We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveler rating
724
127
24
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
724
127
24
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo tree housesea grapehomeless shelterafrican sunrisethe cliffpaul rhodescultural showboston bayafrican artjerk centerunique experiencereach fallsyoga deckopen airclose to naturepublic beachjerk chicken
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 890 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2016

Just had the pleasure of staying in the most a place I have never imagined. Great Huts has what you are looking for in the openness and amazement of the natural elements and more. I could not imagine how wonderful it could be to actually be able to stay in a treehouse but it was great. The house gave the experience of the outdoors with still having the comforts of home. You will see African artifacts as well as much wildlife. From geco's to hermit crabs (in Jamaica they are called soldier crabs) and so on. The Founder and creator is wonderful. He greets and converses with all guests to find out who you are and where you are from. They entertain the guests on Saturday nights with a show about African/ Jamaican culture. Telling stories of the history from capture to slavery to freedom. Guests get to participate in the dance portion. I could say so much more but I suggest you just stay there and experience it for yourself.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the Bamboo Treetop but anyone is great.
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imjoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Great location, views, food. The compound is amazing. Was initially worried about mosquitos but didn't see any and didn't get any bites. Be sure to check out the cliff pool! Also love the snake pathway along cliffs.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Garth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

We visited for our 10 year anniversary. I am glad we stayed here, the experience was amazing. If you are expecting anything other then something a lot like camping, it's not for you! Yes, you are outside in a hut so there are bugs. Yes, it's a bit humid, just takes a couple days to get used to it. I must say the mosquitos were quit a big problem. There are nets above the bed, but then they get stuck in there with you and bit over and over again.

The bamboo treehouse was awesome! View is best on resort I think.

Staff is friendly, especially Michael. He works security, but can do most all jobs. He makes the best dirty banana I have had and is always smiling. He's the best! He referred us to a ride down the river with captain Marcus and it was the best! Got to eat the amazing food by Bonita on the river! Oh wow, it's all i have to say.

Only thing I would say is that there is a public beach right next to the hut. Saturday and Sunday night was very loud music all night as there was a party on the beach. This was very distracting and loud while trying to enjoy a romantic night in the hut. The music is very very loud and goes until about 3:15 am. We got very little sleep and actually had to check out a night early due to it, but management was nice and understanding!

The bar really could use some fresh fruit to keep stocked up. Most drinks we ordered they didn't have a lot of ingredients or fresh fruit to make. We were limited to what we could get.

Food was pretty good, a bit pricy.

Cultural show on Saturday night was a blast!

Learn to negotiate when here ~ we learned very quick that if you do not, they will take advantage of you! Not because they are bad people, because it's how they live and there way of life! Just show respect!

All in all, this place is really neat and unique! I highly recommend, just not maybe for more then a few days!

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank nanners184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatHuts, General Manager at Great Huts, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2016

Hi,

We are delighted you chose Great Huts Resort for your vacation, and that you had such a wonderful experience. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again very soon.
In addition to the mosquito nets we also have on hand repellent candles and repellent for those guests who may not remember to travel with theirs. Mosquitoes are not generally a problem and depends on the weather.
The property boasts absolutely gorgeous views among them your favorite seen from The Bamboo Tree House. Michael is a gem to the Resort and we are happy you were able to experience the warm smiles and service offered by the staff.
As it relates to the loud music we must apologize we remain in dialogue with the local authorities and promoters to see how best we are able to combat this issue.
We aim to provide the best quality service and products so we are happy you enjoyed our food. The price of the food is definitely based on the items ordered but also will reflect directly the changing economic conditions in Jamaica as the cost of raw materials continue to increase we also have to increase our prices so as to continue serving our guests with the absolute best quality products and services. We offer different items on the menu hence our prices already inclusive of taxes range from US$17.48 up to $33.25 and is totally dependent on what is ordered. It ought to be noted as well that Entree Items are served along with a choice of soup or salad.
The Cultural show is truly one to be admired as it takes you on a journey highlighting the cultural evolution of African dance forms and leaves your feet tingling with a desire to take part.
Thank you for highlighting the need for visitors to be mindful of and engage in negotiation when making purchases at the "Boston Jerk Center" as some vendors may try to inflate the average prices for the items sold.

Once again we would like to thank you for having chosen Great Huts Resort and we do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Dilton Bartley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2016

Great Huts is a most unique hotel, comprised of one-of-a-kind "huts" each with its own character, one is able to comfortably stay close to nature. The views are breathtaking, the adjacent beach beautiful, the staff welcoming and warm. Located steps from Boston Jerk, delicious Jamaican jerk is always available. Nearby outings to Winnifred Beach, Frenchman's Cove are recommended. Of particular enjoyment at Great Huts is relaxing in the cliffside pool and taking in the incredible view of the infinite sea and sky.

Room Tip: Defintely get a hut with view of the sea!
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SKB420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2016

My husband and I checked in to this eco resort and stayed for 3 nights in the figtree hut. The views are spectacular and the idea behind being an "eco resort"--employing locals, supporting local community and building around the land vs. destroying it--make me want to only stay at eco resorts from now on.
In some ways, the expectations were higher than anticipated: warm and friendly service and dedicated staff, breakfast every morning, beautiful and original art everywhere, private beach with great diving board to jump off, killer views. The lower expectations were that the huts were closer to "glamping" (glamorous camping) than to proper living quarters. You were submerged in nature without any real protection from it, hence why it had a camping feel. The worst part by far were the mosquitoes. We ended up having to cut out trip short due to the inability to protect ourselves from them anywhere on premise. There's only 1 net and it hangs over your bed to protect you at night--and good luck trying to get out and back in without letting a swarm of mosquitoes into the bed!
Between the strong mosquito repellent and coil burning, I developed a terrible and debilitating cough and finally had to cut our trip short to find proper shelter from the elements.
Keep in mind that we went during rainy season (and yes it poured every day), so maybe the bugs wouldn't be as bad during the dry season but there's no way to tell...

Unwanted bugs aside, that wasn't the only problem however. I will say that, as a female, I actually feared for my safety during an exchange with one of the locals at boston beach, the beach directly next to our Great Huts private beach. As one reviewer pointed out, there's a strong push from some locals to buy whatever they are selling--anything from mangoes to drugs--and they won't politely take no for an answer, particularly from a woman. I would personally never travel to this region alone and was disappointed that the general culture around Boston Bay/Port Antonio was seemingly aggressive towards locals. This is not to say we didn’t have some positive experiences with locals elsewhere, but the people selling things on BBay and the road outside the resort were pushy and intrusive.

Overall, I think there are a couple things that Great Huts could do to make a return customer out or me:
1) have more mosquito/bug net protectors. There’s no reason there couldn’t be a net attached to our open wall that we could velcro to the walls when we needed more protection.
2) better security around our beach. It’s a short swim or easy walk around for anyone to come on to our beach, and if you’re paying money for privacy, it should be 100% safe. We had an experience with a local coming on to our beach trying to sell us drugs for example…

I was sad to leave the natural beauty and am thankful to Great Huts for the experience overall, but would need to see those couple improvements before coming back. If not, the marketing should be “glamping in the rainforest in rural Jamaica”, and if that’s your jam, you’ll have a great time!

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JoZtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr. Paul R, General Manager at Great Huts, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Hi,
Thank you so much for having taken the time out to submit your review we certainly do appreciate the feedback and will endeavor to improve on our offerings.

We are happy that you were pleased with the staff and enjoyed the amazing views and artwork that the property offers. The Owner and Designer Dr. Paul Rhodes had a clear vision as to what he wanted to create and that was a resort that replicated an African Village in as much as possible. Hence you will find that the unique architecture of the huts offers an intimate experience with nature as was the intent. We do agree that if you like camping then you would definitely love us. We could be considered as comfortably rustic in that we offer wifi access, solar heated water, Fans and in our Safari and Royalty huts there are mini fridges and microwaves for added comfort.

We are so terribly sorry that you had a difficult time with the mosquitoes, as it was raining constantly for a few days they had increased in numbers but whilst the weather is favorable then we have only a few mosquitoes to contend with. All the Beds are covered with nets but we do take note of your suggestion to look into having nets on the open fronts of the huts that can be removed and replaced at will.

As it pertains to the locals we continue to work with the local authorities to ensure that our guests feel comfortable when they venture outside our compound as experiencing Portland and Jamaica on a whole is part of the package we would like our guests to enjoy. We do encourage that our guests remain firm in their rejection of locals trying to sell their wares, as this usually works and they leave.

We do look forward to hosting you again when the weather is much better as it was a pleasure having you share in our "Paradise on the Edge"

Regards,
Dilton Bartley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews