We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goblin Hill Villas at San San
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Friendly”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We were travelling across Jamaica by car and spent our last 2 nights in this lovely hotel. The appartments were spacious and wel equipped and the staff very helpful with arranging day trips. The location (very close to blue lagoon) was great.

IT was very hard to leave! Port Antonia is one of the jewels in the crown of Jamaica!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveldoc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to welcome you in this beautiful and preserved part of Jamaica.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and experience at Goblin Hill.

All the staff is looking forward to welcoming you back here and give you more tips in order to discover more of this unspoiled area.

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    96
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
108
92
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Ann's Bay, Jamaica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was our first time visiting Goblin Hill and it was absolutely breathtaking. Goblin Hill in my opinion is a property that is in touch with nature. The property remind so much of Couples San Souci but, no comparison. We basically viewed the property to decide if this is where we would actually like to spend our vacation/just a get away spot. The property is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are standard but, it wasn't an issue to us. The gentleman that took us a around was very polite and accomodating. He even showed us the look out point and my kids loved it. They played in the hammocks and it was obvious they loved the atmosphere. He took us to the kids area and my kids went wild. We are totally satisfied with the product offered and we will definitely be booking soon. - DTF

Room Tip: Sea View was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear future guest,

Thank you for this review. I am happy that you and your children already enjoyed the property without even staying at it.
I am really looking forward to welcoming you for, this time, a real stay. You will then be able to enjoy completely what Goblin Hill has to offer to its guests!

Sincerely,

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We're travelblog 4 months a year and we had never before expierenced such a terrible guesthouse
Water came out of the AC in the night, dirty bathroom and used toiletts, only cold water in the shower, no phone in the room, not really a butlerservise, but you have to pay for it, floor was not cleaned the hole time, no clean dishes, the Tv had a really bad quality, everywhere were spiders and cobweb and the staff were also very unfriendly, exept one person

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alltimehigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
We, at Goblin Hill, always receive with great interest any comment, good or bad... as long as they are fair, honest and accurate.

I met this gentleman when he checked-out, after spending two days on property. I had taken two days off but my assistant has been in property during that time to ensure the comfort of all the guests.
This gentleman came at the reception, made his check-out and then took a paper out of his wallet and started reading a list of "problems" he had.
I listened and then asked him if he reported any of these issues to any member of the staff. His answer was no.
In my experience, any guest checking-in in an hotel or guest house and finding, as this gentleman says, a dirty room, dirty toilet, dirty dishes.... would call or come at the reception to complain about it. And I would do the same. In this case, this guest stayed two days and two nights without complaining about anything.
I went to check the villa right after the guest left and I found a villa that was NOT dirty except for the room and bathroom that he used. The dishes were cleaned and no cobweb was to be seen except for one, in the small garden outside the kitchen... but we are in the Nature and one would expect that to happen.
The floor was cleaned, swept and moped.
He is talking about butler service and that he has to pay for it!?! This is totally false. When a guest books a villa, a housekeeper is present in the villa, from 8.00am to 8.00pm, at NO EXTRA COST. She can come earlier or stay later if the guest wishes to, and only when that happen, a small extra fee is asked.
We are using solar panels to warm-up the water used in the villas. Sometimes, when the weather is overcast like it was while this gentleman stayed with us, the water can not warm enough. We then use a electrical back-up system. A simple mention of this problem to the housekeeper would had fixed the issue in no time.
We are aware of the issues with the TV system. In this part of the island, there is only one cable provider and we are dependent of them for the TV signal. Our equipment works perfectly well but if we receive a bad signal from that operator, it will show so on the televisions in the villas. We are actively working on finding another solution (internet tv?).
The AC was indeed leaking. That happens sometimes (too much condensation in the pipes) and this is easy to fix. Again a simple word to any member of our staff would have been the wisest thing to do.
We do not have phones in the villas and this is usually not a problem for our guests, especially since we are not claiming anywhere that we are providing this service. But we do understand that some guests might feel more comfortable with one and that is why cell-phones are available for free at the reception, on request. The guest would then be connected to the reception, the bell-hops, the security and myself and there is no charge for the calls inside the property. A simple word to anybody from the guest and he would have received one of these phones.
According to this gentleman, our staff is very unfriendly. When I hear the comments from all our guests and read the reviews on this site, it appears that our staff is doing a great job in being polite, friendly and welcoming with our guests. They were certainly not as full of attitude, self-importance and rudeness as this gentleman was.
All in all, this guest seems to have experienced an horrible stay here. But, still he stayed the entire two days and nights he booked his villa... without complaining about anything! His housekeeper, as we are asking them to do, even asked him, during his stay, if everything was fine with him. His answer was yes.
Why, if this guest had any issue of any type, did he not said anything to the housekeeper, the reception or my assistant? He preferred to wait until the end of his stay to do so.
I am really sorry this gentleman did not enjoyed his stay among us as we are taking pride in pleasing each one of our guests. Incidents and problems do happen and, when aware of these, we fix them very quickly or we find a solution to please our guests.
As I said before, we welcome any comment, good or bad. In this case, some of the complaints the guest is making, are untrue and inaccurate. And regarding to the others, if nothing is reported to us, we assume that the guest is happy. Should this guest have mentioned anything to anybody, especially when asked, I am sure that we would have made his stay what he expected it to be.

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Goblin Hill gives you a taste of Jamaica and leaves you wanting more.

We arrived at Goblin Hill after driving down from Mobay. It was a really pleasant surprise to arrive at such a beautiful relaxing place. Their website was way out of date and doesn't come near to doing justice to it.

The villas are set in acres of garden, on top of a small hill, with stunning views over San San Bay. They are very spacious inside and comfortably furnished. Cheryl, our cook/house-keeper, did us proud, with a wonderful variety of dishes. There is a pleasant pool, but the place also give you free passes to Frenchman's Cove, not surprisingly a TA top attraction for this area. It is also well situated for all the attractions listed for Port Antonio (6 miles away) and this stretch of coast.

The open-sided communal terrace is like something out of an Agatha Christie film, with humming birds flying in to drink from water dispensers and the Tree Bar serves a mean Rum-punch!

A couple of small recommendations might be to serve Coffee or Tea at certain times (say 11.00 and 5.00), on the communal terrace, to enable guests to meet each other and have an opportunity to socialise. Secondly, for me the happy hour on Saturday evening could be held after the evening meal, so that people don't have to rush back to their villas to eat.....

... but we loved it and hope to get back there one day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Bobashworth,

Thank you so much for spending time with us while in Jamaica. It was a real pleasure to welcome you.
All the staff is happy and proud to know that you enjoyed your stay at Goblin Hill. Sheryl was excited to hear from you.
A few precisions:
- we are working on the new website as we are aware, as you said correctly, that it is totally out of date.
- the Tea/Coffee serving on the Hummingbird Terrace is something that we want to do. I am sure it will be implemented before your next visit.
- Our Saturday's Manager Rum Punch Party is organized at a time that allows our guests to enjoy the sunset over San San bay. In summer it is organized around 6.30pm or 7.00pm while during the winter we do it earlier (5.00pm or 5.30pm).

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back here, at Goblin Hill.

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This is at least my sixth time to Goblin Hill Villas, and each time it just gets better and better. I hadn't been to this property in about a year, and within that year, they did some great updates. The views are spectacular, the staff warm and inviting, the rooms are spacious and timeless and the property, simply amazing. This trip, I tried going somewhere else first, we left after one night and had to go back to Goblin Hill.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koto-Bax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

We have been delighted to welcome you (for the sixth time!) at Goblin Hill. We are happy and proud that each time you are coming back, your experience is getting better. We are also pleased that you noticed the work we have been doing in improving the property.
The entire staff and myself would like to thank you for your appreciation and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Goblin Hill.

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitaka, Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed at one of the 2 BR villa with my family and was taken back by the tranquility.
The staffs are friendly and eagerly tends to your every needs. The grounds are well kept and the view from the bedrooms which are on the second floor is breath taking. After a long day swimming at the beach and hiking a cool Red stripe beer at the bar would be the perfect way to end the day ......... but unfortunately the bar wasn't to my liking. The back lawn behind the villas over looking the ocean or the pool side is a much better place to enjoy a drink. Went around the island to Ochi Rios, Mobay and Negril and Goblin Hills in Port Antonio was the most relaxing and affordable place of all the places I stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Gregory A,

We have been happy to welcome you at Goblin Hill and learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We understand and regret that our Tree Bar, sheltered by a 300 years old Ficus, was a disappointment for you. We know that it needs to be upgraded and improved and that is precisely what we are working on: new disposition, new furniture and more entertainment.

We hope that these changes will be to your taste on your next visit at Goblin Hill.

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We went here on the long weekend in January and it was an interesting place. Our 2 BR villa was cute, but the steps in the living room, as well as the stairs to the 2nd floor wasn't a good fit for us, with a 3 and 1 year old. I was constantly watching the 1 year old to make sure he didn't trip and fall badly. Also, it was rainy when we were there so the outdoor/indoor aspect of it was a bit uncomfortable--i.e. water/mud tracked in and out of the first floor. The rooms were comfortable with the AC and good enough beds. Oh, um, no screen on the wooden jalousy type windows so bring your bug lotions. You can choose the menu and the cook makes good food and even made a birthday cake for our friend. It's a little challenging though to wait for your food when you and babies are famished and cook is running late on the cooking schedule (vs. all inclusive where you eat soon as you hit the buffet). Saw our friend's room and it was in a sad state. Lock almost falling off, AC not working, and just old, tired looking compared to the villa we had. Granted, we were there when there was a big group/party going on, so maybe she got the dregs of the hotel? It was quite bad. The saving grace of the hotel are the beautiful grounds with a gorgeous view of San San beach area, the Tree bar. The passes to Frenchman's Cove are great also. So, not sure if I would stay here again, will perhaps keep looking. Might try Wilks Bay next time and maybe save up for Geejam. Sad thing about Port Antonio, and Jamaica in general is you have to pay much higher for comfort than you would say, Mexico or some of the Pacific Islands. Just saying.....It's rustic but comfy enough. We stayed 2 nights and didn't bolt. We have bolted from "eco lodges" in the Philippines and Ecuador before. In those places, we gladly paid for one night's stay and took the first cab we could find back home, not even bothering to stay the night. So, compared to those places, this place is good enough/passable.

Room Tip: Sorry can't help you here, I guess get the villas vs. individual rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvinarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoblinHill, Manager at Goblin Hill Villas at San San, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear guest,

thank you for your feedback of your stay at Goblin Hill. We always appreciate your opinion, good or bad, as it helps us improve our offer to our guests.

Since your last visit in January, we have a new management, new organization, higher standards and we started an ambitious program to renovate our villas.

We offer one or two bedrooms villas, all with the same facilities (kitchen, private bathroom, living room, terrace) and, unless notified to the guest prior to his arrival, we will not sell a villa with technical problems (eg AC not working). If that happened, please accept our apologies and be sure that this is something that would not happen today any more.

Goblin Hill is surrounded by Nature. Keeping all insects outside of the villas is an impossible task. We have been (and are still doing) spraying (with natural products) the entire property in order to control their population. Your suggestion regarding the windows screen is taken seriously and it's feasibility being studied.

One of our biggest assets aside our beautiful grounds, is the services offered by our cooks/housekeepers. They usually do the best to response to their guests requests and, in most case, the meals are ready at the agreed time. Almost most of them have children and know how to make them happy. They can prepare a quick small snack for the children should they see that they can not wait for the meals to be ready.

We regret that you did not fully enjoyed your stay at Goblin Hill as we are taking pride to see your guests leaving us happy and with the promise to come back soon.
I would like you to give us a chance to show you the improvements we made by visiting us again.

Sincerely,

Rafael de Campos
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
1.1 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
488 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goblin Hill Villas at San San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goblin Hill Villas at San San

Property: Goblin Hill Villas at San San
Address: San San, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Goblin Hill Villas at San San 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goblin Hill Villas at San San Bay sits on twelve acres of lawns and gardens, overlooking sparkling Jamaican white sand beaches and turquoise Caribbean water.All of our spacious villas are self-contained, with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining rooms, and a wide covered terrace or balcony with its own view over the Bay.The villas open onto wide expanses of lawns and gardens. All bedrooms have private bathrooms, air-conditioning and ceiling fans.Each villa is staffed with a friendly housekeeper to prepare and serve meals, do your shopping and carry out all house- keeping duties. You will find she is also your unofficial ambassador to Jamaica. Our housekeepers are versatile cooks and can prepare local cuisine, as well as international dishes using locally available produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Goblin Hill Villas at San San reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goblin Hill Villas Hotel Port Antonio
Goblin Hill Hotel
Goblin Hill Port Antonio
Goblin Hill Villas At San San Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing