We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Ceremony and Reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Trident Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Trident Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Ceremony and Reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

The staff went all out to give us a spectacular wedding day. The picturesque property was ideal for our photo shoot and the accommodation was superb offering a romantic getaway with complete privacy. The food was tasty and served by friendly, courteous staff. It can be pricey, but it's well worth it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
109
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have visited this hotel a few times now and each time I go there I fall in love all over again. The rooms are amazing, the atmosphere is tranquil and relaxing. The staff is friendly and very eager to help. The owner is very friendly and talks to all of his guests. The food is great. The hotel is very private and affords you a lot of privacy. A top class hotel, perfect for a wedding as well.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this hotel. there are 13 rooms and all have ocean view. They are all close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Trident for four days with our two teenage sons. It was hands down the best part of our week long visit in Jamaica. The hotel is amazing and there are breathtaking unobstructed views to the beautiful turquoise colored sea from everywhere on the property. We had a two room suite that was large, luxurious, and immaculately clean with all the comforts you could want in a vacation. Everything was high quality from the sheets on the bed to the large marble bathroom and steaming hot shower - we especially enjoyed our private hot tub and bathtub outside. The beach feels like a private little cove and my kids spent hours on the paddleboards and paddle boats - even though my kids are teenagers and great swimmers, I felt very comforted that there was a lifeguard on duty all day long. The service is fantastic and all of the staff were very attentive. We received welcome drinks at check-in and met the GM Steve later on in the evening while dining at Mike's Supper Club. He introduced himself to us and was very available our whole stay, suggesting places to visit and helping us with dinner arrangements. He organized for us to eat at Geejam one night, which was a huge success. The breakfasts at the hotel were delicious - we loved the different breads and cakes that were served - as was the meal we had at the Supper Club. We loved everything about the Trident so much that we are planning another visit this summer!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRS34439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

If you are looking for somewhere to have a totally luxurious vacation without a lot of traffic around you then this is the place. The awesomely exquisite suites with their private pools, and out door bath tubs all in a private setting with a direct unobstructed view of the ocean make it almost heavenly. The beach is also beautiful and is a perfect place to spend the morning tanning and swimming out to the ocean leaving you very invigorated. Awesome property...words almost cannot describe how beautiful it is as well as the staff who ensure that your every need and request is fulfilled. A must go!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarciaWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Amazing Service! Fresh Local Seafare Topped With An Amazing View Of Portland's Cobalt Ocean. The Hotel Was Great But Staying At The Castle Was Even Better! The Staff Go Above And Beyond In Making Your Stay At The Group Simply Magical!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

From the moment of arrival until checkout and beyond the service was exceptional. Our villa was beautiful, clean,well appointed and exceeded our expectations, we loved everything about it. We are Jamaican residents who have stayed at many other hotels on the Island and can definitely say Trident is up there with the very best. We would recommend Port Antonio for an authentic Jamaican experience. It is hard to to say what we liked the best as everything was so good. Thanks again Trident team your efforts that made our stay memorable was well appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenford W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The accommodation is for sure breathtaking and the view unreal, but what really impressed me was the service.
Its very rare to have service at such a high standard and also feel such sincerity.
The staff were impeccable and yet so approachable.
I felt the whole time that i was getting the true Jamaica at its very best.
The area of Port Antonio offers unparalleled beauty .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.9 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
127.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
127.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
46.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trident Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trident Hotel

Property: The Trident Hotel
Address: Anchovy, Port Antonio 7312, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Trident Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trident’s thirteen oceanfront villas are seductive, cloistered retreats that blend modernist design with an inspired take on 50s and 60s era décor. Residential in feel, the spacious, airy interiors flow organically between bedroom, bathroom, and living areas, while private terraces with soaking pools complete an environment of clean, conscious and luxurious living. Each villa is appointed with hand-selected furnishings and accent pieces complemented by a contemporary tropical aesthetic. An elegant simplicity and harmonized balance make the villas an ideal home-and-away habitat.Room amenities include king bed, room phone, cell phone with own dedicated number (inclusive of 20 minutes free local/international calls), mini-bar/wet bar (at a cost), 500 thread count sheets, mini fridge, 46” LED Smart TV, cable and online movie archive, iPod cradle, home theatre system, walk-in closet, bathrobe and slippers, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, full maid service including evening turndown service, safe, shower, private terrace, heated plunge pool (except Studio Villa), indoor or outdoor bathtub (except Junior Villa A), outdoor shower (1 Shiprock Villa only), swimming pool (1 main pool), air conditioning, ceiling fan and WiFi indoor and outdoor (complimentary). All rooms enjoy ocean view and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Trident Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trident Hotel Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing