We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs proper management villas tired and worn out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Goblin Hill Villas at San San
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2010

property is nice/fabulous but needs management with insight to run the place this hotel has a lot of potential the receptionist are very polite/friendly and my housekeeper Marcia is a great cook she has me still yearning for more JAMAICAN COOKING.I just spread out my towel under a mango tree on a well mowed lawn,it is interesting to see the landscaping of property oh i need those guys to do my lawn there is rafting on the Rio ,Sommersfalls FRENCHMANS COVE BEACH is a easy walk from the hotel each morning we run to the beach before breakfast ONE THING THOUGH THE Truth as lovely as GOBLIN HILL is we will be holidaying elsewhere if management remains the same on second thought she lacks confidence thats why she needs this other girl who she barges into our room with we call her the hingeman she speaks with more confidence than the manager herself.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhyeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 304 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2009

I stayed at Goblin Hill during Christmas 2009 with my daughter and friends from Jamaica. The location is off the beaten path and not like your typical Ocho Rios all inclusive. The property is an idylic setting for those that want to have the peace and quiet of a distant sea view, an expansive lawn with chairs that allow you to relax in either isolation or with others, walking trails that allow one to explore the hill side and a walk down to the beach that requires you to descend a hill, walk along a road to gain access to a truly beautiful lagoon.

This is not your typical Jamaican vacation. The villas at Gobln are simply decorated but clean and welcoming. The staff which includes a housekeeper assigned to cook meals that you choose, were great. But this property is off the beaten path, not too near the beach and in a part of Jamaica more frequented by Jamaicans looking to get away from the hectic world of Kingston.

There is an incredicble amount of foliage and the birds are awesome that call Goblin Hill home. Although there are two tennis courts and a pool, this property is best suited for seasoned travelers that are looking for a real experience rather than the fantasy, food fetish and contirived activities of the all inclusives. I would recommend Goblin Hill to some of my more adventurous older friends that will find comfort in a peaceful setting in warm weather, drenched in sunshine with scenic views that are not mainstream. This place requires a car and is far fromt the air ports. But Frenchman's Cove is a treasured find as a beach setting that is both beautiful and within a short 5 - 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

the Goblin is easy to find, just a walk distance to the frenchmann cove ( a really nice private beach) and blue lagoon ( the famous , but not so great, and as you reach the road, there gonna be some people waiting for you to offer a boat trip- that made of bamboos- to visit a monkey island - nothing in particular- and blue lagoon, but they tell you that's is the only way to reach, false, you can easily walk into, just pass the boats and go straight ahead till the end of the road. ). The property is huge an everywhere has a nice view. The only thing that is good but you have to have in mind is that you gonna receive the breakfast in your room, made in your room by the your private housekeeping, but you gonna pay for that, so add like 10 to 15% for the housekeeping plus the costs of breakfast, beside that, the staff is great, the poll is amazing, you can reach Port Antonio easily and also visit the Winifred's beach ( a public beach, really beautiful but as it is public, again gonna be some guys asking for a donation etc.. the access is not so easy but you can do it if not rained )

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N3tto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stayed here for nine days with my husband at the end of an extended holiday. We were impressed by the beautiful position & grounds - perfect for relaxing & enjoying the ocean views. After moving around alot in the previous month, it was great to relax in the pool in the evening & watch the hummingbirds as they came to the feeders. The villa we stayed in was comfortable but security initially was of some concern - 'the old plank in the sliding door trick' didn't offer alot of reassurance. Thankfully we didn't have a problem!
The villas are walking distance from the Blue Lagoon & Frenchman's Cove.
Overall the staff are friendly & mostly helpful. Any issues we had were addressed by the appropriate staff. We tended to organise tours with guides outside the hotel as it's possible to be a little more negotiable about the price.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faulk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I travelled to Goblin Hill with husband, toddler and friends, also with children- toddler and teenager. The roads to get there were tedious at best, even for a local like myself but the hotel was worth it. Hidden away near Port Antonio, on the beautiful but less travelled eastern coast, it was a perfect location for those who want to get away from it all. For us as Jamaicans it was like a perfectly preserved throwback to the 1980's which had it's own charms as we kept reliving our childhoods. The 2 bed villa was a two storey house with open plan living areas, outdoor patio and two very large bedrooms with en-suites. One room had a spectacular sea-view and was filled with bright sunlight while the other overlooked the lush tropical grounds and was shady and cooler. The decor is traditional and basic in keeping with the rural location. There aren't any extras i.e. bring your own shampoo/iron/robe. Anything provided is absolutely necessary.
NB, the mosquito nets and insect repellant coils are provided for good reason. It would be advisable to lock your room windows at night or you will have unpleasantly massive bites in the morning!!
The grounds are intensely beautiful and the buildings are low key and sympathetic. The pool is peaceful and surrounded by trellis plants and a hammock. There is not much in the way of entertainment and no phone but there is a good selection of satellite programmes and a bar where you get free rum punch or lemonade at the Manager's party during the trip.
The villas are self-catering coming with the services of a cook/maid who will prepare breakfast and lunch to your request. She will cook food you bring or buy it for you with your funds locally. Make sure to take money for her 'tip' - roughly 10% of your bill.
The environment is the draw so do not miss the beaches. You get a free pass to Frenchmen's Cove beach (no ice-coolers/drinks/cars allowed on the beach though as they sell drinks) which is gorgeous, with a river running into the sea. Means hot and cold currents in the seawater- a strange experience for the first time, and you will need to keep ahold of young children as the sea is choppy with currents. There are other calmer beaches like SanSan where you pay an entrance fee. Frenchmens is the site of many pay parties or 'sessions' so may be closed to you intermittently.
The standard of decor is a little tired and if you come expecting 4 star accomodation you may be disappointed. However it is perfect for extended family trips as it feels as if you are the only ones at the hotel even when occupancy is high and the relaxed atmosphere is like being at your house with your friends but with servants and lush environs to explore! This is the closest a visitor can come to experiencing living like a true Jamaican that I can think of. You even get a potted plant as a goodbye gift. Enjoy

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexJamdowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Dollar for dollar, you will have a hard time beating these villas. We went down with the our 2 daughters and had a great time. We are self starters and don't like crowds and lines. So this quite place was great for us. Our cook was super. And we love Port Antonio, it's a hidden gem. Go rafting one day. Then to reach falls the next. A couple days at the beach and too soon its time to go home.
But if your looking for that spring break place with loud music and lots of people, big parties, go to Negril.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

A really long tedious 3 hour drive from Kingston Airport but worth the discomfort. Fantastic views and comfortable accommodation. An ideal location for a family holiday, each family in our large party of 12 adults and 12 children had their own villa with a very helpful Housekeeper/cook (Annmarie in ours). A pretty shady pool and well kept grounds. Easy walk down steps to San San, the pay beach with good snorkling and the shabby but refreshing Blue Lagoon. Complimentary taxi to Frenchman's Cove. Helpful advice for trips to Reach Falls River rafting and Ocho Rious. A fabulous relaxing holiday. Friendly local people.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
1.9 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
518 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
96 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goblin Hill Villas at San San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goblin Hill Villas at San San

Address: Fairfield Road, San San, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range: $181 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Goblin Hill Villas at San San 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goblin Hill Villas at San San Bay sits on twelve acres of lawns and gardens, overlooking sparkling Jamaican white sand beaches and turquoise Caribbean water.All of our spacious villas are self-contained, with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining rooms, and a wide covered terrace or balcony with its own view over the Bay.The villas open onto wide expanses of lawns and gardens. All bedrooms have private bathrooms, air-conditioning and ceiling fans.Each villa is staffed with a friendly housekeeper to prepare and serve meals, do your shopping and carry out all house- keeping duties. You will find she is also your unofficial ambassador to Jamaica. Our housekeepers are versatile cooks and can prepare local cuisine, as well as international dishes using locally available produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Goblin Hill Villas at San San reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goblin Hill Villas Hotel Port Antonio
Goblin Hill Hotel
Goblin Hill Port Antonio
Goblin Hill Villas At San San Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing