We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
243
7
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool supper club private beach outdoor bath private cinema screening room professional team romantic setting wedding planner caribbean sea authentic experience modern amenities breathtaking views rio grande overlooking the sea best kept secret down to earth
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 253 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Although we were not staying at the hotel, from the moment we walked in for our dinner reservation we were welcomed warmly by everyone and treated as if we were guests. Byron made us comfortable at the bar mixing speciality infused drinks; he is the quintessential bartender, been with the property for over twenty years, friendly, passionate about the Trident, and knowledgeable about all things Port Antonio. Dinner was delicious, the best meal we have had in Jamaica (fourth visit to the island - second to Port Antonio), with a lovely atmosphere. During dinner the gracious hospitality continued, with an invitation from Steve Beaver to come back the next day and tour the proprty. We cannot wait to go back to the Trident on our next visit to Port Antonio!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagerbeaverhk, Manager at The Trident Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hi Sally,

I'm so happy you enjoyed the location and service, and am only sorry that the food was not up to your expectation.

As you mentioned, we had to switch venue at extremely short notice, and the food had been prepared by one set of chefs, and had to be plated by another. My sincere apologies for this.

I recall you keeping Byron, and our other bar staff busy, til the wee hours, which I think they enjoyed as much as you all did!

I thank you for recognizing Port Antonio as a perfect wedding and honeymoon destination - something a dramatically growing number of couples are also discovering.

We hope to see you back – you’re really not so far away!
1love
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The service was exceptional, the location was breathtaking and the atmosphere was absolutely relaxing. We can't wait to go back. The most peaceful and relaxing vacation my family and I have had in a looong time. I highly recommend Trident for fun and relaxation. I thought my 11& 9 year old daughters would be bored with my husband and I relaxing so much, but they had an amazing time in the pool & at the beach. Arthur, the life guard took us snorkeling, that was lot of fun for our family as well. The front desk staff are highly educated and they provided exceptional service. Talk about paying attention to detail. Will, our waiter, was truly amazing. The food was a bit pricey, but oh! so yummy. This was the only vacation we've ever been on as a family and didn't return home more tired than we left... Loved every moment. We finally learned to simply relax. Thumbs up for Trident. If we can now convince our family & friends to join us next year for Spring Break

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Trident exceeded our expectations in every way. We had an amazing trip and the entire Trident team made it all possible. From the minute we were picked up at the airport, we were in the hands of people who genuinely wanted us to enjoy our stay. I was impressed with the property, the accommodations, the staff, the food and the entertainment. Each and every employee went out of their way to make this the best vacation. The property boasts amazing views and lots of places to take it all in peacefully. Our daily excursions were the best....easily planned by the front desk and accompanied by drivers who knew the best spots to fully immerse ourselves in the local lifestyle. We are already thinking about our next trip back! Thank you Steve and the the entire staff at the Trident for the best vacation we have had in a long time.

Room Tip: All villas are amazing!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

From being met at the airport, escorted through customs and delivered to the Trident hotel, we were greeted with smiles and welcomed at every step of our holiday through to our departure. The villas are well appointed and a joy to stay in with their own private pools and gardens, large bedrooms, sitting rooms and bathrooms etc. one could easily enjoy a whole day spent at the villa without leaving. Our villa garden had sun all day long, and had a sizeable undercover area offering shade or rain protection if and as required. The interior design is generally very good with a 60's vibe and lots of simple whites. Lots of comfortable furniture to recline on in and outside. The kitchenette in the sitting room could have been better disguised to suit the room, the mini bar could have been better stocked with temping goodies and wines/champagne, and sets of wine and champagne glasses would have been welcome, but these items could be had from room service as required. The hotel is child friendly but we rarely felt our space was intruded on and often found ourselves having the run of either the main pool or the small private beach to ourselves as there are many options of places in and out of the hotel to enjoy incuding ones own villa, small beach, main pool, Geejam (sister hotel 5 mins await by car) private beach, restaurants of both hotels and of course excursions and local restaurants. We found the food at Tridant to be good but would have welcomed a change of menu every few days. The chef aparrantly will factor for special requests but personally we would like to tempted by new menus. Going to Geejam helps to some extent but the same is true of their menu and one restaurant. Good but limited. Trying local restaurants is a must, even if you feel a little unsure at first site. Our best meal was a lunch cooked by the famous Belinda on the bank of the Rio Grande (this is a must stop on the rafting down the Rio Grande exursion, another must). Also 'soldier Camp', great local food in a back yard, run by a veteran of the Vietnam war. Great local vibe. 'Dickies best kept secret' is bonkers in a really good way, I'll say no more as I don't want to spoil it for you. Our first time to Jamaica and how lucky we're we to find the Trident and Port Antonio , we are planning our return very soon.

Room Tip: All villas great, all ocean fronted.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagerbeaverhk, Manager at The Trident Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hey D,

Many tx for all your kind words, and useful suggestions.

I'm happy to tell you that Steve, our Sous chef, for our Japanese cuisine, has come up with a daily special for lunch and dinner, to augment the Veranda menu, and two dinner menus. As you mentioned, we also offer bespoke meals so that we may tailor to the specific tastes of each of our guests.

It was truly a pleasure getting to know you both, and we look forward to seeing you back, as part of your next Caribbean trip!

1love
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had our son's rehearsal dinner booked at the Geejam. But due to a strong wind storm that day it was moved to the Trident. What a stunning, modern beauty. The staff is very welcoming and attentive. And they did a beautiful job setting up the covered patio area for the party. It looked like something out of "Bride" magazine! The event coordinator, Shevanise did a great job of making sure everything ran smoothly. She even arranged to have one of the oldest reggae bands, "The Jolly Boys" play during the event. The food was ok. Very small portions. Plating could use some improvement.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews