We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Great" Great Huts”
Review of Great Huts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Huts
Ranked #1 of 29 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2009

If you reading this i'm sure you read the other reviews. I'll tell you, the good things said about the great huts really can't explain how cool it is. So, i'm telling you if you are thinking about going to the great huts, Go! My wife and i have been twice and we will coninue to go back. We chill, surf, hang with the staff and other locals at the jerk center, walk down the road stopping at little rum shacks, hang out at the chill out bar, walk to grocery store up the road, just whatever, it's great.

I've been to jamaica 4 times, 2 resorts and twice to the great huts with my wife. There is no comparison in the two. I will never go to another resort, but i want to experience jamaica, not concrete jungles.

You can get a good idea of what to expect at the greats huts from the other reviews, but i will advise to take water shoes for the grounds and water, and flip flops for around your hut or tent.

A few points: great food at reasonable prices, helpful and freindly staff, that part of the island is not developed and the locals are friendly and we feel safe. the bugs didn't bother us we didn't even pull down the bed nets.

I can't say enough about the great huts and the people who work there. Like i said, if you are thinking about going to jamaica or the great huts and the reviews describe anything that sounds interesting to you, go there because words can't descibe the experience you can have at the great huts.

Beau and Heidi

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h_dallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for Great Huts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 795 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2009

This was our fourth time staying at Great Huts and I must give kudos to Dr. Paul, because each time we come he has done some wonderful new things! We stayed in the Tabernacle Tent this time, which is a large, roomy tent with 2 king size beds and a shower and sink just outside of it. As usual, we very much enjoyed chatting with the staff...Cynthia, Raymond and Margaret are really sweet people who will make your visit a pleasure. Breakfast is included in the price and they also have good coffee, which is a MUST for any European :) We enjoyed sitting in the grotto and lazing around on the private little beach...there are plenty of hammocks to lay around in. In the evenings, we simply walked outside of the compound, where we enjoyed a drink at the little bar. The locals are all very, very friendly and if you take the time to chat with them, they are really helpful with anything you may need. Great Huts' location is "great", you can easily take a route taxi to Port Antonio, Frenchmans Cove, Winifred Beach, or Long Bay...all for a very cheap price (around US$1.00 to US $3.00) per person. Dr. Paul has truly done a wonderful job creating a nice, comfortable place without disturbing the surrounding environment. He is a medical doctor who does wonderful things for the Jamaican people and he also runs a homeless shelter in Port Antonio...I donated some used mens' clothing and shoes and it was greatly appreciated! Great Huts is a wonderful place with a wonderful vibe!!

Stayed: October 2009
Thank GermaicanSpiceGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

You do not have to be a dedicated eco-tourist to enjoy the very sybaritic pleasures of Great Huts. All you have to do is accept that five star is pretty much the same the world over, and you want something different. Great Huts doesn't try to twang your concience about carbon footprint, and you don't have to be a warmed-over hippy to enjoy it. And if you want a true deathbed memory, do whatever you have to do (beg, reschedule, book early) to get the Sea Grape Hut, and make the effort to watch the sun rise while sitting naked in the outdoor cliff top bath with your beloved. Nothing will ever seem the same again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geekfinder_general
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Twilight misty dew sunlit describes a wonderful setting nestled ,brilliant with magnificent view that bends ,stretches, and touch the blue sky infrount your imagination of worm caribbean waters ,located on the eastern end of portland jamaica,known as the Great Huts. We know this is divine supreme work because it turns the physical universe upside-down,instead of feeling drained by the energy it expound in the act of charity we are filled. Meany people think of Great Huts as a place to stay ...it is more than that. Great Huts is the place to be,a place where we can find ourselves .Happiness is a choice , and we are responsible for it. Great Huts reminds me that nature incessantly demands pleasure i.e. harmonious and adopted co-operation- but that when the pleasure is attached to the possession of a form { material things} when broken in pieces such pleasure is followed by pain and emptiness. We learn that in following the lower pleasure we are grasping at things which pierce us in the act -that such pleasure are delusive and is against the laws of nature,therefore inevitable lead to pain and emptiness. Great Huts also teaches me that we are higher , not lower nature,and must transfer our center of consciousness from the animal self to the divine self; that we are not the body ,as many think ,nor the mind ,as most highly developed people imagine ,but the self witch is unity ,in witch all live and move.

Denzil

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denzil5909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Absolutes and Paradise, its all there, and the most friendly staff on the Island

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idinuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We were looking for a relaxing uncommercialized place to get married and relax and that's exactly what we found. Great Huts is a unique place to stay, the staff was great, the huts were very clean and the locals very welcoming. Do bring bug spray and ear plugs because the locals love their dance halls which you should walk down the road and experience for yourself. This is a very safe place. We're already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This place is amazing. The staff is so kind and will help you on any adventure you wish to take. The on-site beach in the bay allows for surfing, cliff jumping, swimming, or just kicking back. We stayed in a hut and also in the Sea Grape room, which was the most beautiful place we stayed in JA, and we stayed at 5 different places.
I would recommend this to anyone who wishes to get away from the typical resort experience, but still be comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uluvbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
3.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
492 reviews
132.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
399 reviews
50.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,305 reviews
10.2 mi away
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Zion Country Beach Cabins
#2 of 29 in Port Antonio
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Huts

Address: 8-10 Boston Bay Road, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range: $89 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Huts 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Huts: Paradise on the Edge is an oceanfront resort on the lush northeastern tip of Jamaica. Modeled after a traditional West African coastal village, at once both rough-hewn and modern, it is a convergence of nature, heritage, spirituality and technology. Off the beaten path, but not far from the bustle and night life of Boston Bay and Port Antonio, Great Huts' jungle-cliff-beach habitat is a distinctive ecological and cultural experience. The Africana House, a Rastafari Mansion by the Sea with high ceilings and Ethiopian-inspired decor throughout, has a spacious communal room, four regal bedrooms, a 5,000-square-foot rooftop deck and a lotus-shaped deep water pool, resting atop five acres braided with intriguing caves and hiking trails. Great Huts is perfect for the adventurer in all of us, an intimate yet communal getaway or a secluded corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Great Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Huts Hotel Port Antonio
Great Huts Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing