We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
243
7
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool supper club private beach outdoor bath private cinema screening room professional team romantic setting wedding planner caribbean sea authentic experience modern amenities breathtaking views rio grande overlooking the sea best kept secret down to earth
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 253 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014

From being met at the airport, escorted through customs and delivered to the Trident hotel, we were greeted with smiles and welcomed at every step of our holiday through to our departure. The villas are well appointed and a joy to stay in with their own private pools and gardens, large bedrooms, sitting rooms and bathrooms etc. one could easily enjoy a whole day spent at the villa without leaving. Our villa garden had sun all day long, and had a sizeable undercover area offering shade or rain protection if and as required. The interior design is generally very good with a 60's vibe and lots of simple whites. Lots of comfortable furniture to recline on in and outside. The kitchenette in the sitting room could have been better disguised to suit the room, the mini bar could have been better stocked with temping goodies and wines/champagne, and sets of wine and champagne glasses would have been welcome, but these items could be had from room service as required. The hotel is child friendly but we rarely felt our space was intruded on and often found ourselves having the run of either the main pool or the small private beach to ourselves as there are many options of places in and out of the hotel to enjoy incuding ones own villa, small beach, main pool, Geejam (sister hotel 5 mins await by car) private beach, restaurants of both hotels and of course excursions and local restaurants. We found the food at Tridant to be good but would have welcomed a change of menu every few days. The chef aparrantly will factor for special requests but personally we would like to tempted by new menus. Going to Geejam helps to some extent but the same is true of their menu and one restaurant. Good but limited. Trying local restaurants is a must, even if you feel a little unsure at first site. Our best meal was a lunch cooked by the famous Belinda on the bank of the Rio Grande (this is a must stop on the rafting down the Rio Grande exursion, another must). Also 'soldier Camp', great local food in a back yard, run by a veteran of the Vietnam war. Great local vibe. 'Dickies best kept secret' is bonkers in a really good way, I'll say no more as I don't want to spoil it for you. Our first time to Jamaica and how lucky we're we to find the Trident and Port Antonio , we are planning our return very soon.

Room Tip: All villas great, all ocean fronted.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagerbeaverhk, Manager at The Trident Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hey D,

Many tx for all your kind words, and useful suggestions.

I'm happy to tell you that Steve, our Sous chef, for our Japanese cuisine, has come up with a daily special for lunch and dinner, to augment the Veranda menu, and two dinner menus. As you mentioned, we also offer bespoke meals so that we may tailor to the specific tastes of each of our guests.

It was truly a pleasure getting to know you both, and we look forward to seeing you back, as part of your next Caribbean trip!

1love
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had our son's rehearsal dinner booked at the Geejam. But due to a strong wind storm that day it was moved to the Trident. What a stunning, modern beauty. The staff is very welcoming and attentive. And they did a beautiful job setting up the covered patio area for the party. It looked like something out of "Bride" magazine! The event coordinator, Shevanise did a great job of making sure everything ran smoothly. She even arranged to have one of the oldest reggae bands, "The Jolly Boys" play during the event. The food was ok. Very small portions. Plating could use some improvement.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at The Trident as it's recently been reopened by Geejam, which we love.

We had two adjoining villas, as there were 5 of us and loved the privacy of the villas as well as the facilities offered by the hotel.

Each morning I would work out in the gym with my two sons whilst my wife and daughter relaxed in the spa. We would meet up afterwards for a Jamaican breakfast on the veranda and then we could do our own thing for the rest of the day, either relaxing by the pool, chilling out in and around the villa or hanging out at the private beach.

For dinner we could either dine stylishly in Mike's Supper Club, with a Jazz Band at weekends, or dine again on the veranda if we wanted to enjoy the evening air. There are two menus, a Jamaican menu with a fine dining vibe, and a Japanese menu with a Jamaican vibe, we sampled both.

it is being hailed as the rebirth of cool in Port Antonio in the press and we definitely agree.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xjsracer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Trident is a beautiful property just outside the town of Port Antonio in the unspoilt area of Jamaica that is Portland. The hotel entrance is understated and belies the luxury you are greeted with as soon as you enter the reception. It's a stylish property with great attention to detail including some design classics both in the public areas and the stunning villas. The hotel is situated right next to the ocean with an infinity pool that cleverly mimics the colour of the ocean it blends into. We were collected by car at Kingston by one of the hotel drivers, Raymond after a long 10 hour flight from London. He swiftly whisked up our cases and within minutes we were in the comfortable air-conditioned car and offered a choice of water, soft drinks or beer. We went for the beer!! Raymond was charming and informative and kept us entertained on the long drive. We arrived at the property in the evening around 8pm rather travel-weary but were greeted by the most lovely staff. Raymond had already called ahead to the chef to order our dinner and we had the choice of taking this in our villa or as room service. We decided to take it in our villa as we were tired. We were then escorted to 'Shiprock Villa' which is a really amazing and very large villa with a big lounge area complete with minibar and tv and all mod-cons and a separate bedroom with King size bed and another big TV with satellite channels. The bedroom led on to a HUGE bathroom with bath, indoor shower and outdoor shower and two basins. Outside there was a patio with sun-lounger and a Jacuzzi plunge pool. The outside area directly overlooked the ocean. Beautiful! We stayed a week and it is the perfect hotel to completely relax and chill out in. There is a gym which includes free weights and we used this 5 days out of our 7. They also offer spa treatments which sounded fabulous however we didn't end up needing them we were so relaxed! The breakfasts were always delicious with eggs done to perfection and a nice big pot of coffee. Every single staff member at the property was charming, friendly, helpful and genuinely proud of the hotel and their home town. There are two restaurants, one of which offers Caribbean food and the other Sushi - both good. On a Saturday night there is a Jazz band that play and they are absolutely brilliant! a real treat. I had only visited Jamaica once before, 20 years ago and it was great to go back and visit a totally different area. The hotel staff were keen for us to experience the local area and so were we. We went to Boston Bay to sample Jerk chicken in its place of origin - the bay is a beautiful beach popular with surfers. We also went to Frenchman's Cove which is another lovely beach and used to be a hang out of the rich and famous in the 50s and 60s. The best thing we did though was to go rafting down the Rio Grande - such a fabulous relaxing experience with our Captain Austin and lunch cooked by the lovely Belinda. The hotel recommended this and it was such a brilliant recommendation! We loved it. Trident itself has a lovely little beach with crystal clear waters and a life guard who delights in taking you snorkelling or on a pedalo. There are different sized villas some smaller, some larger and are suitable for families. I looked at two others that were equally as beautiful as ours. I would say that even the most discerning of guests would find it hard to find fault with this property and the high standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have just returned from a week at the Trident and can say that I was extremely privileged to have stayed there. From the moment we arrived the staff were warm, inviting and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, we pre-ordered our evening meal from the Taxi on route so when we arrived a welcome (and well needed) drink were supplied and we opted for a delicious meal in our villa. The accommodation is stunning, coupled with the amazing private pool overlooking the ocean it is in a location of rare and unspoiled beauty. I swam in the infinity pool whilst the sun came up and used the gym in readiness for the superb breakfast. Thereafter the staff helped organise trips to the Blue Lagoon, Frenchmans Cove and rafting down the Rio Grande (as well as spending a few days simply chillin). We had a great night at Geejam serenaded by the brilliant Jolly Boys and the Saturday jazz band evening was superb. Steve - thanks for your wisdom and knowledge - it was a pleasure to meet you and the great staff you have there. V

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews