin at Rock Bottom Carvings in the Market, the best Jerk Chicken at Piggy's, the best Jerk sausage at Boston, the best Crayfish with Ms Belinda, and the most incredible meals, and the very best rice and peas.. at the Trident ! The Trident front staff will arrange it all !
..and don't miss the Jolly Boys at the GeeJam !

Room tip: Every Villa offers a totally private view of the sea
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We chose the TRIDENT Hotel and Castle for our honeymoon as we were looking for a once and a lifetime experience. From the moment we arrived the service was above and beyond exceptional. Our villa was surreal, with its own pool, outdoor bath tub, living area…. out of this world amazing! I can’t state enough how every aspect of this hotel exceeds our expectations. Everything from the scenery, food, service, transportation was beyond what we could have ever imagined. I have experienced many different parts of the world along with different parts of Jamaica, but no place, and no hotel can ever come close to the Trident. It is hard to explain in words just how unique this hotel is. We originally looked into Bora, Bora, Maldives, Hawaii, just to name a few for our honeymoon, but after extensive planning and researching we chose the Trident and couldn’t be happier with our decision! It is hard to say what we liked the best as everything was so good. To wake up and be greeted by an amazing staff who each has taken the time to learn your name is remarkable. To take a moment and name a few with exceptional customer service, ones who are always going that extra mile to make sure your happy and provided for….Kirk who looks after your transportation, Dwight, Byron and his kitchen staff, Lij and his front-end staff and even more impressive is how the owners of the hotel takes the time when they are available with each guests to get to know them. Now to also take a moment to explain a little bit about Port Antonio. It is a place that one needs to come visit to truly understand what it is about! You can walk the streets alone at any given time without worry about your safety, the local food is unbelievable and the people are fantastic and overly friendly! Thanks again to the Trident team for your efforts that made our honeymoon memorable! We will be back for years and years to come!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank signy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Perfect hotel, beautiful rooms and excellent service. Each villa has a private plunge pool. Also allows the feel of privacy. Beautiful. The villas are exceptionally good size and therefore good value for money. Beach is also gorgeous, however should have a regular by the beachside. The only drawback is the quality of the food both at breakfast and at Mikes supper club. Breakfast is included. There is also good jazz band at Mikes supper club.

Room tip: All the rooms are beautiful. However the sea is rough at night, so you may want a room with the pool not very close to the sea.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Khiajosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The view and settings are stunning that can not be denied. Wonderful beach area and wonderful lounge area. Rooms are breathtaking and very special. The costs per night reflects that but it's the little things that make this hotel "not ready for prime time". When you are considered a luxury property there are certain things that should happen worldwide. Here is an example on their drink menu they offer a Caiprinha which is Brazil's national drink. I was impressed to see it on the bar menu but is was being served with some substitute liquor which is not what someone who would order the drink would appreciate. The food was disappointing. I ordered a burger and the patty was like a big mac with a huge bun. Again - the little things. Maybe the details on the food should be addressed so it matches the beauty of the resort. If your not a foodie or cocktail

Room tip: Find other dining options....outside of the hotel if you enjoy tasty upscale food
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagerbeaverhk, Co-owner, Geejam Collection at The Trident Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Hello Denene,

Firstly, many thanks for your kind words about our property. As we’re right on the water, we took enormous care when designing the villas, to protect the panoramic vistas.

My apologies for your dissatisfaction with our Caiprinha. Our mixologist informed me that we mix it with a premium Jamaican rum, which perhaps accounts for your observation. He tells me that this is a very popular drink, served this way. However, we do want to try our best to please everyone’s palate, and always welcome our guests input, on what they feel would help improve a drink for them - in this case, to make the perfect Caiprinha.

I must confess, I am a little puzzled by your suggestion that it’s hard to find up-scale food in the hotel, given our extensive Japanese menu, prepared by Steve Grimes, our Tokyo-trained sushi chef, along with a wide selection of modern and exciting Jamaican and European cuisine, overseen by Collin Brown, the only 2 star Rosette winner, in the whole of the Caribbean.

With our burgers being made from 'jet-fresh’ ingredients, and all our bread being home made, this is far from being a ‘cookie-cutter’ item, so again, my sincere apologies for us failing to live up to your expectations.

1love
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

The staff went all out to give us a spectacular wedding day. The picturesque property was ideal for our photo shoot and the accommodation was superb offering a romantic getaway with complete privacy. The food was tasty and served by friendly, courteous staff. It can be pricey, but it's well worth it.

Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews