We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great...Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Huts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Huts
Ranked #1 of 25 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great...Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I've been there with my girlfriend and I really hope to come back soon. Boston Bay is one of the greatest place in Jamaica! In Great Hits you live an experience not only a holiday! Also when we had a problem during one night with a "little animal" the security boy was very helpfull and kind! Staff is perfect and like also people who live outside. Say "Hello" to Ramon from Carlo and Marta!!!
And a big hug to all of you...

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlognolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatHuts P, Guest Relations Manager at Great Huts, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Happy New Year to you. Thank you for spending time writing about your stay with us at Great Huts. We loved having you stay here and it is important we get feedback from all our guests. We hope to see you back here again. Enjoy The New Year from all the team at GH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    113
    21
    12
    3
See reviews for
109
329
74
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I returned to Great Huts again (this time with 7 other women) and it was even more spectacular than before. The owner has added several new huts and tree houses as well as an incredible pool. The view from the pool was breathtaking! Several in our group (including me) took yoga classes and had massages-outside!!! That was also fantastic. The food service was great, as was the bar service (terrific specialty drinks) and the Saturday evening show. We all enjoyed the staff, the art and the artifacts around the property. We also went to the falls (with tour guide Leonard-as for him) and on a fun boat ride. Other days, we hung out at the beach on the property. This was one of my most memorable, enjoyable and interesting trips and I look forward to going again. The owner is really a creative genius who care very much about the comfort and happiness of his guests. 5 stars for this one of a kind eco-resort. If you are interesting in really seeing paradise on the edge, this is the place.

Room Tip: The Queen of Sheba is amazing, but I also love the Almond Tree and Bamboo Tree House. As long as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelleyrlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatHuts P, Guest Relations Manager at Great Huts, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for coming back. We hope that your next visit will be less that two years from your visit to us in 2011. We love looking after our guests which is truly helped by our magical spot here at Boston Bay. Happy New Year to you, from all the team at Great Huts !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I had the privilege of enjoying New Years at Great Huts this year. It was completely amazing and more than I could have hoped for.

Best Parts:
Service - the service staff are friendly and open and clearly invested in the vision of Great Huts in providing education and service in the tourism industry. That said, there is also a family vibe! We even enjoyed a New Year's bonfire together - staff and guests. The staff also treated our two daughters with the perfect amount of doting to allow my friend and I some much needed relaxing. Anything you need, the staff sees to it with humor and grace and a whole lot of Jamaica savvy.

The place.
Best night sky I've ever seen is at the start of the snake path.
Awesome eclectic international themed huts (So fun, so GREAT)
Private beach with hammocks and views
A zoo! Bunnies and parrots and tortoises oh my'
A library!
Made to order delicious food and cocktails
Location location location - remote enough to be off the grid but an easy place to explore all the area has to offer (Boston Jerk, Waterfalls, coconut groves, Port Antonio, rafting tours oh my)
The guests - the forward vision of Dr Paul's sustainable artistic Eco humanist vacation alternative attracts a special type of vacationer - everyone we met was cool and friendly and wanted more than just a typical resort experience.

I am just home today and already devising how I can return and bring more friends or possibly offer a retreat for my business (a yoga studio) there.

This place is an unusual gem. And it's affordable too with many different hut options.

Loved it.
And the coffee? To die for.



  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaraGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatHuts P, Guest Relations Manager at Great Huts, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Sir. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and on behalf of all of us from the Management Team - Housekeeping - and Maintenance, we look forward to your return trip to Great Huts. Happy New Year.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We ended up staying in 3 very different huts, all great in different ways. The first was Bamboo Garden and it was very unique. There was a seperate kitche living area, but the bedroom and bathroom were all in same place and it was cave like with the floor being natural so rocky and not level but we like it. It was really fun. The second was the Fig Tree hut, it was more of a tree house and had an AWESOME view. Well worth the extra cost. It is two stories though with steps, but we didn't mind. The final one was an economical one called Akan. Its just a room with table and lamp and 2 beds. Communal toilets and shower. It was fine though, especially if you aren't in your room. The beach there was great. We went at Christmas and very warm. Lots of surfing and a gaurd is always around even if you are the only ones at the beach. The staff were great and the food was really good. Breakfast is the same every day, but it's included so didn't mind. Great experience overall.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget Akan is fine and only need the room for sleeping, but if you want to spend mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked to stay there during Christmas week to enjoy some warm weather and relaxation. We flew into Montego Bay and rented a car. The drive there was an adventure unto itself and we did have trouble seeing their small sign (especially at night). Once we entered the gate, we knew we picked the right place to stay. We were fortunate to get to stay in three of their huts: Bamboo Garden, Fig Tree and Akan. The property and setting is awesome!! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The whole property has plenty of spots to relax whether on the beach or up on the cliffs overlooking the ocean. We thought the Fig Tree had to be the best hut in the place with a bathtub/shower that overlooked Boston Bay. Our only suggestion is that visitors may want to choose huts that are further away from the back fence of the property. Due to no fault of Great Huts, there is a night club outside the property that plays loud music until fairly late and there was a rooster that thought 4:30 am was time to get up! Other than those small issues, everything else was perfect. We would definintely go back!!

Room Tip: Again, you may want to consider huts towards the ocean side of the property. Well worth the extra co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisherpa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked our stay here maybe 4 months before actually arriving, because we HAD to stay here.
I can tell you, its more beautiful in person than on the photos.

When we arrived, we were told that because it is quiet season, we can get a free upgrade to the sea grape room. completely out of our budget! We were over the moon.
Hot tub, dining area with sea view, the works.

There are no windows, but there are mosquito nets.
The restaurant is delicious, too.

If you're used to the hilton and things like this, then maybe don't stay here. its wild, and we loved it.

The Staff are great, very helpful. We did get ripped off on our taxi ride back to port antonio though. J$1500?! Arrange a price before you get in, as we got to great huts for J$150, so paid 10X the local fee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudiksvall, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

After I had traveled in Peru for twenty days I went to Great Huts because I got this place recommended back home in Sweden by a friend and I was just stunned by how beautiful this place looked on its website. It was even more beautiful in real life.

At first I was doing some sightseeing in the local area (going to Reach Falls for example). But I felt somewhat disturbed by doing those kind of things. On the third day i decided to just stay at the Great Huts the whole time and just relax and enjoy life and the wonderful weather until i had to head back home to the cold Sweden.
This was the best decision I could ever make. This place had everything that I could ask for. The most wonderful huts and this beautiful beach stacked with hammocks and other sit-stuff which name I dont know in english haha.

The staff was very helpful and the food is just amazing. I became really good friends with some of the guests at this place which was just what I needed because I was traveling alone.

An astonishing environment with some newly found friends. It was all i could dream of and my stay at Great Huts left a great piece of loving memory in my heart.

Room Tip: Remember to enjoy the pool at the top of the cliff and if you want a good wifi-signal, take your tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
5.5 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
4.2 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#9 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Huts

Property: Great Huts
Address: 8-10 Boston Bay Road, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Huts 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Huts: Paradise on the Edge is an oceanfront resort on the lush northeastern tip of Jamaica. Modeled after a traditional African village, at once both rough-hewn and modern, it is a convergence of nature, heritage, spirituality and technology. Off the beaten path, but not far from the bustle and night life of Boston Bay and Port Antonio, Great Huts' jungle-cliff-beach habitat is a distinctive ecological and cultural experience. The African hut and Amerindian tree-house dwellings studded throughout the meandering, five-acre compound are comfortably furnished and decorated with uncommon African and Jamaican artifacts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Huts Hotel Port Antonio
Great Huts Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing